We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monumental MovieLand
Ranked #246 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

we used to stay here all the time we visited orlando when it was part of the best western group then it went down hill but was still ok but standards did drop the rooms are quite spacious and cleaned most days and towels every day however the reason we stoped using here was the price increase which shot up the staff also changed when they were taken over and werent as friendly as the previous staff the gym was good if you fancied running a few pounds of and pool area back then needed some TLC so i can imagine it will be even more so now. We do pop in now and again but only to visit the angus steak house which is joined onto the hotel the toilets still kept clean in the public area and generally a clean hotel and dose have the great advantage of great location right opposite wet and wild and close to many resturaunts and bars [murphys bar is best by far] and a 20min walk to universal but all in all it was a nice hotel just priced them selves out the market for what you get

Room Tip: early room numbers on any of the four floors as higher numbers takes you right to back and no views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tracey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    499
    389
    189
    187
See reviews for
597
392
66
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were sent to monumental as econolodge was closed for refurbishment we knew it wasn't going to be the greatest at that price but it was very old and run down the pool area especially wasnt great no pool bar and really quite deep for small kids it's a good area on international close to parks wet n wild etc but that's the only good point the rooms were quite disappointing too uncomftable beds and not the cleanest one lady staying at the same time as us got fleas from her bed won't be back

Room Tip: Apparently the top 2 floors have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lewlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We arrived 15th June from the UK after at 7.5 hour delay. We arrived at the hotel at about 9.30. No one else was checking in however the guy on reception dealt with us quickly but that was all, not the normal friendly service we have been greeted with at previous Orlando hotels. Despite that we walked to the lifts and to our room. The room was fine, spacious and reasonably clean. Plenty of towels, fridge, new microwave, tea/coffee machine and a huge TV. Out side the room was a fire exit that also doubled as an exit for smokers and the door slammed quite hard. There was also an ice machine that was really loud and as the doors had a good 2 inch gap underneath that allowed a lot of light in, they also allowed all of the noise in. We asked to change rooms and this was done swiftly. The new room was much of the same, clean and all the amenities of the first just with no ice machine outside. As the fortnight went on it was clear the carpets were not vacuumed and on occasions we were left with no towels. The air conditioning was useful and not too noisey. The pool area was small and clean with very few beds. The restaurant attached to the hotel was fantastic and open late. The steaks were amazing. The location of the hotel is superb. We have stayed on I-Drive many times and this is by far the best hotel for location. Wet 'n' Wild is literally across the road and we used this as our pool when there were no beds available at the hotel. Universal and Islands of Adventure are only at 20-30 minute walk away saving a lot on parking. We also visited City Walk a couple of times and could enjoy a drink as there were no issues with driving or taxi money. The I-Ride is $1.25 each to SeaWorld and Aquatica but be warned that if there is a lot of traffic it could take over an hour as there are so many stops the bus has to make. We are going back September 2013 and we will definately be using Monumental Movieland as our base. Perfect for it's purpose as long as you can look passed the rough edges.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from fire exits and pool view (quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellersDandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I do not understand how people are saying things like "spotless"....It was far from it!! It smelled mouldy and damp in the corridors and the rooms, there were random hairs all over the surfaces, shower and floor in the bathroom when we arrived, the towels were dirty and one was even covered in yellow splodges (I dread to think what it was!). There were days we didn't have towels and heard other people calling reception to complain about the same thing - the hotel clearly couldn't cope with the increase in customers after the Econolodge guests were moved. At least the Econolodge was in a good location - the only positive thing I have to say about this place is that you could walk to Universal and get a few cocktails in you before you had to face your room again.
I don't recommend this hotel - I've stayed in a lot of hotels and hostels and I've paid £7 a night in a hostel in Berlin city centre that was spotless with sparkling white sheets and towels. This place was a disgrace. Stars are awarded based on the facilities and amenities. Cleanliness is a given - it's the absolute minimum a place should be to be open. Send in the hotel inspector - it needs gutted.
On the location - there were a few places shut down around the hotel. This is not the bustling end of I-Drive. It's obviously gone quite downhill. Stay further up I-Drive and at least have things to do on your doorstep - the I-Trolley stops at 10.30pm.
All we wanted was somewhere basic, but clean to sleep. This is not the place.

Room Tip: Any other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend originally were booked into the Econolodge but got transferred to the Monumental Movieland hotel as it shut down. After reading comments on Trip advisor I was a bit nervous about staying there.

For the two weeks that we stayed here, it was nothing like the reviews had said. We were thrilled with its location, rooms and services.

ROOM:

It was very spacious for the two of us. We had a fridge and a microwave which was very convenient. The bathroom was also spacious with a good sized bath/shower. We were also provided with air condition, a wardrobe, safe, a big TV and a table and chairs.

CLEANING SERVICE:

The cleaning service was excellent. Everyday our bins were emptied, bed lining changed and new towels put in the bathroom. Further more we were also asked regularly if we needed our room hovered and tided.

THE HOTEL:
- Decorated with pictures from many movies.
- Big pool area.
- Games room.
- Gym.
- Two Elevators.
- Parking facilities.

RECEPTION:

The receptionists were very friendly. The only criticism that I would have about this hotel was that I asked a few general information questions about the area and the receptionists couldn't tell me. However they were very accommodating in other ways such as arranging taxis for us and storing our luggage for free.

LOCATION:

We couldn't have asked for a better located hotel.
- Directly across from 'Wet and Wild' (1 minute walk)
- 15 minute walk to universal (nearest hotel to universal on I-Drive).
- Both the trolley and Lynx buses stop right outside allowing easy access to Seaworld (about 30 minutes away).
- Only 10 minutes away from the shopping outlets on the bus.


I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone whose going to all the theme parks. We could have asked for a better hotel. As I said already the only down side was that some receptionists didn't know much about the general area but otherwise were very helpful. I will be staying here again on my next trip. We are delighted we ended up staying here!

Thanks to the hotel for a wonderful stay! We thoroughly enjoyed it! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LorrieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week starting 9th of june 2012 and everything was perfect. The room service was every day and bedding was changed and towels. Nice clean pool which sometimes we had for our selves as we never did the parks. Read alot of bad reviews but alot just seem picky. We would definately go again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tom63uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have to say we were all worried about staying at this hotel, after being moved due to the closure of the Econolodge. We needn't have worried and to be honest I am so glad we were moved. The hotel check in went great, no problems what so ever. We paid the $35 per room resort fee expecting to have to pay $5 a night rental fee for a fridge on top of this but we were in for a suprise. The room itself was spotless and cleaned throughout our stay to a satisfactory standard. There was a new flat screen TV, microwave, coffee maker and fridge in the room and they had literally come straight out of the box! As in previous reviews the air con unit was a bit loud but we got used to it. The gym was very run down and hardly anything worked but we weren't bothered about this either, you are in Florida and get plenty of exercise walking around. The pool area was nice and clean but they could use some new sunbeds as a lot of them were cracked. While we were there we saw people checking out the pool area so assume it is getting updated. The hotel is in an excellent location and anyone wanting to stay on International Drive should consider this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jess1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Heart of I-Drive
#289 of 337 in Orlando
811 reviews
Florida Center
Floridian Express
Floridian Express
#296 of 337 in Orlando
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosen Inn
#108 of 337 in Orlando
2,922 reviews
Econo Lodge International
#215 of 337 in Orlando
660 reviews
Grand Hotel Orlando
#196 of 337 in Orlando
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monumental MovieLand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monumental MovieLand

Property: Monumental MovieLand
Address: 6233 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8211
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monumental MovieLand 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Monumental MovieLand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monumental Movieland Orlando
Monumental Movieland Hotel Orlando
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western
Best Western Movieland Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing