We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Orlando”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #72 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 14th Sept- 29th Sept (15 nights).

We have stayed in many hotels in the Orlando area and i must say this is the best overall. Location is away from the crowds but still only 5 mins drive from Seaworld and I Drive.

The hotel was clean and had amazing facilities including the wonderful "Lazy River" pool. The staff were welcoming especially Maria M (the turn down service lady) who we left a couple of $ most nights, she always left a note to say thank you, on occassions we came back to our room and the radio had been left on with sweet relaxing music playing...along with some lovely milky chocolates.

At Breakfast Pearly and her colleague we always welcoming, always a smile and a little chat walking to our table. as was the chef who made eggs and pancakes... even Mickey Mouse ones! Breakfast was good and had lots of choices from cereal, to toast, to eggs bendict , fresh fruit, meats and cheese and and krispy creme do-nuts on tap!

We ate by the pool at lunchtime twice and any soft drinks you purchase re-fills are free the whole time you are at the pool, so $5 for all day soft drinks.

There are 2 jacuzzi spa pools, a couple of shallow pools for the little one's ample sun loungers, shade and towels. Laxzt river blow up rings are $7 each however people do leave them when they check out.....

The hotel is surrounded by a Greg Norman golf course and a nature reserve, lunch in the golf club was lovely, especailly the "Filet Sliders".... we didn't visit the Ritz Carlton while here so cannot tell you what that was like, but it looked lovely from our balcony which overlooked the pool and the golf course. We could also see Seaworld, Epcot, Disney Studios and in the far distance Cinderella's Castle at Magic Kingdom, we also got to see all the disney fireworks while standing on the balcony one evening. (room 21013)

Some evening's the bar area in the lobby was very full and noisy, this was down to convention attendees, but was not a problem. Free Wifi here too, along with a Deli, Starbucks and a couple of shops.

There is a coin laundry on the 3rd floor which is always good for us as we travel from the UK so need this facility.

Self parking is $18 a night or Valet $25.

Overall we loved this hotel, its location, the service, the room and the view.

Thank you JW Marriott.....

Room Tip: High floors have best view... ask for a in room fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stunwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,159 - 2,165 of 3,238 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a favorite location for business conferences. It is also one of the best locations to take your family. The Lazy River is the best of all the Marriott locations. It is like being in a tropical forest when you drift around under the lush vegetation. Activities for children are available and the adults are not left out (golf, tennis, spa).

The food is wonderful and the staff is outstanding.

Room Tip: If you are not up to walking a lot, you may want to ask for a room closer to the elevator. Some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MangoRita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I was at this resort for a convention and still had a wonderful time using all of the amenities at this resort. The pool was extraordinary with a very nice atmosphere just right fk r reading a book. Wait staff at the pool was above average as well. Matter of fact all of the service at the hotel was a 10. Not sure when I'll be back in Orlando but next time I am I will definitely try to stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Kids, 11 & 5, and I traveled with hubby for a work conference he had at the JW early September. We've stayed at the connecting Ritz the past 2 conferences, but they made the switch to the JW this year. When we first checked in, he was told his conference was in a block in the back of the hotel, but when we asked the front desk staff if we could have a room overlooking the pool so the kids could see Disney fireworks at night, they were nice enough to accommodate us. However, they did put us on the 4th floor so the fireworks view was pretty limited, but they did get to see a little. Couldn't complain though because, overlooking the lush palm trees, the winding lazy river and the golf course was way better than the parking lot!! The view definitely never got old. The room was very clean and had a modern look to it. The typical granite counters in the bathroom, large flat screen TV, etc. was in line with the standards of the JW Marriott.The balcony was nice for fresh air and we were able to leave the sliders open because it wasn't too hot. We would have liked 2 chairs to sit on, as we noticed a lot of people just sitting on towels or dragging out the room chair onto the balcony to sit on, which was a tight fit. The lobby itself was beautiful, not that I would expect any less. Everyone we came into contact with was very friendly and helpful. We basically had the pool/lazy river to ourselves as this doesn't seem like a very busy time as most kids are just starting school. The lazy river itself has declined from years past. It was full of leaves the entire time, which I understand with all the tall trees, but no one was ever cleaning it out. I would collect leaves from the drains and the pool everytime we went around, and I saw other people doing the same thing. In fact I overheard a woman saying "See honey, she's cleaning the pool out too, it's not just you." The water temperature was very disappointing, it was very COOL! On the second day my daughter asked a group of lifeguards who were gathered on the bridge chatting, if there was a way to turn up the temp and one girl said, "yes we can do that." No one moved from the chatting group and the temperature remained uncomfortably cool! I overheard MANY guests stating the same when they got in. One woman was very unhappy that 1 of the 2 hot tubs was just warm, not hot, so the only one that was actually hot was crowded because everyone was going to that one. The actual lazy river is becoming rather rusty. The over-sized chess court is falling apart and there were several missing pieces. Hubby had a work dinner one night and I found that I was very limited to dining choices with just kids. I would have liked something I could have just gone and gotten a simple burger with them. But I get it, we're at the JW, everything's more upscale, including all restaurants. But a more family oriented option would be nice. We took advantage of a few of the kids activities as well, but we were the only ones. My son LOVED WII night and the smore's night was a hit too! Overall, customer service is great and we enjoyed ourselves, but a warmer pool (Ritz pool was warmer, btw) and somewhere to be able to bring the kids to eat that's more family friendly would be great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, higher up, the better view of Epcot fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sumrtyme1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I treated my wife to a one night stay here for her Birthday. Our time was limited, but we really enjoyed our mini-getaway (we live in the area).

Upon check-in, we were impressed by the vaulted ceilings and beauty of the entrance. Very nice and ritzy feeling. We didn't have drinks in the lobby bar, but it looked like a good spot for a drink.

We had dinner at Primo, which was amazing and totally worth the trip. It was pricey, but for a special ocassion it was worth the splurge. We really enjoyed the freshness of the ingredients, and the cocktail/wine list was great. Overall, just a very memorable meal with great food and service. The next day we also checked out othe on-site organic garden that the restaurant uses, which was nice.

The room was nice overall. Had a spacious bathroom and everythin seemed very clean and newer. Doesn't have the little touches of a 5-star, but was a solid 4-star worthy room. We had room service for breakfast, which was enjoyable.

The grounds were beautiful! In the morning we checked out the pool and hot tub. The lazy river was a little cool (the sun doesn't hit it until later), but it was really nice! We swam a couple of laps in the river and really enjoyed the scenery. Definitely one of the best hotel pools I've ever been to. Would particularly be great for kids.

Overall, this was a good value for the price we paid. We really enjoyed ourselves, and felt a world away even though our home was close by. While the hotel clearly caters to families and conventioners, it provided us a nice escape for a night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nfriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed for a large convention and this property certainly lives up to the higher level expectations of the "JW" brand. Rooms are comfortable, quiet and up to date. Restaurants are high quality and service is very good.

I was particularly pleased to be able to have back to back to back customer meetings in the breakfast/lunch restaurant. We sometimes had just coffee and the staff was still very pleasant and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colocav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the JW for 5 days for a business conference and loved it! The people are so friendly and helpful in every aspect of the hotel, from the pool waitress to the store personnel. It's a beautiful property and we absolutely loved the lazy river pool. It's so much nicer than just a regular pool where you just bounce around in one area. We leisurely paddled down the "river" through bamboo trees, banana trees, and lush scenery. The grounds are beautiful. We also noticed the amazing smell in the lobby that greeted us whenever we walked through and like so many others inquired about it. They don't carry the fragrance to sell but we happened to find out that Bath and Body Works has a fragrance called black pepper and bergomet that smells almost exactly like it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiliman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 340 in Orlando
4,467 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#55 of 340 in Orlando
5,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#65 of 340 in Orlando
4,106 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#30 of 340 in Orlando
5,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#17 Green Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#29 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $225 - $624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury experience at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in Orlando, Florida, which sits in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to Walt Disney World and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing