We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a place to avoid -Watch out for extra charges to your bill!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #202 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
A TripAdvisor Member
“a place to avoid -Watch out for extra charges to your bill!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2004

I will definitely not return here. Everybody has their hand out for gratuities... while providing substandard service. Business travelers beware - this is definitely not set up for you (i.e. pricey phone calls, no internet available, restaurant opens too late if you have an early start at the convention center). Be firm and walk away if pressured for timeshare pitch.
****WATCH YOUR BILL!!! A $5.00 "voluntary donation" was tacked onto my bill without asking me or advising me it was there. I didn't notice it until after I returned home - and had to wait over 20 minutes to get through to someone who could address this unethical (and perhaps illegal) business practice. It was only after I threatened to have American Express withhold the entire payment that they relented and removed the "voluntary donation" I didn't even notice was there.
****Stay here at your own risk - they are out to get every penny from you they can. If they can't get it from you outright they will try to sneak the charges in on your bill. The barbecue at the restaurant was the only redeeming feature.

Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2015
Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,825
    1,499
    769
    539
    785
See reviews for
2,869
1,053
70
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,036)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2004

I just read a terrible review of Westgate Lakes Resort. I own a timeshare there and have never been disappointed with them. We have never had any problems with our room.

Their security has always been great so I do not know what this person was talking about that complained about kids overrunning the grounds. Those kids must have had rooms to be allowed on the property. If they are high school students then they should have been there with their parents. They could not sneak in.

The staff at Westgate has always been very courteous and have immediately responded to our needs, no matter what. I can remember a time when we locked ourselves out of our room and the security department came to let us in and were apologizing to us because it took them 5 minutes to get there to help us!!!!!

It has been a year since we have been to Westgate Lakes but I cannot see that their policies have changed so much that they allowed this to happen.

I hope that this bad review would not discouraged anyone from staying st Westgate Lakes. In my opinion, it is truly a family vcacation spot. One that would provide a lifetime of memories.

  • Stayed November 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2015
Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2004

I stayed here for two nights from 10/1/04-10/3/04. My main complaint about this property is regarding an incident that took place on the second night. We returned from Horror Nights around 1am to find a line of cars backed up onto the main road waiting to enter the complex. We proceeded further down to another entrance and doubled back to get to our building. We came back to find the streets overrun with local high school students there for a post-homecoming party. The 150+ kids proceeded to honk horns, blare music, scream curse words, and go joyriding with Westgate Lakes golf carts. I was appalled by the behavior of these students and that this "resort" allowed the commotion to go for over 2 hours. The situation eventually escalated into a fistfight, shortly after which Orange County Deputies arrived on the scene. I called down to the front desk once about an hour into the commotion and a woman who sounded half-asleep answered and said that security was working on the problem, although offered no apology for the noise. I sat on the balcony and watched the kids run the streets and never saw a single security guard approach. It was obvious the staff had lost control of the grounds and the police should've been called out much sooner. Shortly after I called the front desk the fire alarm to our building went off (no strobes on the fire alarms, so if you're hard of hearing, stay away from this place). Luckily it only sounded for about a minute before turning off. Around 3:15am the kids started to dissipate and those remaining were told by police to return to their rooms or go to jail. In light of these events, I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere, especially if you will be there for a family vacation. It was truly shocking to witness first-hand the negligence of this resort in its inability to control its grounds. Westgate Lakes has security gates and a guard in front, so the kids should have been denied admittance after it was obvious many were entering who weren't even guests. There were also numerous problems with the room, which I won't go into detail with since they pale in significance to the goings-on outside the rooms.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2015
Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2004

It took forever to check in (there was no one in front of us either). We first got stopped when we came into the lobby by a lady that didn't speak English too well. She had a list of the guests checking in and then sent us to the first desk. They did some things on the computer and then sent us to the registration desk. This part took forever, the lady kept typing on her computer (took at least 20 minutes). She finally gave us our keys and told us how to get to our room.
The room was decorated very brightly. Bright green bed spread and pink walls. The jacuzzi in the bathroom was a nice added ammenity. Also the screened in porch with a great view of the lake.
We only had the efficiency and the other room joining was rented out to about 20 people. We woke up around midnight with our room smelling like garlic and loud weird music coming from next door. After a few knocks on the wall it stopped for a little bit but started back up soon after.
Parking is a problem if you arrive after 4. You can end up parking very far from your room. The gift store is very pricey there too.
We ended up checking out after the 2nd night even though the reservation was for a week. The registration desk didn't even say anything about us checking out early or ask any questions. All they said was it's all done. We thought we would try the breakfast before leaving. That end of the resort looked horrible. It was pretty bad that the sales office for the timeshare is in that area too. When we walked in, before they said hello, they asked if we were there for the owners free breakfast. We weren't (thank goodness). We had the $10 breakfast buffett, and watched the sorry fellows that bought the timeshare. The sales guys were hovering over them at the breakfast. The food was horrible too. Definately won't go back to that resort.

Helpful?
11 Thank Cmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2015
Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2004

What a HUGE disappointment. We visited Westgate three years ago and took advantage of the free Magic Kingdom tickets in exchange for a "90 minute" timeshare sales pitch which ended up being closer to three hours. We didn't buy a timeshare but we did purchase a one week return stay to be used in three years. I don't know what happened to this place but we returned this August and it was a total DUMP!! Let me repeat, DUMP!!! The room was very, very dirty and not well maintained at all. Our view was of a pile of dirt across the street. The pool was okay, but the constant thump of Rap music was a total turnoff. The staff are not friendly or pleasant and the wait to check in was unacceptable. We will never stay here again. For what we paid, we could have stayed at a Disney resort which is what we'll do from now on. Save your money and don't stay in this trashy place.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2015
Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2004

Our room was nice, but the staff were extremely rude, they refused to call us a cab unless it was their own which was extremely expensive, and the driver hounded you for a tip.... We almost missed out flight home because they were so unhelpful.. Nothing but a timeshare scam... DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!!

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2015
Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2004

Although we were a little worried after reading the reviews, we had an amazing time at Westgate. The facilities were excellent. Our room included a screened in porch that overlooked the lake. We spent mornings here having our breakfast. We also had a beautiful and very large jacuzzi in our bedroom, a full kitchen, large screen T.V. and much more. We also made good use of the lovely pools, and took many strolls around the lake path ways.
We found the staff to be both efficient and friendly. The location is excellent, only a few minutes from Disney and Universal Studios. We found the price very reasonable for what we got and would definately stay there again.

Helpful?
4 Thank HelenTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2015
Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Avanti International Resort
10.0 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#23 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
4.9 mi away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
1.9 mi away
Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819-8007
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#53 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing