We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“If you are here for golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #47 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you are here for golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed one night because we had a great deal on the room. Beautiful property and the staff we encountered where excellent.

Futher away from International drive where there were many great restaurants to choose from. If you are looking for a golf vacation and don't plan on doing much more than this is for you.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie-Luvs2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,582
    723
    215
    81
    53
See reviews for
946
433
68
818
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel managed to provide everything needed for a great holiday for four adults and three young children. The lake view rooms were not huge but definitely comfortable, well appointed and stylish. The children loved the extensive pool and lazy river, which together with the surrounding gardens, created a pleasant and relaxing place to 'chill out' after a day of theme parks. The JW Marriott and Ritz-Carlton together form a really extensive resort just on the edge of Orlando and surrounded by a lovely golf course and landscaped gardens - we loved the feeling of being able to escape to a haven of tranqulity only a short and very easy drive from the Orlando attractions. The restaurants are great and gave a good choice of both family and adult dining. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful and managed to achieve that difficult balance of accommodating the needs of the children without causing irritation to child-free guests. Both hotels have conference facilities and both were very busy with conference guests at the time of our stay so this was very important. My only slight irritation was that it was difficult on some evenings for non-conference guests to secure reservations in some of the restaurants. Overall, a great experience.

Room Tip: Lake View rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Pros: Lazy River, lots of lounge chairs, fair to good poolside service, access to the Ritz next door, excellent gourmet dining, very clean, pretty views of Disney fireworks in the distance. Feels like a Disney resort without the Disney strictness. Very deluxe all around. Marriott Platinum members get upgrades here - we loved our HUGE 1 bedroom corner suite.

Cons: A bit pricey for Orlando, far from all the parks, shuttle to Universal but not Disney, you have to pay to park, you have to bring your own floats for the lazy river or pay double what they cost at Walgreens down the road, useless balconies that are too small, dangerous and therefore have no chairs.

Definitely recommend for family trips.

Room Tip: If you're not "kid people" stay at the Ritz next door, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exNYfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent ten days with our kids in this very nice hotel , we visited nearly all the parks did a lot of shopping and spent also quite some time at the pool.
First of all at arrival for a modest fee we got upgraded to a very nice suite with a normal room for the kids communicating with it which was fabulous. The concierge arranged us a very good restaurant every night and transport was by nice town cars located at the entrance with very courteous drivers since we didn't bother to rent a car. The bar was a great place with great sushi to unwind after a busy day
We really loved the hotel and our kids still talk of of it as the best holiday ever.

Room Tip: When offered an upgrade go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank umu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a wonderful time staying at the JW Marriott Grande Lakes. This property is also attached via walkway to the Ritz Carlton. When staying at one you get the use of both propoerties pools, which are both perfection. The staff at both hotels are trained to make your experience seamless and perfect and it certainly was. Will stay at no other property while in Orlando.

Room Tip: rooms facing the lazy river are wonderful. you can also see the fireworks at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I just returned from the magnificent JW Marriott Grande Lakes in Orlando and I am always amazed by this beautiful Hotel. I have visited the resort several times and I love to keep going back. It has so much to offer to everyone, specially their kids activities are fantastic, it is a kids oriented Hotel. The Lazy river is one of the main attractions plus several other pools. The gardens and beautiful lakes make a very nice and relaxing environment. The rooms are very well kept and they are very clean. Restaurants are fantastic but, high in prices. It is just a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Basart74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hubby and I decided to take the kids for a quick Thanksgiving getaway to Florida. We had Marriott points which was nice. They upgraded us to a Lake View room. Over all the Grande Lakes was a nice choice. It is a JW so it was nicer than your typical Marriott. However, the rooms were very small, two double beds, they allowed us to have a rollaway bed which made the room even smaller. Beds were very uncomfortable, housekeeping was inconsistent. We asked for extra towels and extra shampoo soap as they only had enough for two people and we had four. Housekeeping brought it up when asked for and the next day housekeeping took the extra towels out that were not used. Hmmmm. We were on the 26th floor which was really nice as we were able to see the fireworks and a great view of the amusement parks, however, the shower water turned off right in the middle of a shower. This happened the morning after we arrived and brought it to their attention. Maintenance came up and said he would adjust the water pressure. Hmmm, still happened the whole time we were there. I think it was because we were on the 26th floor, when I asked, they said that had nothing to do with it and no other complaints. Hmmm. ok...There is a lot to do at this hotel, the pool was big and had a winding lazy river, sand volleyball those carnival bikes, not sure of the name, canoeing, golfing, arcade and pool service and much more. We had our Thanksgiving dinner at Citrone. The food was excellent so many choices, and the desserts were to die for. The price however, is another story! It was worth it.

Be careful and look at your bill as they charged us for two valet, and something out of the mini fridge that we did not take. They adjusted it, but had we not check we would have paid for that. My hubby is a foosball wizard, and found a recreation staff member to play with. He ended up sending us a basket of goodies to our room. Do not know his name but he was very nice. He did not put his name on the card, it was from the recreation dept staff. This hotel is very large bring your walking shoes!!!!

Room Tip: High floor lake view to see the fireworks, however, keep in mind that your shower may turn off in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djbPennsyvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#37 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 4,268 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#34 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,478 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#46 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,408 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Orlando
#14 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#18 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing