We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #66 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed August 24, 2005

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Ritz Carlton (which is next to the JW) last year and could not say enough about the property or the staff. After reading the reviews we decided to give the JW a shot during the weekend of August 19th, 2005. We are glad we did.

We had a suite on the 14th floor overlooking the pool. What a great view. The suite had a seperate bedroom, living room, dressing area and a large bathroom. Could not ask for more. The pool is simply awesome. It is 24,000 feet and holds 900,000 gallons of water. It is the shape of a lazy river with a slight current. The fitness center and the spa are top notch along with the restaurants. We ate at all of the restaurants with the exception of Primo and the food was perfection.

The one thing that stood out was that all of the employees greeted you or said good morning or afternoon. This was from the desk personnel all the way to the maintenance personnel. There was a negative review regarding the staff at the pool. I did not encounter this at all, in fact they were always offering drinks or ice water (since it was 98 degress).

Regardless of what property you stay at (Ritz or JW) you cannot go wrong. Which one will we stay at next year. I am leaning towards the JW.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank monbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,792
    837
    261
    100
    64
See reviews for
1,110
492
75
951
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
daytona beach,fl
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2005

We just returned from a two night stay at the JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes. What a pleasure to stay in a hotel that is advertised as five star and truly is!
From the moment we entered the marble lobby, we were greeted by hotel personnel ,inquiring if we needed assistance and offering us citrus flavored cold water.
Check in was very fast, and we were assigned rooms on the 22nd floor, overlooking the lake and pool.
The room was on the small side , but more than adequate. We had a king size bed as well as a sleeper sofa--perfect for a couple with a child.
The room was immaculate, as was the enormous(compared to the room) bathroom, which had a separate tub and shower.
The beds were very comfortable, but they had feather pillows and toppers--something that I am allergic to. It would be nice if there were a few rooms that had foam pillows and no feathers,
The public areas were gorgeous and spotless. The lounge ,restaurants, and pool area looked new. Hotel staff was always ready to help and although they were many throughout the property, they were very subtle.
We had the bountiful buffet breakfast in Citron each morning. Although a little pricey ($18 per person), we had many choices, including made to order omelettes and belgian waffles.
The pool is perhaps the nicest we've seen in the US--it has a heated lazy river ( a shame that they charge several dollars to use the floats) and many private areas to swim. As the hotel had low occupancy, it was never crowded and there were always plenty of chaises.
A staff member told us that there is a cruise of the lake every half hour that leaves from the dock--you can even take it over to the Ritz-Carlton that adjoins the Marriott.
Our stay was absolutely perfect--my only complaint is the $7 per day charge for self parking ( or $12 for valet).
We are already planning a return stay.

Helpful?
11 Thank dpoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2005

My husband and I and our two children (ages 9 and 12) stayed here during our Orlando visit. The hotel and its nicely landscaped grounds were beautiful. We had scheduled one day to just spend at the hotel...and was glad we did. Our kids enjoyed the pool so much, and all of us enjoyed the lazy river!

The hotel was very clean, and our room impeccable. We got the breakfast plan which we would highly recommend. The buffet breakfast at Citron is a good start to the day.

With two kids, we wish the room was a little larger, but overall would highly recommend this hotel. It was a nice, relaxing haven.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ifawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2005

We recently stayed at this hotel and really enjoyed our visit. The interior of this hotel is beautiful, especially the lobby area. The swimming pool area is nice with several pools to choose from plus a meandering river you can take an intertube down. The grounds are immaculate as well as the entire hotel. The entire staff were exceptionally nice and so professional and helpful.......we were made to feel very welcome. Only downside, the room was small and not decorated very well, which surprised us, especially for a JW. We expected more.....no small sofa or coffee table in our room and the bathroom sink counter was very small. Overall, though a wonderful hotel and would stay again. A wonderful surprise was their restaurant called Primo. The ambience, food and service were first class...........one of the best dining experiences we have ever had. Can't wait to return!

Helpful?
7 Thank LadiParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 10, 2005

Our kids loved the pool which is the best I can say about this Marriott. The service at the pool was the worst I'd ever had, our server was not friendly at all,he acted as if we were bothering him. When we complained at the bar, same bad attitude. The next day my wife and I tried to have an evening without the kids and have Sushi in the lounge, which was highly recommended, the Sushi was ok but again the service was not good. Our server was young and inexperienced and was more interested in flirting with the bartender then taking care of us. This hotel was so beautiful, too bad we will not return due to just bad service.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2005

The hotel itself is a beautiful building and the inside is very nice and clean, however, everything is overshadowed by the way the staff treats you. When you walk in, there 5 people who have nothing to do but stare at you when you walk by, and they dont even smile, no one whio works in the hotel does. The dont have cusioned pool chairs, dont bring food orders to you, and God forbid you ask one of them a question, you get a dirty look, as if its not their job. I usually never complain like this about hotel staff because you dont interact mucg with them, but at this hotel it was truly annoying. They were trying to become the Ritz-Carlton but dont have the staff or extra amenities to do so. Sorry excuse for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jupiter3952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2005

This was our second stay here, and it’s still a terrific resort. Nice pool complex with a zero entry area for little kids, excellent spa ($15/day to use the lap pool, whirlpool steam, sauna & lockers, but it’s such a nice, relaxing adults-only spot that it’s worth it. This is complimentary if you are having a spa treatment.) The gym is one of the best equipped of any hotel I’ve seen, and is complimentary. Food quality ranged from excellent to so-so in the all day restaurant, Citron. There’s a great breakfast buffet, especially if you get it in the room rate. The wait staff here treated our 3 year old daughter like royalty each morning, and two of them remembered her from our trip here last year. The kid’s playroom doesn’t have organized child care/day care activities, instead its intended for parents to accompany their kids and spend time together playing, with no fee. (No, it’s not dazzling when you are in the land of theme parks, but it is very useful for a rainy morning.) It has toys, games, craft materials, TV and video games. In-room babysitting can be arranged, and for those who want fee based daytime child care, the adjacent kid’s facility at the Ritz Carlton is available to Marriott guests. The only negative about this place is that it isn't near anything. It's about a 20+ minute drive to WDW or Univeral areas, 5-10 minutes to Sea world, 15+ mins to International drive restaraunts. Nothing is walking distance but that's not unusual in the sprawl of Orlando.
What sets this resort apart, is that we have found the service here to be completely professional and friendly without exception. No hassles, everything right the first time. It makes for an effortless, low stress vacation.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank jah39a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#26 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#55 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#49 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Lakeshore Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#16 Green Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#26 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing