We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING but not cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #73 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We booked this hotel as it was our honeymoon and so slashed out in a little luxury. The entrance lobby is nothing short of stunning and really set the standard for the rest of the hotel, which im pleased to say was just as impressive. Very clean and the staff could not do enough for you, incredibly polite, as we stayed for 2 weeks we got to now our cleaning lady and she would always leave us extra chocolate.

The swimming pool and lazy river are brilliant, you can buy a rubber ring to float around on for $7, but they dont mind if you take your own. Plenty of sun loungers surround the pool with staff regularly checking if you need anything. They provide towels for you as well. Also they are two hot spa's next to the pool.

There are plenty of restaurants to choose from all of which you can charge to your room (far to easy a trap to fall into, as we found out). All have excellent food and again the staff are fantastic.

Unfortunately there are a couple of negatives which is a real shame.
Firstly the charge for cark parking, its $18 per night before tax, which for the price you pay for the hotel in the first place is far to much.

When you go to the pool you have to walk through the lower lobby, which has an entrance to one of the restuarants so we regularly found ourself walking past large amounts of people dressed in our bathing suits.

This is largly a business hotel with many conferences going on and can often make it busy however still manages to be family friendly. The hotel has plenty of facilities including laundry, tea/coffee facilities in your room, tourist info centre and shops.

I recommend your have a car if you stay here as although it costs to park, it costs alot more for a taxi to International Drive.

As in the title the hotel is not for the budget holiday, you can easily spend $100 on room service alone for two adults, $20 for sandwiches and between £6-10 for a beer. We had a meal in one of the hotel restaurants for a 2 mains, 2 desserts and 2 drinks it came close to $170 (which we put on the room, again).

All in all this was an incredible hotel and we would stay again although we will resist the urge to charge so much to the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balconey, also lake view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,215)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,457 - 2,463 of 3,216 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2011

This place is amazing. Great staff, nice rooms and a fantastic pool for the kids. We were there as a family which was a little awkward when passing through in our bathing suits while the lobby was full of business people. Regardless, we will be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Average room size, no frills to match a $269 stay. Staff member walked into our room 2 nights in a row to turn down the bed without knocking.

Wifi limits you to room only, no point in wireless if you can't move.

Overall disappointing considering the reputation and prices

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajgallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Please keep in mind through this review that my stay was for business, so I did not get a chance to tour many of the vacation/leisure areas of the hotel..

Location:
Overall, the location is very convenient. It is just off I-4 on the same side of Orlando as Disney. It is just down the street (same exit) from SeaWorld, so it would be very convenient if you plan on visiting there. Because the JW shares a massive tract of land with the Ritz-Carlton, it is somewhat of a quiet getaway, not situated in a bustling metro environment. This makes for very easy traffic and parking.

Accommodations:
Upon check-in, I was offered an upgrade to a presidential suite for an additional $135. Alas, I declined (staying on business) and went to my standard-king. In all, the rooms are very up to date, very clean and very comfortable. Separate shower and tub. Desk, couch and chair. Comfortable bed and flat panel tv.

Property:
The property is massive and was definitely built with conferences and conventions in mind. Though the JW and Ritz are nearly a quarter-mile apart, they are connected via hallways and hallways of conference space, creating an air-conditioned walkway between the two hotels. There are lots of nice public areas and restaurants to choose from, though at night can get crowded because of the convention crowds. Though I did not use them, there are also nice areas such as a lazy river, pool and gardens. In walking by, and having stayed at other hotels in the area, these are first class facilities that were not crowded and looked very private and nice.

In all, I would welcome the opportunity to come back and stay again with family, as it is a beautiful, clean, safe resort choice.

Room Tip: For a small fee, you can upgrade to a presidential suite.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spade05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 9/11 - 9/14 for a NAPEO Convention. This was a really nice hotel, clean and well staffed. The bar tenders at the pool lounge, lobby lounge, Bogega and Citron were very friendly and even though they were very busy because of the 4 conventions going on, they got all the orders right, were timely and cheerful. The Ritz hotel is attached to JW via a breezeway, the security was very prompt - we browsed the 'competitors' vendor booths one evening as my husband was unable to do so during the conference and 3 security personnel promptly showed up and hung around until we left, not that I minded, we were just looking and they left us alone. Was very happy with the restaurant Citron. I have specific diet restrictions and they were able to create a tasty dish that was not on the menu that fit all my restrictions. The pool area is very large and has lots of room to spread out. There are pool servers for food and drinks. It was interesting that they charged $8 for the rafts to float down the lazy river. You do get to keep it when you leave, but it would be nice to have a check out or rental option. This hotel was close to the Millennia Mall, Ikea and great restaurants. We ate at Cafe Tu Tu Tango one night - it was super fun. The cab ride was $20 each way. I think most rooms have a balcony with sliding doors which open wide.

Room Tip: Choose a pool room, the view from the garden rooms overlooked a parking lot - at least ours did, it...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soxfanswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I had a beautiful weekend at this property. I found the staff very engaging. The hotel looked and smelled great. Such a pleasant fragrance in the hotel lobby. It was very refreshing. Had one of the most amazing meals in my life @ Primo's. The server Rebecca was so incredible and knowledgeable about every single detail on the menu and about the restaurant, and the SA Abigale was also very very kind. Loved the garden outside and the butterfly garden. The pool and lazy river area were immaculate. Loved just hanging out in the lobby bar, and had a great breakfast at Citron. JW Grande Lakes is a CLASS ACT! My guest room was very clean and had a great view. Don't waste your time or money staying anywhere else when visiting Orlando. I will go back again and again!

Room Tip: I asked for a balcony room pool view and it was provided.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pfdjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I've stayed here with my wife and young kids several times over the past 2 years, and it's become the most enjoyable part of visiting Orlando. It's a huge property with tons of amenities. It offers excellent dining and service is consistently good. It's nicely decorated and feels luxurious, but not stuffy. Rooms are comfortable and big. The location is great, since you're a short ride from most parks and attractions, but you're away from the traffic and chaos. Keep in mind is that your experience can vary wildly depending on time of year (Memorial Day has been the least enjoyable time to visit in my experience); when the hotel is close capacity it can get a little hectic (hard to find parking, lines at restaurants, pools full of people). In our 10 years visiting Orlando regularly, no other hotel has come close. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juanlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#26 of 340 in Orlando
4,408 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 340 in Orlando
5,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#62 of 340 in Orlando
4,062 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#16 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#17 Green Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#28 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $207 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing