We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,569)
Filter reviews
3,569 results
Traveler rating
2,068
977
317
125
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,068
977
317
125
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the ritz lazy river citron restaurant pool area self parking beautiful hotel lobby bar resort fee turn down service business conference breakfast buffet kids activities per day conference center luxury hotel room rate sea world
Filter
Updating list...
2,348 - 2,353 of 3,569 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went there with the whole family and I would highly recommend it. It is a beautiful property. The outdoor pool area is like nothing I have ever seen. You can spend the entire day out there and never get tired of the amenities. This hotel is definitely upscale in my books.

Room tip: Loved the hotel. Ask for a room facing the pool as the view is spectacular. You really can't go wrong though.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelotsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I took our two young children to this property on our recent visit to Disney World. We have stayed on Disney Properties in the past, but I have to say this JW is far nicer than any Disney property we have stayed on. It is about a 20 min drive to Disney, so it is quite manageable and they offer a free shuttle to Epcot 2x each day (2 drop off and 2 pick up times). Overall the hotel is really beautiful and shares grounds with the Ritz-Carlton. There is a huge pool with a really nice lazy river, which our kids couldn't get enough of. The staff was outstanding and on par with any Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons that we have stayed at in the past. We were assisted by Hayden at the front desk, who did an excellent job. He was fast efficient and responsive to needs and questions. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel anyone staying in the Orlando area visiting the parks.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the lake.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazzyVazquez, Administrative Assistant, Room Division at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sincerely joyful to learn that your family trip was remarkable. I cannot wait to share your feedback with Hayden. We look forward to your next visit!

Kindly,
Jazzy Vazquez
Administrative Assistant, Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice, once By ourselves and the second time with the kids the second week of march 2013. We enjoyed our stay, the kids loved the pool and the lazy river. Buffet breakfast was excellent and it makes sense to get the family deal with breakfast included in the room. The hotel staff is friendly, they try to accommodate. It is a busy hotel and there is lots of conferences but we found it was good for the kids. I would recommend to anyone who wants to be close to the parks and enjoy the hotel amenities as well.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yeugenia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We try to visit this property at least once per year if we can get a good rate, as we love this hotel and location. The lazy river pool is always nice (though in the "winter" months it can be a bit chilly, and this last visit the hot tubs weren't quite hot enough). You can also use the Ritz Carlton, sister property, amenities if you like - but, truthfully the J.W. has the best things going on.

They often have nice AAA Package rates, with an upgraded room, breakfast, self parking (or a credit against valet) and a nightly resort credit. I highly recommend this rate if you can get one.

I'll go over some of these ammenities (and full disclosure, we are Gold Status members, but don't notice much difference in the ranks from Silver to Gold to Platinum):

The valet parking is always excellent. At Your Service (who you call if you have any needs) has always been great as well. This last time we had 3 feather pillows for a King bed, and requested more - they gave us 3 more without hesitation and delivered them promptly. That type of service is a wonderful touch. Self parking can be a bit of a hike, and at $18 vs. $26 for valet - if you don't want to walk or have a lot of items with you, the valet is worth the extra money (and tip).

Breakfast at Citron is a buffet which is absolutely fantastic. There's something for everyone, and they're usually always packed. They DO have an ala carte menu as well, but if you're dining down there you'll probably want to spend the $26 for the full buffet if you plan on eating more than your typical, expensive, eggs/toast order. This price includes juice, coffee, water, fresh baked artisanal breads, cheese, meats, eggs, an egg station (ommelettes or other eggs) and a waffle/french toast station (all made to order - and hot, REAL Maple Syrup), and other hot items that the chefs are constantly cooking/re-filling. Hot cereal, donuts and everything inbetween is included. I'm the type of person who loves eating Brie with Kalamata Olive Bread for breakfast, while my partner enjoys waffles and oatmeal - this satisfies us both.

The rooms with a view of the golf course/pool are nice, and if you can get a balcony that's even better as while you can't sit on the balcony, you can open the sliding door and get some fresh air. At night, it can be quite lovely.

The J.W. has a sundries shop, a small sandwich/drinks style shop, a Starbucks, a FedEx location, Primo (high end restaurant), Citron, which services all three meals, and the Lobby Bar, which is very nice with a Sushi bar serving food. If you go to the Lobby Bar you'll get great service, and it's casual. We generally eat in the Lobby Bar at least once because of the atmosphere (can be a bit loud, but there are sports t.v.'s) and the service. If there's a convention in the hotel you're bound to meet some interesting folks. There is also a pool bar/restaurant, and the pool does have servers.

The rooms are always clean, and they have a turn-down service which is a very nice touch (a cleaned/refreshed room twice a day is lovely). The beds are great.

This location is not far from SeaWorld, and it's easy to get to any of the other parks from here. It's only a couple of exits from Downtown Disney off I-4 (and it's far enough off I-4, several miles, that you won't hear that noise).

If you have a family, I'm sure this would be an ideal location to bring the kids. We typically go as a couple, and love every minute of it. I don't think we've ever had a bad stay in the past 6.5 years we've been going here together.

Room tip: Ask for a higher floor pool/golf view room with a balcony.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracyldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazzyVazquez, Administrative Assistant, Rooms Division at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! Our goal is to always ensure our guests are satisfied with their service experience. I am sincerely happy to know we have achieved this goal. We truly value your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you in the near future!

Kindly,
Jazzy Vazquez
Administrative Assistant, Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Orlando lake shore reserve in it self is a wonderful site--plenty to do--lazy river--market place ==blossoms restaurant ---amazing landscape---all you can ask for and more------and then located adjacent to the J.W. hotel Marriott with a thousand things to do...and that's not all---located in walking distance to the ritz carlton with golf--pools and all included in your stay----can not . say enough about the convenience .all of this and then the Disney parks and other attractions---make sure a week is enough time to enjoy everything------you can find restaurants that are family friendly with a good price--to are more formal setting. Friendly. workers that listen to your needs and are always wanting to help. Also, presentations about the facilities and how they function. An experience you will never forget and all within 3 miles of everything---have a great time

Room tip: stay on the sun side---away from the pool---lots of noise
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews