We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh. The pool/lazy river was nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #70 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Meh. The pool/lazy river was nice.”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Admittedly, I'm a Marriott girl. But I was unimpressed here. Our first impression was not a good one, due to poor signage and difficulty with the parking areas (the gate(s) wouldn't work on more than one occasion, and apparently we weren't the only ones with issues, as they had obviously been rammed through by others!) That aside, the bellstaff was pleasant and welcoming. I went to the front desk area, where there were 4 or 5 ppl behind the desk; there was one other guest there, yet none of the other staff even looked up or acknowledged the fact that I was standing there. I'd say I stood there for about 3 minutes before someone acknowledged my presence. The public areas and rooms were beautifully decorated and clean. However, 2 DOUBLE beds instead of 2 queens?! At a JW???? Really? And not very comfortable double beds, at that. Even my kids complained about the bed size and comfort, and they never complain about beds. The pool/lazy river areas were absolutely gorgeous, though we arrived in the afternoon the first day, and there was quite a bit of trash and towels everywhere, with no one seeming to be around cleaning up. There were plenty of treed, shady areas, as well as sunny areas and umbrellas.
This is a nice hotel, don't get me wrong...but it's not a "complete package". It didn't seem like a JW. The front desk staff didn't seem genuinely welcoming, nor did the girl at the pool bar. They kept screwing things up (charges that weren't ours, keys that wouldn't work for parking, etc). I was glad we were only there for 2 nights. Meh.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davenlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,864
    872
    272
    108
    71
See reviews for
1,157
516
76
999
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TheRanj
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We went to this hotel last fall for a conference and was probably one of the best stays we've ever had at a hotel.

Everything about this hotel speaks elegance as soon as you walk in from the lobby, rooms, food, and other amenities. The pool at this hotel is probably the best I've ever been to outside of the private pools in Vegas...it was a little windy this time of year though but still warm and hit the pool during lunch/after our conference sessions. We switched hotels after the conference to be on-site at Universal, but would highly recommend this hotel although I'm sure it is quite pricey.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Fl.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I just stayed for one night - but it was a great night! We love the pool, and enjoyed sitting out by the pool, drinking margaritas and enjoying the lazy river. We have kids, but this was a "just us" trip, but we're great at tuning out the sounds of kids when they aren't ours. ha. If you don't want to be around a lot of noise, or kids, this might not be the hotel for you. The rooms are nice, and there is a good variety of hotel restaurants, bars, etc... especially since this hotel is connected to a Ritz-Carlton. (So you have the use of restaurants/bars at both hotels.)
Service was slow at the JW pool, whereas it isn't at the Ritz-Carlton pool, so you just have to decide if paying more to stay at the RC is worth it to you. As for us on this particular trip, we didn't mind waiting for our drinks. (In fact, we never could get the attention of a waiter out at the pool, so we always had to get up to get our own drinks, whereas when we have stayed at the Ritz-Carlton, the wait staff was always on it!)
One down side to the JW is that the restaurants close early. We went to dine at Primo on a Saturday night a few minutes before 10PM and they wouldn't sit us as they were about to close. We ran to the other restaurant at the JW, and they too wouldnt let us sit down b/c they were about to close. They encouraged us to order take out, and take it to the lobby bar to eat. We did (and they threw in free cookies which was nice) but then the servers at the bar looked down on us for bringing in our own food, and wouldn't wait on us to bring us drinks. (We wanted to order wine to eat with dinner.) When we were done with our food, I was finally able to get the waitress to take my drink order and I apologized for being rude and bringing in food from the restaurant, but explained that is what the restaurant told us to do. She was surprised by this, as she said we could have just ordered food from her. We wish we knew this! Oh well - nonetheless, the JW is a nice hotel, great pool, and close to malls/shopping/theme parks if you want that sort of thing. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Be aware of the spotty service, and the woman near the elevators selling timeshares. Eeek! (Why hotels do this is beyond me?) :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AXO1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights for a company meeting. The J.W. Marriot shares its grounds with the Ritz Carlton and is a huge compound. The place is quite beautiful with golf club, pool, spa, and a few restaurants. The rooms are a nice size and are comfortable. However, the walls are extremely thin and you can hear everything from the rooms next door and on top of you. Also, there is no ventilation in the bathroom, so if you take a "warm" shower and build up steam, its going to go straight into your room when you open the door leaving everything a bit damp. Just what you need in combination with Florida humidity.
Good sushi bar in the lobby- though look for Gregory to be your waiter. The girls, while beautiful, don't get your order right. The italian restaurant is not quite Italian- its more new american.. The Ritz Golf Club house has a pretty good restaurant. If you want to venture off "campus" do NOT ask the staff for assistance with places to eat. A few of us wanted to get out for lunch and we asked for a nice place where we could eat and have a drink and our only recommendations were Friday's, Applebees, and Olive Garden, until a manager over heard the conversation and came over and suggested that we may want "pretty food" instead...
Overall, a pretty place, beautiful grounds, full amenities. But I would have expected a little more considering it shares everything with a Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minx1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I've had to go to this Marriott several times for company events. The last time I was there was for a girls weekend getaway. The location of this hotel is a little out there. This is on the fringe of some of the recent development so there is not a lot immediately around it. It is very convenient from the airport. I have stayed at the ritz next door and this hotel is much larger, but still has a lot too offer. They charge you for parking but if you stay at a 4 star+ resort that is typical. The ritz carlton spa is actually located in between the 2 properties. You take the long walkway where the convention area is. The ritz spa is fantastic. I would highly recommend. If you don't want to get a treatment you can pay for a day pass. The spa actually has it's own pool, which is very serene. You can order food and drinks there. The pool at the JW is a bit chaotic. The lazy river is fun, but the pool drink service is a bit slow and inconsistent. The rooms at the JW are some of the nicest I have experienced at a Marriott property. It is almost at a ritz level. The bathroom is very large and well appointed with a seperate shower and tub. We had a balcony overlooking the pool which was nice. In regards to food, normans at the ritz (again, you can get to the ritz by walking through the convention space) is excellent....expensive...but excellent. The lobby bar at the JW has a great sushi selection and was pretty good. We enjoyed having cocktails and eating sushi for dinner one night rather than going to one of the restaurants. This is a very nice property that has access to the ritz for some other dining and spa/recreational options. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ufrc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel. The lazy river is amazing. The food and service is top notch. We will absolutely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I am here, right now, along with my spouse who is attending an educational conference. First, let me say that Marriott needs an updated, user friendly entrance to Grande Lakes. If you are traveling late in the evening, the signs are difficult to see, and it is easy to make a wrong turn into the self-parking area....which will cost you $14.00 per day. Next, if you park at the door to check-in, be prepared to fight off the vultures that want to treat you as if you are severely handicapped....and that you have $$ to blow. We had one bag, and a kid at the door insisted he carry it to the room.....just for a few bucks. Third, the reservation we made months prior to the trip was incorrect. Even with the print-out, which included full-payment and the reservation number, we were told that the reservation was not in our name; it was keyed in as someone else's room. Therefore, we went from a Deluxe, two-bed queen room, looking over the lakes, to a Standard, king bed, looking at the entrance over-hang and the self-service parking lot. Let me continue....there are no vending machines.....anywhere. Only ice machines on each floor. The food at lunch today was over-priced: Caesar chicken salad: $14 and a Cuban sandwich $14. Wow......that's amost the price of a night at Carrabba's. Anyway, I digress......The rooms: Although the rooms look to be updated, they are over-crowded with furniture (king bed, two night stands, armoire (with TV and mini-bar), full-sized desk and rolling chair, a love seat and matching chair, and a coffee table.....all crammed in to 400 sq. ft. If you are looking for pretension, this is your place. However, if you are representive of 95% of the average citizen, find another hotel - one that is cheaper and allows you your own space. When my better half returns from the conference, he wants to go to the fitness room to get in the workout we missed yesterday. We'll surely have to stop at the ATM, first. Misersable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NNSEJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 339 in Orlando
4,339 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#53 of 339 in Orlando
5,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#60 of 339 in Orlando
4,036 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
6.0 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#16 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#17 Green Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#27 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing