We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but it will do”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Monumental MovieLand
Ranked #239 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks at this hotel. the beds where comfortable and the towels got changed every day. We only used this place as a base and spent every day out and about so that is all we needed. its a good job because the hotel would have been a bit of a nightmare if we had wanted to spend much time there.
first off you have to pay a fee upon arrival per person for use of the gym and wifi etc. even if you have no intention of using them, like we didnt, you still have to pay or they will not let you check in so be ready for it!
the lift, wifi and the vending machines stopped working during our stay and did not get sorted out at all which was a bit inconvient.
the rooms are NOT clean. the bedding was clean when we arrived but we had to ask for them to change it again during our stay. the room was thick dust and the bathroom never got a proper clean. i wouldnt really reccomend staying here but it was cheaper than most other places on international drive

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sleep_deprivate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

The hotel is in a great location within short walking distance to restaurants, Walgreens, amusement parks and shopping. The restaurant in the hotel has great food and unbelievable breakfast. We had a blast and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I Just got home yesterday from Florida, I stayed with 2 friends for 2 weeks at the Monumetal MovieLand. The beds were comfortable, the sheets where clean when we arrived, and we had an adeqaute bathroom with hot water. Since we were going out at 8am every day and returning at about 11pm every night (with a quick pop in during the day to shower and change) All we needed was somewhere to sleep at night so it was fine for what we needed. I have to be fair though and say that if you arent just using it as a place to lay your head it has a lot of problems!
The entire 2 weeks we were there the bathroom didnt get cleaned properly the entire time we were there. the toilet was spotless but the sink and mirror had hair, water and toothpaste marks on it and the bath generally was a bit hairy. when you lay in the bath you can see the scum on the under side of the bath fittings. The staff generally dont speak very good english to its hard to get it sorted. i own a cleaning company though so just cleaned things up myself each evening.
The hotel is trying to be environmentally friendly so the beds only get changed every 3 days unless you put out your sign asking for the beds to be changed each morning. only problem is they dont actually get one of the signs in your room to put out. We decided every 3 days wasnt a problem anyway but after 6 we still hadnt had clean bedding so had to write a note and leave it on the pillow every morning to ask for the beds to be changed.
on the first night i wrote "clean me" in the dust on the lamp base, it was still there when we left.
The lift near our room broke 2days after we arrived, it still wasnt fixed when we left so we had to go to the other end of the hotel to get up and down every day.
DO NOT USE THE WASHING MACHINES! we did a couple of washes while we were there. the washing machines take 30 mins to do a full wash. to get the clothes clean in that time they are VERY rough. i had a pair of shorts, 3 t shirts and a pair of trainers ruined by the machines.
Cant really comment on the pool or guest services as we didnt use them, though we did ask for extra pillows and it took 2 days to get them.
A lot of people are complaining about the attached restaurant Black Angus, we only had breakfast there once which wasnt bad but the other breakfast buffets on international drive are far better and cheaper so wouldnt advise eating there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LillyFurnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We were thouroughly enjoying our 2 week stay in Orlando. The hotel was alright as a base, not the best but not the worst.

About 9 days in my husband came out in what seemed like a rash. I had already done a bedbug check- stripped the bed lifted the headboard off checked nearby drawers etc and found nothing. On our very last day my husband got three bites in a straight line and I knew instantly it was bed bugs. I immediately stripped the bed and found a large adult bug and what looked like a nymphal stage bug.

After calling house keeping, they came up and took the headboard off and ran a white stiff card down a crack which came out bloody. They were literally living in crack no wider than two slices of paper.

The hotel offered little help to us and didn't even offer to clean our luggage! They refunded our 35 dollar resort fee but hardly seemed concerned ( I was very teary and sickened).

What should have been a relaxing time on arriving home has been nothing but doing laundry and disinfecting just in case we took one home with us.

Don't stay in room 225!

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 225
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Response32819, Public Relations Manager at Monumental MovieLand, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at The Monumental Movieland Hotel. We were glad you were enjoying your stay. However, When we read your review we found it puzzling that what you describe as a ”bed bug” was found in your room nine days later. These bugs will not wait nine days into a guests stay to show up. The idea that you performed a “bed bug” search when you checked in and found nothing leaves us to believe that it was not in fact a bed bug but a common insect that can be found in any property where warm weather is consistent. When you informed our front desk we immediately sectioned off the room along with the rooms beside, above and below and immediately went into action with our local area ORKIN inspector and found, as you did, nothing in the room, you mentioned, or the surrounding rooms. I am thanking you again, for your review for the reason that our management office decided to train all staff to accurately identify what a bed bug looks like. If one shows up, as oppose to an insect in order to be furthermore informed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We didn't get off to a good start, when checking in a lady was checking out, she had just checked her room out and and stated if was filthy and the bedding had stains all over it! not a good first impression. On checking in we were advised we had to pay $2.50 per night for their facilities i.e. Wi-Fi and gym, we were never informed of this by our tour operator. We made our way to the 2nd flour, what a stench! a very strong damp smell, I have arrived home with a bad chest and cough. Vending machines didn't always work, tap in bathroom leaked, no hot water 3 mornings, air con very noisy, de-humidifier in room which was louder than air con, pool area very run down, the whole hotel was very run down although on website it states recently renovated!! Fab holiday though, would never re-vistit MM.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8Donna8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here in late Sept - early October, Yes we were concerned with the reviews that were on this site as one of our party has asthma and the damp was of concern to us. I am please to say that we had a fantastic holiday, great location, great steak house next door. The staff were extremely helpful, there is a damp smell in the corridors, however we did not notice any odour in our rooms. The air-conditioning unit and de-humidifyer did a great job in an old building that isn't pertaining to be 5 star accommadation. The Angus steak house next door were so hlepful even supplying some flute glasses for us to celebrate my Son's engagement ( he asked his girlfriend during fireworks at magic kingdom) we were waiting for them when they got back eagerly awaiting her response! We had a great holiday and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

i have just returned from florida today after spending 15 nights in this hotel, this is my 5th trip and the worst hotel i have stayed in, the damp smell all around the hotel and in the rooms was terrible, i have 3 children and all of them developed coughs and a blocked nose while staying there, i have stayed 4 times before in orlando at other acomodation and this never happened, our room got cleaned everyday, well beds made and bins empty thats about it, twice we came back to the hotel and had no towels had to go to the desk to request them, the room we were in was attached via a door to another room, although it was locked we could here every word of the man next door who was apperently staying as he was homeless, my 13 year old daughter overheard him talking about drug deals, i booked this as part of a package holiday from the uk and may i say it didnt come cheap, the only thing i could say about this hotel was it had a good location, but if you want a good hotel then dont go with this one, there are many good hotels on international drive, i wouldnt even give this a 1 star, and i am a very honest person, if i had read the reviews on here i would never have took my children to stay there, very dissapointed

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulak_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Baymont Inn & Suites Orlando
#202 of 341 in Orlando
487 reviews
Econo Lodge International
#226 of 341 in Orlando
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Floridian Express
Floridian Express
#294 of 341 in Orlando
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monumental MovieLand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monumental MovieLand

Address: 6233 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8211
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $45 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monumental MovieLand 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monumental MovieLand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monumental Movieland Orlando
Monumental Movieland Hotel Orlando
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western
Best Western Movieland Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing