We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it! Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #198 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Fort Erie, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Loved it! Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2005

Stayed in a 3 bedroom villa at westgate lakes resort and spa April 9-16 2005. We found the Staff to be outstanding! They were very helpful and Friendly. When we arrived our villa was not ready, and we did not expect it to be ready we were hours early due to our flight, but they kept our luggage for us so we could have room in our rental car to go shopping. They asked my husband for our cell phone number and called us while we were shopping to tell us the villa was ready 3 hours earlier than we expected. A staff member then unloaded our car for us, first he carried in all the shopping bags then went to the main check-in and brought us our luggage right to our villa. We found our villa to be very clean and well equipped. Our fridge even had an ice maker in it so we had plenty of ice always. We stayed in the 2000 building and had no problems with noise.
This was our first vacation in Orlando and the staff was very helpful with suggestions on what to do and see in the area. I really loved this place. We found the pools and the grounds to be very clean and well kept. Over all I would give the resort a 10 and the wonderful staff a 15+

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CanadiansFortErie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,812
    1,484
    761
    533
    773
See reviews for
2,840
1,037
69
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,025)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2005

We purchased a timeshare here in 2000 and return once or twice a year to this resort -sometimes we have a 2 bedroomed apartment, other times a studio. On the plus side we have always found the rooms to be clean, well furnished and equipped and any maintainance problems are quickly sorted out. We purchased an apartment overlooking the lake and the view is fabulous. There's loads to do here if you stay on the complex. On the negative side don't expect great customer service from the reception staff or the call centre - you won't get it. Stay well away from the sales team - even if you already own at the Lakes they will try to sell you a bigger apartment and they are VERY pushy. We normally stay here at the end of November and the resort is quite quiet, other times like last week it's packed which does mean the pools etc are busy. If you stay here be sure to ask for the Westgate Hospitality savings card - it will get you great discounts in shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank linpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metter, Ga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2005

I have to admit after reading some of the bad reviews I was a little skeptical about staying here. I had told my husband about previous comments about roaches, poor customer service, and cleanliness of the room. First of all the reviews scared me of staying last year which is when I booked the room, I had a whole year to take it. I finally decided to go, and when we first arrived they were real nice-I was supposed to have at least $50.00 deposit on my credit card or I was going to have to give a deposit of $200.00- I had neither, but they let me slide, but they had to turn the phones off including local calls, which was fine with me. We stayed in a 2bd/2bath condo, it was AWESOME, building 2600. In the master bedroom there was a King size bed, 27" tv, chair, jacuzzi, shower, toilet, closet, the other bedroom had two double beds, closet, and door adjecent to bathroom, living room had a nice leather sofa, big screen tv, dvd, stereo, dinning room, full size kitchen, fridge, micro, stove, dishwasher, dishes, flatware, cooking utensils, pots and pans, washer dryer, and the screened patio was awesome at night you could see the fireworks from disney.

The pool was heated so we could swim late, but if you get some of that water in your mouth it was good awful. And the prices at the market place were three times as high as at a regular grocery store, which is only a couple of miles out of the resort on Sand Lake Rd.

The sales presentation representative was extremely nice and casual.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank turkeymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2005

You can't beat the price. I paid $219.00 for 4 days 3 nights and two free Walt Disney passes at the Westgate villas. The room was clean and it looked just like the picture I saw on the internet. I had no problem checking in, very quickly: however, there is a 90 min mandatory sales presentation that you have to attend. If you do not attend this presentation, you will be charged an additional $100.00 per night at the end of your stay. TALK ABOUT PRESSURE. This sales presentation is to try to get you to buy into the Westgate timeshare program, and they do not give up. They will pressure you all morning to try to get you to buy into this lousy program. I said “no” several times, but they kept sending different sales agents. This 90 min sales presentation turned into 3 hours of pressure.
My opinion of Westgate timeshare is buyers beware. Don’t buy into it, it ----

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2005

Just returned from an 8 day stay in Orlando at Westgate Lakes Resort. I cannot understand all the negative reviews here. We had the two bedroom condo and loved it. It slept 8 people comfortable. Sure we had no maid service daily but its not a motel. If you need towels or anything else, it is there within minutes. My kids loved the resort. I wasted money on theme park tickets because they would rather stay at the resort and enjoy the activities they offer. They met many new friends from everywhere. I plan on buying into this resort. Me and my family enjoyed it that much.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tmeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2005

I booked Westgate Lakes through Hotwire for 7 nights at $56 p/night from March 25-April 1. I read the reviews online here and other places and was petrified with all the bad reviews. We stayed in a studio condo overlooking the lake with my family of 5 and had an outstanding time. My 6 & 8 year old slept on the pullout couch and my 2 year old slept in the huge King sized bed with my wife and I.
We checked in early at noon after a 17 hour road trip. They marked our reservations as "hotwire" which put us in express check in with no offers for a timeshare pitch. They also easily waived the $5 charity charge that I read about. It is a condo and not a hotel, don't expect daily maidservice, but we did get clean towels each day. The room was beautiful, the view from the 1600 building was great, it was quiet in our corner unit, parking was never an issue in our lot even getting home after midnight a couple nights, the pool area was crowded but pleasant, the staff was courteous and we had a great time.
We have stayed in Disney resorts and other hotels over Spring Breaks in Orlando the past few years and Westgate was by far the best value we've had for the $. The fridge and microwave helped us save $ on food and the whirlpool tub was used by my wife and kids each day to recover from long days at the park. Don't be scared away, its a great deal if you go the Hotwire route w/ out the sales pitch.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cmarsh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2005

We recently stayed in Westgate Lake resort and spa from March 27 to April 1st. I read many bad reviews but I think people are forgetting this is a condominium and not a hotel. Our room was very clean when we arrived. We had the studio condo. It had a king size bed with a pull out sofa, screened in patio, kitchenette and large bathroom. Yes, we had to listen to the timeshare sales pitch but it was well worth it. The timeshare presentation was very good and we are still considering buying one. We did not buy at the time but did lock in a price so we can think about it.
They took us on a tour of the 2 bedroom condo and we loved it. We plan to spend many more vacations in Orlando and I would like to go back to Westgate but this time stay in a 2 BR/2BA condo. The room was decorated in what I would call a south Florida/aqua blue/green decor. The bathroom was very large. It had a jacuzzi tub and a separate glass enclosed shower. This was a room to itself. It was not in the room with the bed and sofa. You need to remember this is a condo not a hotel so they are not going to make your bed and clean you room everyday. When we needed more towels we called housekeeping and they delivered them wihtin 15 minutes. We gave them a bag of dirty towels and they took them
away at the same time. We were near one swimming pool that overlooked the lake and it was very nice and peaceful at night. The kids did swim late into the night but we were far enough away that it did not bother us. We came in about 9 or 10 everynight and did not have any problems with parking.
They sold tickets to Disney parks, Universal Parks and Sea World in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RazorbackSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Avanti International Resort
10.0 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#25 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at SeaWorld
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
4.9 mi away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819-8007
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#53 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing