We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, exceptional golf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #73 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few days before going to a conference at a nearby hotel. The hotel was clean and well appointed, exactly what you would expect of a JW. The lobby bar had good food and was open later, we also had room service (excellent burger but overpriced). Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and professional, again exactly what you would expect from a brand like JW. All the rooms had balconies, and couches, as well as a spacious bathroom. The pool was amazing with a lazy river and lots of seating. Then there was the golf... This is technically the ritz-carlton golf club, but its is attached to the hotel. The course is a greg norman design and is as challenging as they come, the course was perfectly maintained, and condition and service wise was the best I have ever played. The golf course concierge, Jonothan, was amazing attending to every need and providing pleasent surprises along the way, the gentlman I played with actually had played there the week before and Jonathan remembered that he had a long flight home, had a bad back, and that his wife had been under the weather, and gave them a back warmer for the flight home, now thats service!!!! What was even more amazing is that he had only worked there 2 months! If you get a chance stay at this great hotel, and get in a round of exceptional golf, you will be blow away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazzyVazquez, Management Team at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It will give me great pleasure to let Jonathan know how impressed you were with this service.

Thank you for visiting our resort!

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,005 - 2,011 of 3,307 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Traveling solo for business this
Marriott was what I'd hoped for.
My requested king room on high floor wasn't ready, but a double would suffice, as was granted a much needed early check in. Valet parking was pricey, but isn't it always? Room had small balcony overlooking lazy river and lovely grounds. For one or two people it's fine. For a family, it would be snug.
The bath was large with nice amenities, and seperate bath and shower. But the best was being able to use their sister property, The Ritz Carlton. My lunch of
ahi tuni served poolside was quite good. Service, Ritz standard. Pool, quiet and relaxing.
Before check out the next morning, I found a secluded spot near the crowded lazy river, and
enjoyed my cup of java.
I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catd411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights at this resort. Such a beautiful, well designed resort. One nice touch is that every staff member was eager to greet you and help you. Never had that before. I mean from the lobby to the cleaning crew. Everyone would greet you. The resort is huge and you can also use the Ritz Carlton property which is nice. One could just stay at the resort and never go anywhere else. They gave us a list of activities for the weekend and on top of that there were many other things to do. The pool is the best and biggest I've seen at a resort. It goes on forever. Room was well appointed and the bathroom was also quite large. We will definitely return to this resort! Well done Marriot!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeLeo237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazzyVazquez, Management Team at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for posting such great review. We are thrilled to learn your time with us was splendid. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is still very nice and great spa property. The pools and amenities are excellent. The rooms are a bit dated but still very comfortable and nice.

The restaurants were wonderful.
Ritz Carlton and Marriott share the gym and spa facilities. I really enjoyed the gym. I can say one of the best I have been to. I decided to get a massage and really enjoyed by day at the spa. The pool and the spa food were excellent. But my massage therapist was the worst. But the facility was clean and enjoyable.

I really recommend to spend a day at the lazy river and enjoy the GYM.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjyav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the JW over Memorial Day weekend 2013. It was my husband and I plus our 3 children, ages 4, 8, and 11. Our intent was for a one day visit to Legoland plus some pool time and that's what we got. We got a package that included two connecting rooms - one with double beds and one with a king. We also got a 2pm checkout on our departure day, breakfast for 4, unlimited ice cream for the kids, plus 4 free "pool toys" which was inflatable tubes to use on the lazy river. We also got self parking for free due to my husband's Elite status. There was still a charge for internet use, however. I felt like the service was great, the rooms were very nice - great showers (separate bathtubs). There was lots to do on the resort besides just swimming. Our family enjoyed the game room, some foosball, the sandbox, outdoor DJ, walking around the vegetable garden while eating our ice cream, and much more.
The breakfast buffet was very good. We had an 8am reservation the first day but the second morning we showed up at 9 and did have to wait for about 20 minutes. There were plenty of selections and I thought the food was good. We also ate at the poolside restaurant for a few snacks and thought it was very good and that the service was good considering the crowds.
We probably enjoyed the lazy river more on our arrival day because it was not very crowded. We tried it again on Sunday morning but it was very crowded and we had to put our towels and belongings on the ground due to all of the rude hotel guests reserving pool chairs at 7 a.m. with a mere magazine and not claiming these chairs until after we left the pool at noon. I guess they were at Disney World and were worried there would not be any chairs when they returned at 8pm???
Besides the general selfishness of humanity, we really enjoyed our trip to this JW Marriott and will consider it when returning to Orlando in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just stayed at this beautiful hotel for the last three nights. We enjoyed the lazy river, the beautiful grounds, and the most amazing shower in our bathroom. It was very crowded the first day we were there since it was the last night of Memorial Day weekend. The hotel ended the weekend with a GRAND display of fireworks of the lake.

Room Tip: We had a parking lot view, BOO. Bring your own pillows, I hate feather pillows and the foam one the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lbhendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Let me start by saying that my company paid for this stay. I am sure it was very expensive, but I didn't have to pay so I don't know if it was a good value or not. Also, I am not usually a resort traveller. I don't like to spend my money on my room. I like to spend it on activities, dining, etc. Just give me a clean bed in a safe place and I'm good to go.

Here's what I discovered......

The JW Marriot and the Ritz Carlton property share the resort. Guests from both hotels have access to the pools at the other. Don't bother with the Ritz pool. It's a very boring, no frills pool. It is less crowded, which actually may be a draw. The Marriot pool is several pools, connected by a lazy river, in a tropical setting. The one downside is that you have to buy the $7 intertubes, if you want to float the "river". To me it was a rip-off, but to the non-budget-minded usual clientele of this hotel, it probably wasn't an issue.

Both hotels share a fitness center that's midway between both. Great amount of equipment and never had to wait for anything. They do offer fitness classes, for $20. I opted to save the $20 and use the cardio equipment and weights.

There are a few restaurants on site that are reasonably priced. There's a Starbucks and a few convenience stores/delis inside the Marriot.

Elevators were fast and we never waited too long for one. The rooms were plush and very well maintained.

Downsides:
No free wifi in the rooms or pool area. But there was free wifi in the lobby.

This property is sooooooo far from the attractions/theme parks and the only thing in walking distance is Walgreens. You have to rent a car if you stay here, but then you have to pay probably $20 a day to park (guessing). I did notice a bus stop near the resort when I was leaving. I wish I had seen it earlier. The private cars at the hotel are $35 each way. A taxi to Universal Studios cost me $25.

The restaurant at the pool is ridiculously slow. 30 minutes for salsa and chips. 20 minutes for your drink to be delivered. 60 minutes to receive your sandwich. Skip this place entirely. Or, order as soon as you get to the pool and by the time you actually get your food you'll be nice and hungry.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the forest have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saruhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#56 of 340 in Orlando
5,475 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#67 of 340 in Orlando
4,224 reviews
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 340 in Orlando
4,678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Lakeshore Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#16 Green Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#30 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $231 - $767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury experience at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in Orlando, Florida, which sits in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to Walt Disney World and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing