We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes to your Saves list
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 NIGHTLY RESORT CREDIT
Ranked #51 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed here several times. The hotel has good service, food & ultra-comfortable beds. The pool is fun for kids, the restaurants are solid & you can walk to the Ritz-Carlton spa. We enjoyed having drinks outside by the fire pit, enjoying the lazy river with the kids & sleeping in comfort. The only reason I am not giving it "excellent" even though it is an excellent place to stay, is that a very MILD amount of aging is starting to show in hallways & bathrooms. Not a reason not to stay there-especially at the Florida resident discount rates, but I still feel compelled to mention it.

Room Tip: North facing room that we had looked over the pool & golf course, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmutt16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,575
    719
    214
    81
    53
See reviews for
940
431
67
816
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We travel to Orlando frequently and have stayed at most of the hotels. This hotel took us by surprise. Not only is it beautiful, the employees were warm and friendly. Previously, we stayed at the Ritz Carlton which shares the grounds and by far prefer the JW. The lazy river pool is an oasis and without hesitation this is my new Orlando favorite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FloridaTravelLover23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grounds, views and spotless property. Quiet, comfortable, and clean rooms. Had a few appetizers in the bar located in the lobby...was THE BEST sushi I have ever eaten! Hats off to the sushi master! Was also nice to capture our Starbucks fix every morning. The "all natural/healthy" sandwich shop was also a favorite spot during this visit. Closely located near all Disney & Universal activities. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SJBBeachme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I spent 5 days there last week and the staff could not have been anymore accommodating. We had both group meals and individual meals/ In both instances the quality of the food was superb. Any requests to the staff was promptly responded to and if they could not meet our request they offered alternatives. Whether we needed assistance with AV equipment or needed to add 1oo seats for a group diner, the folks at thee JW took care of the problem even when they had prepared exactly what we had previously requested.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
190 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the moment we pulled into the well-manicured grounds of the JW Marriott, we instantly felt relaxed. The JW Marriott is an enormous property with almost 1,000 rooms and a large water recreation area. We stayed here for nearly a week starting on Christmas to New Year’s Eve. We stayed in a spacious suite that faced west - this allowed us to see the nightly fireworks off in the distance from the theme parks. The beds, amenities and furnishings were comfortable and excellent.

We ate at the upscale Primo’s one night but be sure to make reservations early. It was difficult to get a table here and even though it was a packed holiday season, the hostess informed us that the restaurant is generally booked solid all year round. The prepared courses were definitely high-end (i.e. fresh, high quality ingredients cooked into artfully presented small portions). The slightly more casual Citron had decent dining options but the food just did not live up to the same standards as the rest of the property.

During the Christmas week, the JW Marriott converted their main cavernous conference room into a children’s play area - there were arts & crafts, board games, inflatable jumperoos, video games, etc. In some areas, plush sofas were placed so parents could sit and relax (which we did) while the children played.

We visited a couple of the Disney parks and it was an easy 20 min. drive. Getting around was not a problem although at times the traffic in the Orlando area was terrible - most probably due to the holiday season. On a few nights the hotel was completely full and yet did not feel bustling. While the lobby lounge bar had a lot of people nightly, service was prompt and the bartenders were experts.

There is a large pool area and we hope to return to this property in the summer to use those facilities. We wanted to use the heated pool during the afternoon but the heaters for the pool were under repair. But this property shares the same grounds as the adjacent Ritz Carlton and we were encouraged to use the pool at the Ritz Carlton - hardly an inconvenience.

The service was outstanding and the people really seemed to care about your experience. Also, keep in mind that this hotel apparently caters to the business conference crowd - it is entirely possible that the hotel can be full due to different business conferences occurring during our stay. But it would be hard to be disappointed by staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing west to see nightly fireworks from theme parks off in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bt_mpls_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had stayed on-site at Universal Studios and needed somewhere to stay when we were done with the park and still exploring Orlando. We decided to give the JW a try because of the location and access to NASA and the other attractions we had booked. One of the draws was the lazy river. We aren't usually the type of family that hangs out at a hotel even a resort type hotel, we are more of the explore the community type. We found that we could easily spend hours at this hotel relaxing and enjoying family time. The lazy river was fun, they had cook-outs and swim in movies. The breakfast buffet (included in our package) was outrageously priced but beyond compare! (Honestly had it not been included we would have passed, at $75 for a family of four that's more than I'd spend on breakfast. With 2 growing boys they ate their fill and had no need for lunch!) The rooms were nicely appointed and comfy but on the small side. Service was wonderful. My only complaint, and this is an overall Marriott issue not this particular hotel...we paid with gift cards that I had purchased over time, I can understand putting a nominal fee hold on my credit card in the event of damages. They as a rule hold the whole amount of the stay. I had not planned on that $750 hold! Fortunately we had prepaid for our NASA tickets, our Everglades airboat ride, etc before we arrived in Florida and therefore had enough money to do what we wanted but I'd advise people know the gift card/credit hold policy before they go!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoyzMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at JW Marriot in Orlando in May 2012 with my family and the suits were just absolutely gorgeous.
Whether it was the staff at the hotel or room service everything was fantastic.

The services within the hotel were great as well. The location is perfect as it's very close to Universal Studios.
The hotel over all is beautiful with an amazing swimming pool and spa area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akay100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#37 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 4,248 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#30 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,463 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#47 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,393 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Orlando
#14 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#19 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing