We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westgate Lakes is as good as it gets.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #203 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed March 11, 2005

We just returned from 2 weeks of pure R&R at Westgate Lakes. We were there from Feb 20th thru March 6, 2005. We stayed in bldg 600 facing the Citrus Breeze pool. We have been going there for the past 4 years and can’t wait to go back in 2006 for our 5th year in a row.

One needs to take the negative reviews here with a grain of salt as the old saying goes. I don’t know if some people have unrealistic expectations or what but our experience there has been and continues to be excellent. We stayed in a 3BR unit. When we needed maintenance issues to be addressed they were addressed quickly (much faster than I could have had them addressed if back home). When we needed towels, we called and they were delivered to our unit in a few minutes. The staff was simply phonominal. When we wanted to have our bed linens changed in the middle of the week, they did so courteously and without charge. We change bed linens every week back home so twice in a week at Westgate Lakes was a pleasant experience for us.

In reading prior perceived negative posts I wondered if people were referring to the same place. There are several Westgate resorts in Orlando. I can’t speak for any but Westgate Lakes where we have been staying the past 4 years at the end of Feb and beginning of March. Our family loves it so we are planning on staying 3 weeks in 2006.

I have engaged many people (both owners and non-owners) at poolside over a drink and I have yet to encounter 1 person that had something negative to say about Westgate Lakes. When you add into the decision making process its location, this place is hard to beat. It is located geographically in the middle of the three major theme parks, Disney, Sea World and Universal. We watched Disney’s Magic Kingdom’s evening fireworks from the privacy of our screened lanaii. That is as excellent an Orlando location as one can ask for.

In summary, I would advise anyone planning on going to Westgate Lakes to take the negative reviews found here with a grain of salt so as to speak and make up your own minds. If all reviews were negative, that would be another story. It appears many people enjoy themselves there and others don’t. Maybe some people have unrealistic expectations which can’t be met. I don’t know. My advice is to make up your own mind. As for me and my family, we say if you choose to bypass staying at Westgate Lakes, you are missing out on a positive experience and making more room for us when we go there again next February. My entire family can’t wait till 2006 for another memorable R&R experience away from New England’s harsh February cold weather.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
48  Thank frencheinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,171 - 4,177 of 5,810 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2005

After reading reviews from TripAdvisor, we were a bit leery of the resort. Unlike others, we booked directly on the resort's website and got a good AAA rate for a 2 bedroom unit. We were astonished at the size, it was literally a 2 bedroom condo. Big jacuzzi in the bedroom, everything was clean and functional. Living room had a large leather sofa and a 52" HDTV, and a full sound and video system for viewing DVD's (bring your own as they are expensive to rent). Also had a full size kitchen and washer/dryer, so no need to overpack. There was limited maid service, beds made and clean towels, but that was it. We did go on the "tour" and it was high pressure and 3-1/2 hours, not 90 minutes as promised. We did receive 3 tickets for the Pirates dinner show for our time. We didn't buy. Location to Disney/Sea World/Universal, I-Drive can't be beat. Only other downsides were parking, especially after dinner hours and the lack of sidewalks in many areas. If we could get a similar rate in the future, we would definitely book again, since our "villa" was far superior to a similarly priced hotel room.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2005

Just got back from three nights here, booked for $60 through hotwire.

The Good - asked for a room far from interstate with a view, were put in the last building overlooking the lake. Good thing, since a lot of rooms seemed to overlook the parking lot. Also the entire facility is non-smoking, the room was clean with a little jacuzzi tub.

The Bad - no housekeeping service the entire time we were there, which we were not told about so my husband had thrown the towels on the floor thinking they would get swapped out. I asked about this at check-out and apparently you have to call for service. Paper thin walls, could hear our neighbors partying past 1:00 a.m. Also parking was bad, we came back late a couple times and people were parked in fire lanes.

The worst though was the aggressive nature of the time-share sales, at check-in we were told to go see a woman at a desk about how to get to our building, when there was a big map right in front of us. When she realized we weren't coming over to see her - she ran over and tried to push us into coming to free breakfast buffet for a "tour." We had to say no several times. I felt sorry for the people getting golf carted around and raked over the sales coals in plain site in the lobby.

The Ugly Duckling - a big drawback to staying on the lake was this psychotic duck that starting quacking nonstop around 6:30 a.m., we had to get up and put tissues in our ears.

Overall - decent, not a disaster but I probably won't go back.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank KOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at Westgate the weekend of February18th 2005. I booked the room through Hotwire for only $60.00 a night. We were very pleased with our room. It was a small condo with a huge balcony overlooking the lake. The bathroom was huge with its own whirlpool garden tub. We were asked at check-in if we wanted to take the tour, but we declined and no one ever asked again. The resort was clean, the people were friendly and there are several pools, as well as, several activities throughout. The only downfall was parking late night. We enjoyed this resort and would book another vacation here.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank coachmonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2005

If you want to stay in a beautiful suite with lots of space, then by all means stay at the Westgate. Just don't go on the timeshare tour. It's just not worth it.
My husband and I were very impressed with the grounds and suites of Westgate Lakes...until we took the tour and listened to the timeshare hardsell. They promise you a buffet breakfast, free tickets, and only 90 minutes of your time. So we figured why not. What we got was 1 free ticket, a lame breakfast of eggs and canned fruit salad (that unbeknowst to me you had to eat with your "tour guide" and almost 3 HOURS of our time.
All of that culminating into a hard sell by the sales manager trying to lay a guilt trip because my husband telling the guy that he wouldn't buy anything without seeing legal paperwork. The sales manager became so rude that it ruined my day.
If that's the way Westgate thinks it can gain timeshare owners than I think we'll pass.
By the way, we did see the flaws at Westgate. The showers were cold and the music by the pool too loud at night. The music runs to 11:00 at night whether anyones there or not. Get a suite away from the pool if you like quiet nights.
Westgate's a nice place to visit, but I sure wouldn't want to timeshare there!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank 55pamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kentucky
19
Reviewed March 1, 2005

My husband I went to Westgate Lakes two years ago on a promotional deal and had not planned on buying into a timeshare. Once we arrived, the accomodations were excellent, everything was available on sight and the salesman was terrific. We enjoyed our first full week last year and it was wonderful to not have to worry about accomadations. All we had to do was arrive and enjoy ourselves. It is like a home away from home. If you like Florida, you will love Westgate and Orlando!

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2005

Great place do not believe what you read. Went in December for Christmas with my kids.... was very nice. I was afraid to go as well because I read the reviews after I booked....not to worry! Very clean and people are fine.

6  Thank pjr959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
10 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#91 of 340 in Orlando
3,499 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avanti International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rosen Inn at Pointe Orlando
1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#33 of 340 in Orlando
6,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Address: 9500 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#54 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $100 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful lakefront Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa lies near world-class theme parks (complimentary shuttle service is available). Onsite amenities include seven outdoor heated pools and hot tubs, lakeside marina, Drafts Sports Bar & Grill and world-class Serenity Spa by Westgate. Enjoy your favorite cocktail at one of three poolside bars. Choose from a variety of accommodations ranging from studios to spacious four-bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing