We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding facilities.. very good for big conferences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #72 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 8, 2009

My firm held a senior manager training at the hotel from Nov 30 to Dec 3. About 550 people attended the conference. All the conference rooms (large or small) were well utilized and the facility made for a great conference. The food was okay, but i didn't expect too much as they are the typical hotel food. My room was great and the washroom is sizeable and very clean. The lobby was very grand and the staff was helpful and friendly. If i ever go back to Orlando, i will definately stay there again. In-room internet is pricey however, at about $16 USD per day.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yyzzaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,217)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,675 - 2,681 of 3,217 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2009

This JW Marriott is very nice. The lobby is impressive, and the rooms were spacious and clean. The location is fairly secluded, though it is less than ten minutes (driving) from Sea World. The hotel is built for conferences (it is massive), so one should expect to see large groups of people (who can tie up the elevators at certain times).

The hotel had a very nice fitness center (large and with many different types of equipment and weights). It also had tennis courts, golf, outdoor pools, and incredible landscaping.

The only downside was a large cockroach that I killed as it walked across the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel159549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Stayed here for a conference and enjoyed the room and public areas. My room on the top floor was large, clean and had a nice view of the surrounding area. Florida is pretty flat and Orlando has been over developed, but nevertheless the view of twinkling city lights at night was enjoyable. The public lobby is massive and enjoyable to stroll through or sit in a quiet nook. The food offered to conference attendees was quite impressive. At our opening dinner event, a thousand dinners were served simultaneously and perfectly cooked. The prices at the restaurants themselves, however, were terribly inflated (around $40 for an entree), so I simply drove to downtown Orlando which has many nice restaurants at considerably cheaper prices. The staff at the hotel were all very helpful. If you can book a room at a good price, by all means stay here.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
Thank NewYorkBooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Travelled with my husband on a convention which was actually at the Ritz. We sure were glad we stayed at the JWM. The hotel is the largest one i have ever seen or stayed at, so we were a bit worried, but everyone was wonderful. the room had an awesome view, was clean and fresh. The lazy river was so relaxing, and the bar tender made most excellent drinks. We did bring our own float and were glad. the tubes there are more kid sized, but if you deflate them a bit, they work for adults. Many people just leave them there after their stay, so there were plenty around to use if you needed one. The river and pools were quiet and nice this time of year. We also sat outside by the torches one night and had some great sushi and wine. We had a rental car and went to universal, which was very close by as all the attractions. We did Disney last year and stayed on property, but if we ever do go back, I am staying at the JWM and happy to drive as this hotel is worth that. Food was great too, there wasnt anything lacking during our stay. there is a nice walking path around the "lake" and the spa looked very nice. The grounds are lovely too. I highly recommend JWM if going to Orlando!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I spent four days at the JW Marriott. The rooms were clean, comfortable and identical to all the other Marriotts in the world. My room featured stunning views of the parking lot and massive construction zone! The resort has a wonderful pool, but it was cold. I guess, my main issue is that this place didn’t really have a personality.

The hotel catered our corporate meeting. Overall, the food was pretty good. However, one night about 50 of us got sick – I think we all had the mac & cheese, so you might want to stay away from that. They do have a great lobby bar.

It lacks personality. It's over-rated.

More on the trip:
http://justanothertravelblog.blogspot.com/2009/11/business-in-orlando-florida.html

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JATB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 3rd Anniversary. The service from the moment we arrived was top notch. The smell in the lobby is amazing! We were upgraded to a room overlooking the lake/pool, and were surprised with champagne and strawberries in our room for our anniversary. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel special. The pool area was large and not crowded. They come around often to ask if you want drinks/food. We ordered lunch by the pool one day and it was very good. We also enjoyed having a drink by the fire outside the hotel lounge each night. We highly recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelrosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

I was at the Grande Lakes resort for a business conference. The conference rooms were very nice and appropriate for the size. The restaurants are pricey, but the food was good. I splurged one morning for room service - which was delicious, I recommend the omelet and potatoes, definitely a worth while treat.

The hotel is attached to the Ritz by a large corridor that eventually leads you outside. The spa and fitness rooms are on the Ritz side, but not far away. The fitness room was also very nice for a hotel, lots of cardio machines and a very large weight area. There are several nice sitting areas outside for reading or enjoying the beautiful landscaping.

The room was ok, the bathroom was very nice and my balcony was great. I somehow ended up in a corner unit on the 3rd or 4th floor, the balcony was very large and had a view of the golf course. The best part of the hotel though, is the pool, we made a point to float down the lazy river everynight (closed at 11pm). The float was inexpensive and easier to buy than pack.

In summary, if in Orlando for a personal trip I would look at Grande Lakes, but the $ would probably be more than I would be willling to spend on my own dime.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lane2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 340 in Orlando
4,413 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 340 in Orlando
5,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#61 of 340 in Orlando
4,066 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#16 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#17 Green Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#28 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $209 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing