We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #72 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent Hotel & ammenities. The lazy river, pool & hot tub were a fun time. The pool bar/restaurant had great food & drink selections.

I would also reccomend hitting the hotel bar one evening as there is quite the crowd.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a pool / lake / golf-course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,998 - 2,004 of 3,238 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at the Grande Lakes JW a year ago, while tagging along with my fiancé on a business trip. This past March I needed a "heartbreak holiday" by myself and knew I would feel comfortable and safe alone at the JW. I was relieved to find the Grande Lakes experience was just as fabulous as I remembered it and the staff was above-&-beyond kind and accomodating. The grounds and Shingle Creek are pristinely manicured and so peaceful, I found comfort in watching the wildlife at sunset. The lazy river is a fun distraction and if you sit by the waterfall, it helps drown out the boisterousness of kids on vacation. Overall a wonderful resort; I hated to leave. But fortunately while I was there we had a rekindling of our romance and we are returning in May! I can't wait!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Staff was friendly, didn't have there hand out for tips, even though I do tip fair amounts. The rooms were very clean. Expensive, but, a place with all the amenities is going to be expensive. Slept with the balcony door open for a fantastic breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and was very happy. My room was nice, clean and modern. The food was good, check in was very quick and while I didn't get in the pool, it was beautiful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My family and I stayed on two separate occasions this March. I feel I learned a lesson on the difference between hospitality and hostage. JW Marriott will make you feel more like a hostage than a welcomed guest.

At every step of the way, JW Marriott has his hand out for another fee.

1. I expect to pay for parking in Manhattan, San Fran, DC etc..but this hotel is in the burbs with lots and lots of land. The 19.95 charge for parking is just extortion. I hate to valet because it is slow, but the alternative is pay $19.95 for nothing.

2. Wifi. It is 2013. Wifi is free almost everywhere from Panera and Starbucks right down to the lowest rent motel you can find. Charging $9.95 a day for Wifi (same for wired) is borderline un-American at this point and is definitely arises from a hostage situation.

3. Float on the lazy river? That'll be $7 for the float.

4. Have a drink or food by the pool? Get a ready for the hard sell by your server to super-size your order. Tip--you have to drink four large beers to make the upcharge for a 22oz beer make sense even including the inducement of 1/2 price after one.

The lazy river is the real feature of the resort and it is not that great. It is a meandering 3-4ft deep shallow pool that visitor walk or float around. Pretty boring. My eleven year old would much prefer a pool with a slide and there are tons of those in Orlando.

Rooms are appointed nicely but not well insulated for sound. We spent a late night listening to our neighbors discuss sales strategy before a, presumably, big meeting.

Bottom line. Meh.

Room Tip: High floors provide a great long distance view across flat Florida.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanaMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a conference. Excellent facilities and great room. A bit pricey. On site restaurants offer great food but prepare to pay a premium price! Overall good value despite being very expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ukmc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This property is 100% on target if you are looking for an Orlando experience. Disney can be enjoyed, and Orlando can as well. The J.W. Marriot Grande Lakes resort is completely accommodating with a lazy river pool, restaurants, convention/meeting center, and adjoining the Ritz Carlton with golf, spa, fitness center. The walking path along the river between the two properties is comfortable and enjoyable. You can see wildlife including an occasional alligator, indigenous birds and other aquatic life.

Likes: VERY comfortable environment and EXCELLENT service. Convenient to all Orlando venues from Downtown to Disney. Ritz Golf Club lunch is outstanding, and a VERY short walk.

Peeves: Have to mention - bath towels are thin and not representative of an ‘A’ class resort.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Ware and Ritz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USA52GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 340 in Orlando
4,467 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#55 of 340 in Orlando
5,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#65 of 340 in Orlando
4,106 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#30 of 340 in Orlando
5,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#17 Green Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#29 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $225 - $624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury experience at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in Orlando, Florida, which sits in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to Walt Disney World and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing