We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,368)
Filter reviews
3,368 results
Traveler rating
1,945
930
302
114
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,945
930
302
114
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ritzlazy rivercitron restaurantpool areaself parkingbeautiful hotellobby barresort feeturn down servicebusiness conferencebreakfast buffetkids activitiesper dayfitness centerluxury hotellake viewroom rate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,742 - 1,747 of 3,368 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have stayed at JW at Grande Lakes multiple times and each and every time we leave happy and relaxed. It is a wonderful family hotel that always delivers with top notch activities, food selections and most importantly, a wonderful professional staff. The Front Desk is literally error free and is managed by a true professional (Tesha). The Citreon Breakfast buffet is one of best we have ever encountered and is only topped by the staff. We are especially fond of Karima, Abdel and Denise all who whom make us feel like we are dining with family. Same goes for the Quench Pool restaurant which recently improved their menu and has two of our favorite servers (Amado and Chuck). The Health Club/Spa is excellent and spotless. Teddy the Bellman is iconic and seems to have been at hotel since the doors opened. Our family lives just over an hour from the JW Grande Lakes and tries to visit 3-4 times a year. We love staying there and felt it was time to recognize some of the staff. Rafael3, Melbourne, Florida

Room Tip: Facing pool and golf course is best.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmariani3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Third time here, lovely place with good staff. Somewhat alarmed to awaken to a balcony another guest had thrown up on (eurgh) overnight but it was cleaned up quickly. Not really a JW experience to have that happen. I kinda thought they would apologise about that as we did ask that a manager be told. Kind of a spring break thing to happen in an upscale hotel. Pool area and all facilities excellent with small exception being a not very good couch bed for kid. Shame as a good couch bed equals rested kids = happy parents but not a major issue.

Poolside food was good, as was citron buffet. We didn't dine elsewhere on property but heard good things about the other eateries. Perfectly decent Starbucks if you want to avoid a thirty dollar breakfast, which we did at vacation end!!

Room Tip: Rooms are small, pack light!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovehotels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The JW Marriott is part of a convention complex that also includes a Ritz Carlton. They two are joined by a meeting center. The rooms and outdoor facilities are great well-designed and inviting. The rooms have all the amenities you might want with those facing the parks giving you a view of the nightly fireworks displays. Primo restaurant is a very good organic (don't wince--it's really good) restaurant. The best thing about the resort is the service. Everyone seems to go out of their way to anticipate and accommodate needs. I've stayed at many Marriotts (I'm a platinum-for-life Guest Awards member) and this hotel is the best and comparable to many higher rated luxury resorts. And the place is near the parks, but not Disney-esque at all.

Room Tip: Pick the side that faces the parks on an upper level.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soapmanusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My husband had a conference at the JW Marriott and we stayed there 4/12-4/19, this hotel was the most frustrating and infuriating hotel I have ever encountered.

When we first pulled up to the hotel, we went to park and found our way blocked by a gate. We had to go check in because it costs $18 a night to self park! The only time I have ever had to pay to self park is in a larger city, when the hotel is paying for a garage; I have never been to a hotel with parking lots surrounding the property that requires payment for them. We ended up using the valet for our stay ($25 /night) since we were going to pay, we might as well have the perk of not having to walk to our car.

We went to our room, which was nicely appointed, my husband turned on the tv, and it wouldn't turn on. We called for an engineer, who quickly came and fixed the issue, but a couple hours later we went to turn on the tv again and it yet again did not turn on. When the engineer fixed our issue this time, he gave us two free movies for our stay, which was very nice. The problem was still not fixed though, we ended up having to get a brand new tv the next night.

Our second day at the JW Marriott was not much better. When we checked in, the front desk informed us that they were charging us for our full stay then; no biggie, hotels have different policies on how they charge your card, they put a ~$1700 hold on our account. My husband checked our bank account the next day and found that we were charged ~$300 extra by Marriott. When we spoke to the manager at the front desk, he told us that this was policy and that we would get the $1700 back when we checked out! Basically, they hold the full amount for your stay, but charge you for each night that you're there, making you pay twice until you've departed.

The one high note of our stay was the staff, they were all very nice and courteous, making sure we had everything we required. Unfortunately, the staff could not displace the constant feeling of being nickel and dimed ($15 /day for Wi-Fi?!) and always feeling taken advantage of by Marriott's 'premier' brand. There were several problems that were not listed here, but suffice to say, we won't be back. We have decided to never patronize Marriott properties again, Disney might be more expensive, but they let you know exactly what you're paying for up front.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jazzy_Vazquez, Administrative Assistant, Rooms Division at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at our resort. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your sincere feedback. Our resort charges for parking in order to provide a clean and secure environment for our guests and their vehicles. I will address your other concerns with our team in order to improve the overall operation of the resort. Thank you for the great comments about our associates, we will pass this information along. I genuinely hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Traveled to Orlando for my 60th birthday celebration and stayed at JW Marriott for the first time. We got a fantastic AAA package with 2 free breakfast buffets, $25 resort credit per day and free self parking. The only negative about this property is the exorbitant WiFi fee of $14.95 per day. There is also a $25 resort fee each day per room but it is well worth it since there are so many amenities - I just wish that the WiFi was one of them (especially in this day and age!) The view was great facing the Lake and SeaWorld off in the distance. At night I could see the fire works from my balcony. The lazy river was nice but pretty crowded. The best thing about this resort is that it is associated with the Ritz Carlton next door - so you could use all the amenities at the Ritz. So when the pool at the Marriott got crowded, we just went over to the Ritz. Food was reasonable but drinks were outrageous (I hear most people that can afford them are on expense accounts). We stuck with water!! Also sitting by the fire outside at night was really nice. The breakfast buffet in Citron was amazing - best breakfast buffet ever (2nd only to the Marco Polo hotel in Wuhan, China) and we have traveled extensively. The Citron manager, Jim, was also fantastic! Kudos to his managerial style - he pitched in and helped the staff whenever it was needed. It was clear that the staff take great pride in keeping the hotel rooms and landscaping extremely clean. The staff was by far the best part of this stay for us! We had to ask one day if the management puts Prozac in the employees water bottles!! Everyone is so cheerful and it soon became contagious - we were indeed in the "happiest place on earth" and it was not Disneyland! Thank you so much for having such a wonderful, relaxing resort and employees that love working there!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake so that you can watch the fireworks at night!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannie689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews