We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It's the J Dub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #53 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“It's the J Dub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Beautiful property on the edge of Orlando, but not far from the airport (MCO). Situated between the Marriott Vacation Club and Ritz Carlton sitting on a stunning 900 acres which includes a Greg Norman 18 hole golf course. My wife and I had a tremendous (pricey at $25 per person) buffet breakfast at the J Dub, but it was worth every penny...come hungry. Even better was the Italian restaurant on the property, wonderful fresh food (we later found out during one of our walks that much of the food is organically grown on the property) and great table service at a reasonable price. Really enjoyed my golf day at the Greg Norman course, I was given a ride from the hotel by a staff member to the golf club house. They have green fee specials in the afternoon and I was still able to get in all 18; along with the two guys they hooked me up with. Our forecaddie was great and kept things moving along. You can use any of the three pool complexes at the property, but we pretty much stayed at the J Dub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sultan1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,609
    734
    222
    84
    55
See reviews for
978
435
68
831
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel/resort is one that keeps giving and giving. First of all.....BEAUTIFUL property. From the entry, to the walking path, to the golf course, to the food, to the patios, bars, restaurants, pools, activities, I could go on and on! I was here in January 2013 for a business trip for one week. My room, a double, was big and spacious. I was on the 18th floor and the elevators were efficient and speedy. This is important when company is having a meeting and large groups of people are moving on elevators at once. The food was surprisingly, really good. I loved that fact that I found a herb and vegetable garden on the property that is used by the kitchen. The food seemed to be prepared in a scratch kitchen and it was delicious even for the large banquet dinners. The staff was efficient and helpful. No blank stares when asking about surrounding areas, taxi service and/or restuarants off property. I can easily return here with my family for a personal vacation.

Room Tip: I prefer a high floor with good sunlight and a balcony. Be sure to make this request if important t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyAnna0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We took advantage of the AAA rate during the high season for a quick mother daughter spa get away. Property adjoins Ritz Carlton Spa which is first rate, elegant, and offers Florida resident discounts. Otherwise, this is a pricey spot. Sushi in the JW bar is excellent and the hotel is expansive and comfortable. Find a package which includes breakfast (excellent) and free parking.... Spa pool is beautiful, lazy river pool is huge and great for families. Courteous, helpful staff ; we love coming here every year. Also very close to Sea World and Discovery Cove....

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pools and lake offer a panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great hotel and lazy river pool. Hotel staff was excellent! Fitness center is great. Nice hotel in Orlando area. Easy check in and check out. We visited in March 2013 and hotel was not crowded at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maevecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My family and I took a family vacation to Orlando last month and had the privilege of staying at this gorgeous hotel! The Kids loved the lazy river and pool and the service was great! My wife and I were able to get away for a while and head over to the Ritz Carlton restaurant for dinner. Overall, wonderful hotel, great service, lovely rooms and relaxing outdoor amenities. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during the July 4th weekend while attending a conference with my sorority. The staff was beyond hospitable. Conveniently, there are some shops and even a Starbucks located on the first floor of the hotel. The lazy river and pool area was absolutely wonderful considering it was very hot and humid during our stay. The servers were great during all of our meals, as well. The property is very well maintained. It is located outside of Orlando central, but there is an airport shuttle to and from the hotel, which can be arranged rather conveniently. I also took a shuttle to Disney World which was great as well. I highly recommend the hotel, especially if you have children that like to swim in the summer time. It's a great option if you don't want to stay at Disney World but would like to have access to the park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deltalove1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here this past week for 3 nights. Marriott is my preferred hotel so it is hard to say that I was disappointed with this hotel. I have stayed at other JWs and this hotel is older and in some places appears to be worn. Check in was painful even though I was in the Elite check in line. took over 15 minutes as the gentleman was trying to locate two rooms on the same floor. Rooms are average and the refrigerator did not work. Had a lovely view of the parking lot and subdivision.

Spent most of my time at the pool adn it was very nice. Also had wonderful experience at the spa. Food and drinks were very over priced - Average $35 to $45 for lunch and one drink.

Used the hotel shuttle provided by Mears to Downtown Disney and that was a disaster. Took four phone calls and 1 1/2 hours before someone picked us up to take us back to the hotel. I would recommend taking a cab.

Room Tip: Request room away from elevators as I heard them the entire night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#41 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 4,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#35 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,538 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#50 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,451 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Orlando
#13 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#18 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing