We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #66 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia SC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a beautiful property that is really its own oasis in Orlando -- two hotels, the JW Marriott and the Ritz, together, sharing gorgeous acreage featuring lush landscaping and well-manicured golf grounds.

My friends and stayed here for the Capital One Bowl and found it to be the perfect headquarters for our needs. We had sushi and drinks upon arrival in the outdoor area that is party of the Lobby Lounge, and we found the Hawaiian Spicy Roll to be really good. (Drinks are expensive, but that's pretty much how it goes at nice hotels.) During our time in the hotel, we ate at Norman's next door at the Ritz (a real culinary treat -- but, again, bring your wallet!), had snacks from the Bodega (good option for breakfast sandwiches at around $8 a pop), had lunch at Quench (service was good, but food was just basic bar fare) and ordered drinks at Primo. We also tried the Primo breakfast bar prior to check out and gave that a thumbs up. I took a tour of the spa, but unfortunately didn't have enough time to get a massage there, like I had hoped. The spa facilities looked very nice, and all of the pool areas, including the spa pool, were really attractive and had great landscaping.

Our room itself was very nice, but somewhat conservative in terms of the decor and pretty "expected." I do appreciate the beautiful original art in each room at JW Marriotts. Very nice. The bathroom was the best part of the room -- sizable, with marble floors, glass shower and separate tub. Everything was very clean, and we appreciated the housekeeping employees.

As you might guess, there are a lot of families and children at these properties, due to Orlando being such a destination for this demographic. But it seemed there was enough for all to do to keep everyone happy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GamecockGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,770
    822
    255
    100
    64
See reviews for
1,094
489
74
930
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the hotel between 23 Dec and 31 Dec after spending 5 days at Universal. The resort, comprising of the JW and adjacent Ritz Carlton is absolutely beautiful. The buildings are palatial and the grounds are stunning.

The rooms are lovely with a full bathroom, complete with separate shower cubicle. Rooms are cleaned to a high standard and there is also a nightly turndown service.

The restaurants are lovely and are fairly relaxed making them a good choice for families (the restaurants at the Ritz are also great but we didn't find the menus quite so child friendly). Our favourite was Citroens where we also ate breakfast. The food and service are both top notch, our special thanks to Red, one of the waiters who was always so friendly and obliging. A full American breakfast for a family of four is far from cheaper, coming in at almost $100, so we were really glad that this was included with the package that we booked!

The Lounge lobby bar was also a favourite, sushi is also on offer there. There is a full waiting service for drinks and we were very impressed that one of the waitresses remembered our order a day or so later, despite the hotel being very busy!

The JW lazy river pool is amazing, it is also heated. There are plenty of loungers so you don't need to worry about getting up at the crack of dawn to reserve one! Quench, the pool bar serves delicious cocktails, sandwiches and burgers and will also serve you at your lounger if you want to eat there.

My husband played golf and loved the course. Myself and my daughters also visited the spa. They had kids' manicures and pedicures and afterwards, I visited the spa pool and the relaxation areas - all gorgeous and again, the service was impeccable.

Guests can also use all facilities of the Ritz Carlton and there pool is also great, a bit more suitable for swimming lengths.

Over The Christmas period, the resort converts one if its many palatial ballrooms into a huge play area for kids, called Peppermint Square. On offer are movies, popcorn, hot chocolate, craft activities, arcade games etc...the kids loved it.

We have visited Orlando several times and this is our favourite hotel. So relaxing and you feel a million miles away from the craziness of the parks. For those of you that want to visit the parks, it is closest to Sea Word (2 miles) and about half an hour from Disney. The hotel arranges shuttles to most of the main attractions and some of these are complimentary. See concierge for a timetable and remember to give 24 hours notice when booking.

Yes, it is quite a pricy hotel but considering the quality and service given, it represents good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieS606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazzyVazquez, Administrative Assistant, Rooms Division at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for posting such great review. We are thrilled to learn your time with us was splendid. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
307 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went to Orlando for a New Years Day football Bowl game. We got there on December 30 and left on January 2. It was just my wife and I so we wanted to be away from the main hotel stuff on I-4 and Disney. JW Marriott is located a couple of miles down Central Florida Parkway off I-4. It is next door to the Ritz Carlton surrounded by a very nice golf course. In fact, the two hotel share many services such as Spa and fitness.
Our check in was flawless. The service was nice and prompt. The lobby was big and nicely decorated for Christmas.
There are two restaurants located just off the lobby area. We did not eat at either so I can't advise on them. We went shopping and ate at area restaurants.
The rooms were perfect, well almost perfect. They were big, clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was big as well. The cleaning service was excellent. They came twice a day with a turn-down service. The only issue we had with the room was the closet. This was weird. The temps in the room was fine as we could control that. But, there was a vent inside the closet that was blowing cold air. The inside of the closet was very cold. Our cloths were cold when we took them out and, of course, the cold air would come rushing out when we opened the closet door. I have never seen this before.
The only other issue that I could note is that the self-parking was a long way from the front door. There was valet parking but we used the self parking. There's nothing they can do about it but just be aware if you chose to self park. Self Parking is $18 a day. Not sure why they need to charge for self parking.
The internet access was good and was hi-speed.
They provide water bottles in the room which I like.

Even with the minor issues, we would certainly stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here in October for a 4 day getaway. We had originally booked at another hotel, ( not part of the Marriott chain), which we were unhappy with and my husband called to request to be transferred here. The staff could not have been more accommodating, even offering to send a town car to pick us up and move us. The lobby is one of the most spectacular lobbies I have ever been in with beautiful vaulted ceilings, (all marble), and lots of comfy seating. The check in process was very quick. The room are clean and fully equipped with all the amenities. Turn down service is available on request. The hotel is connected via a beautiful walk way to the Ritz Carlton. Both properties are lovely to walk around and you can also rent a surrey to drive by the 1/2hr. Be sure to have closed toed shoes if you ant to rent one. There are lots of cozy places to sit and read if you do not choose to go to the pool. The spa is located on the Ritz property but services can be charged to your room at the Marriott, as well as any purchase in shops at the Ritz. The hotel offers free shuttles to Disney World.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Overall, the property is very nice and the staff was great. I was there for a work conference and had many issues with the internet, but I understand the hotel was changing wireless service that week, so hopefully the issues should be resolved. The room was a little dated, lacking good plugs for electronics, but a refridgerator was brought to the room promptly upon request.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelchickNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just returned from spending 3 days in Orlando, my husband and I arrived on New Years Eve and the hotel had an awesome party going on, we stayed in the hotel lobby party to receive the new year and it was great. They had a cool live band playing, balloons falling from the ceiling and after midnight a fireworks show. It was a great choice for a New Years blast.

The breakfast is top quality, the pool is huge but well laid out so everyone can find an area of their own. All facilities are in great shape. Service was also very good.

Overall the hotel exceeded all of my expectations and believe I am very demanding as I travel frequently.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dondedios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

A very comfortable hotel with an impressive lobby. The staff were very friendly and the pool area was beautiful (the Jacaranda tree's were flowering all around the lazy river). We had dinner at the Bistro and the food was delicious. The pool area bar serves good sandwiches and the staff there were always eager to help.

Do take a wonder around the lake. My husband saw more wildlife there than during an eco tour he took and we spent a lovely hour in a hammock in the gardens listening to the frogs and looking at the stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,059 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#55 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#44 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Lakeshore Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#16 Green Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#26 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing