We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Loved my stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #66 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mauritius
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Loved my stay there”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Its lovely hotel with great landscaping, very beautiful. It can picked for a family vacation, couple retreat, honeymoon or even crazy weekend with friend.

Its just a few miles from Orlando Universal Studio, Sea world and other great attractions

You can take up some fun water sports or indulge in Spa at the next door Ritz Carlton or just relax poolside and enjoy great views.

Loved the buffet and its variety.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    849
    266
    102
    66
See reviews for
1,123
502
76
969
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hotel is beautiful. Great location near Sea World and Universal. The pools/lazy river were so much fun. Also adjacent to the Ritz Carlton - and their spa is wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed using reward points and had a lake front double room for a girl's weekend. Everything was very clean and new looking. The hotel vibe was elegant without being stuffy or fussy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It is, however, worth the walk to the Ritz for breakfast. The food was ok on the breakfast buffet at the JW, but amazing at the Ritz..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booktek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed at the JW in September of 2010 and were sorely disappointed with the level of service. The management staff reached out to us and invited us back to give them a chance to show us that they are committed to service. We finally had the chance to allow this last month and stayed for two nights. Our room was nice and the facility's as nice as always. Being connected to the Ritz Carlton doesn't hurt, either. This time we notice an improved level of service. From the front desk, bell staff, and valet, to the servers at the J-Dub's restaurants (especially Cintron), the training seemed to up to the standards I would expect of the upscale Marriott property. This visit was truly what we expected of a fine four-star resort and we appreciated the invitation to help us change our minds. Thank you to the management for listening to their guests and obviously improving staff-training. We will return.

Room Tip: Request (or pay for) a pool view room. Relaxing on the (small) balcony overlooking a wonderful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todd_fix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here with family for conference. Pool amazing and family-friendly. King bed room with fold-out loveseat. Clean bathroom and nice toiletries provided. We had trouble getting someone to bring us a sheet for the sofa bed after my husband requested one, and had to call again while kids crying and tired. All staff members very pleasant so this was probably a fluke but it was annoying.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDMER0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Check in: It was a very busy weekend and staff reported hotel was at 70% occupancy. There was a very long line heading through half the lobby. Families milled about everywhere and it was a bit chaotic. Every desk appeared manned, there was an Elite desk not in use for Elite Guests, but rather was used first come first serve, despite having a sign. I asked later during the weekend and was told they don't use it. As someone who has earned Platinum status, it would be nice to be able to use that benefit at a very busy hotel. The check in staff was competent and expeditious although not overly friendly.

Lobby area: Grand, clean, and well kept, very luxurious with a large bar area directly ahead and a fountain in the middle. It is quite attractive. There is water flavored with citrus and lemonade available.

Rooms: We had a double room with a balcony overlooking the pool area which was great for the fireworks they had for Labor Day. No Elite upgrades as it was a resort property, which was understandable. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. Bathroom was very nice with a large soaking tub and separate walk in shower, very nice toiletries. Balcony was a little small, no furniture but nice to stand on.

Housekeeping: They did an excellent job, replacing the water bottles, straightening, tidying in the bathrooms, beyond just changing linens really it was above and beyond.

Pool and Grounds: Pool area was excellent, staff were constantly on hand to pick up debris, security patrolled for non guests, there was ice cold water available in coolers which was wonderful. Plentiful pool towels were available and in the area that sells floats they will blow up the float you bring from home with their compressor. Bring a sharpie and decorate it creatively, or it will walk away, don't just put your name on it. Staff were also good about removing used towels off chairs so there were more available. The landscaping is beautiful.

Dining: Starbucks on property, Cafe Bodega has good breakfast sandwiches, had the buffet at Cafe Citron with three other families and kids one night and the staff was quite inattentive. Food was decent for buffet, the desserts were very good though. We had children with us so did not try any of the fine dining options. Quench at the pool had pretty good food, the Marriott burger and the taco salad were tasty. Kids chx fingers were big enough to share for elementary aged and sub fries for the fruit, it's a huge portion. Service is quite slow though at all restaurants.

Staff: This is where this resort does not earn the fifth star. I was just not really wowed by the staff. Service was very slow at most of the restaurants and there were very few big smiles. Staff just seemed worn out, maybe because it is a resort and they have to deal with so many families. It bummed me out though, since I'm usually a business traveler and was looking forward to relaxing with good service at a resort for a change. The JW Indy has much better service. The two bright spots were the valet who packed up our car and the bellman who unpacked us, otherwise service was unremarkable.

Pros: Pool area, bathroom in room, great family activities, toiletries, housekeeping, valet and bell staff
Cons: No concierge/exec lounge, unremarkable staff generally, slow service in restaurants, check in process

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a view of the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSpike34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed at the JW this past summer and it is just gorgeous! Everything is so clean and beautiful! Layed out at the pool at JW and it was very crowded but a lot of fun, the next day we went and layed out at the Ritz pool and it was much quieter and easier to find chairs. All around its an amazing resort!! If you want top of the line in Orlando stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KOWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 337 in Orlando
4,188 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#58 of 337 in Orlando
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#50 of 337 in Orlando
5,030 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#16 Green Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#26 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing