We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel to Unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #66 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel to Unwind”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you plan to go to Orlando for a vacation, the JW Marriott will give you a great experience. If you stay on a Fri thru Sun - there is a free shuttle to Universal. Otherwise - rent a car to go to Disney or other properties. The hotel is connected to the Ritz Carlton. I was never a SPA person until I went there! Pure heaven - and all you have to do is walk down a hallway. The place is clean and always demonstrates a savvy customer comes first attitude.

What I liked about this hotel was that it was more adult like - not too many kids running around in Mickey Mouse ears (some - but not lots). It was more of an adult experience.

Try to use your triple AAA to book at a discount.

Room Tip: Pick something away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helloziti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,792
    837
    261
    100
    64
See reviews for
1,110
492
75
951
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The JW Marriott is outstanding, as you would expect of any JW Marriott property. It is not far from the Orange County Convention Center and the major attractions. Food is excellent, but pricey, although you should generally expect that in a top hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and the air conditioning works very well. The grounds of the hotel are spectacular. You will feel like you are in Hawaii or some other tropical rain forest location with the foliage. The grounds are expansive and make for nice walking.

Room Tip: The high floors have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller9876123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is the 10th summer we have stayed at The Marriott JW Grande Lakes in June. We booked our rooms in February 2012. We needed 2 rooms. We requested adjoining rooms OR rooms within 6 rooms of each other. We were disappointed when we arrived that our rooms though on the same floor were 25 rooms apart. Our room was a nice room at one end of the 12th floor with 2 beds and a balcony facing the pool/water. We requested the in room fridge which was delivered within 30 minutes of our arrival. The air conditioning was set on high on a setting of 60 but it really didn't keep our room cold...it was "cool" at best. We love this resort because of the fabulous lazy river and the outside pool bar, Quench (Poolside Bar & Grill). The kids are always happy with the food and I enjoy being able to stay in my poolside chair and still have food & beverage service. The only problem with Quench is if it rains they close early AND on regular nights they close around sunset (NOT at dark, but sunset). Quench does all you to open a bar/food tab poolside and they will keep it open all day for you & you have the same server. We loved Courtney and Austin! Fabulous servers! The pool is the main source of entertainment for our kids (12 & 15), but they also have a pool table set up, outdoor chess, volleyball, & a game room. On the weekend (weather permitting) they show movies on the big screen by the lazy river. Citron (another casual dining place) will fix you "take out" to enjoy poolside as well. We also enjoy having a Starbucks inside the hotel AND Cafe Bodega has amazing fresh, made to order breakfast sandwiches!

Room Tip: We always like the rooms with a balcony facing the pool/water. On clear nights you can see the fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4Fun465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Service at the hotel was very good in that people seemed always eager help be it at the front desk the pools or the restaurants. A+. The gym is shared with the Ritz Carlton that is on tihe same property and it is fantastic. The equipment was new, clean and they even have free weights with dumbells to 100lbs. The Lobby bar is quite nice with a good beer and drink selection and there is even decent food. If I had to offer some criticism, which I do, I would say that the menu could be expanded at the bar a little and the rooms, though nice, were a little tight with furnishings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenon007700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell,LA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is the epitome of the term opulence. It is massive in size and quality. They have the best staff that I have ever experienced. Everything about this hotel was awesome. It is highly priced, but you get highly treated. It has an impressive pool with a nice lazy river (it could have a little stronger current). My only complaint is that the self-parking lot is literally a ½ mile walk to the hotel entrance. You must have a car if you plan on going to the parks or other attractions. Also, there aren’t too many dining options in the immediate area of this resort. Let’s face it; you don’t plan on eating at BK if you are staying here. There are numerous amounts of activities to choose from. This is not just a hotel, it is a destination!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MardiGrasFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Wonderful resort with all the decadent extras you expect from a JW!!! Nothing better than after a hard day at the Parks to relax in that wonderful Lazy River. The staff is very engaged and extremely eager to be of assistance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A friend and I traveled to this hotel (she had some business to briefly attend to in the area). The hotel is very nice in terms of the room and we received the appropriate upgrades per gold member status (internet fee waived, room upgrade, etc.). The pool was nice (although we heard there could be snake appearances, we never saw any thank goodness) and the lazy river was very nice ($7 for an adult tube). Restaurants were ok but a lot of items were pricey that did not need to be. We were disappointed to learn on our last day rather than on our first day that we could have paid $12 for a refillable mug for certain beverages at pool.
What I feel I must share is that the hotel offers guests transportation options to various locations (some at a cost, some complimentary). We chose to take the Mears shuttle to Downtown Disney for 19.00 one evening (booked by the hotel Concierge who continued to remind us we were at a luxury hotel as if we didn't know) since we had taken Mears from the airport to the hotel without a problem. After paying Mears for a round trip ticket right in front of the hotel when they came to pick us up, the ride to Downtown Disney went fine and the driver explained exactly where we would be picked up for our return at 11:45 pm. Well at 11:45pm in the dark very rainy night - no Mears!; they did not show up! We call and they tell us that JW did not make a reservation and they did not plan to come get us. After a long frustrating discussion with Mears they finally agreed to pay for us to take a taxi ride back to JW but still insisted JW did not make the roundtrip reservations (despite us having the tickets in our hands and being able to explain every detail of what occurred). Upon arriving back at JW past 1am I called the desk to ask for a manager to explain what had happened since they had arranged the transportation and since they obviously "do business" with this Mears. Although Grant, the manager, apologized and assured me he would look into the problem and get back to me with the results of what he could find out, we never heard from him. (A simple call back to us or a gesture to smooth over the frustration such as a complimentary anything would have been appropriate).
Then, another evening, after the disaster with Mears, we decided to take a "luxury car" to a shopping outlet. We told the JW attendant exactly where we wanted to go and he replied the charge would be 29.00. We even made sure to explain we wanted to go to the International Drive Outlets and not the Vineyard and he still said regardless the price is 29.00. So, we hopped in and 5 min down the road the driver asks us what we were told for price and once we told him, he then told us the price was 35.00. We reluctantly paid it (the 6.00 was not the point, the point was misrepresentation) and upon returning to JW (took a taxi back, nice ride, no problems), I tried to explain what happened to the attendant at JW but he walked away (to open the next arriving car's door) without saying please wait one moment and I will be right back. So instead I explained this upon checkout to the front desk the next morning when we were leaving (this man was very nice) but were told that since I did not know which driver it was, there wasn't much they could do about it although they do have a contract with the company... "Mears!". I am hoping I can find the business card with the name of the driver.
This hotel needs to find more dependable transportation companies to have contracts with and not brush off this type of situation (2 ladies are stranded in a dark parking lot late at night) - regardless of whose "fault" it turned out to be and to be more aware of the "real" price of the luxury cars and get back to a guest with a legitimate concern.
In the end, it seemed taxi cabs were the more reasonable and reliable way to get around. The frustrations we experienced by the end of the few days we stayed in terms of the transportation unfortunately outweighed the experience of the hotel. It's too bad because in between the frustrations with the transportation, we thought how nice it would be to come back to this hotel again with family and friends. This is the first review I have written and I have traveled a lot and stayed at a lot of hotels; I just felt that other customers need to be aware of this experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJinCT316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#26 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#55 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#49 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Lakeshore Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#16 Green Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#26 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing