We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beware of sales rep JOHN [--]!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #196 of 334 Hotels in Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beware of sales rep JOHN [--]!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just going to come out and be upfront about this resort...skip the 90 min presentation because it's all a scam...the continental breakfast consist of canned tropical fruit, boxed pastries, something that looks like scrambled egg fluff and it think they were sausage links the size of hot dogs??? Ok enough about the food back to the rep, I guess NO is his trigger word because he went from being a nice guy to a maniac in a matter of seconds!!! He initially told us he was going cold turkey off coffee but after being threatened with being escorted from the property because we didn't want to buy another property (already own a newly built resort week close to home) I am thinking it was more than coffee he was missing....my bf asked for a manager because it was well over the 90 mins and we just wanted to end it get our "freebies" and be on our way, JOHN [--] told us no and he'd be back in 15 mins when we got ourselves together lol... He also told me I wasn't going to dictate the presentation because I said I would sign the paperwork to decline the sale because we were done...my bf found what we thought was a manager but he was yet another sales person wow!!! The resort was nice for the most part if you can get pass the musty smell and old outdated carpet...our air was working fine up until the last 2 days but JOHN [--] did threaten to take some of our amenities because in his words "we get rated" after the presentation so maybe he pulled the plug on our air lol...my bf is a master electrician and HVCA certified he told the maintenance guy the problem but all we kept hearing was he fixed it and give it a few hours to cool (mind you it was 97 outside)...the bed was comfy we had a decent view except the night the teens wanted to leave one of the pools to have sex on the little ship over at the golf course for about an hour we would have called security but we saw several ride by but that's all they do is ride by... The trash situation was a mess this was the first resort I've been to where they keep trash under the stairs then they wonder why they have raccoons...JOHN [--] thought that having baby raccoons was cool because when we were in a model condo he saw one and invited us out to look at it we declined because it could have been rabid and where there's a baby there's usually a mother and I wasn't trying to possibly confront a rabid mother raccoon!!! In closing skip the presentation it's not worth it and ask for newly renovated rooms but bring plug ins and some Febreze...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MzH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we now have to offer.
Best regards,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,701
    1,396
    703
    497
    722
See reviews for
2,673
955
64
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (973)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just returned after a week long vacation. I had some reservations about going after reading some of the reviews, but there was nothing else available within our timeshare exchange for the time available. We decided to risk it. As many writers have indicated, the rooms need to have the décor updated. The rooms were large and we had clean towels, linens and were not bothered with time share sales. They asked when we checked in and my husband said yes, but I declined to go so we canceled with no issues. There were plenty of pots, pans, dishes with detergent, dishwasher detergent. We requested an upper level room overlooking the lake so we could see the fireworks at Disney World. We weren't disappointed.

We had some issues with the stove burners, DVD player and the safe, but the staff was very attentive and came to address these concerns in a timely manner. The elevator was very slow and we took the stairs most days. The housekeeping staff seemed to be using the elevators bringing their carts up & down. The golf carts were often going fast through the parking lots and the complex so we had to be watchful for them especially with small children.

We used the pool and found it to be clean and observed staff using a skimmer and vacuum to remove any debris from the pool. At night the pool was filled with teenagers, but the pool closed at 11:00 so it didn't bother us. A safety concern was noted when a thunderstorm approached and it was quite awhile before security closed the pool. When thunder can be heard and lightning seen, a pool should be closed. We have to remember that not everyone uses appropriate judgment about exiting a pool.

Westgate seems to be trying to run this property as a resort and as a hotel. Management needs to decide what it is going to be. A resort/ timeshare should offer all guests, regardless of whether the are owners there or not, the benefits of the resort, (i.e. pedal boats, fishing poles, etc. and activities) without a fee.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your travel experience at the Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa, with others here on TripAdvisor.

Our goal with TripAdvisor is to create a safe and open line of communication between owners, guests, and Westgate Resorts.

We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your unit and that any issues were able to be addressed by our staff in a timely manner.

Our objective is to provide all guests with superior service and accommodations.

Thank you again for your helpful suggestions on ways to improve our resort.

Sincerely,
Katrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonaire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We booked a studio due to the YBOA rate & it was the best year that I can remember. I was able to choose a room overlooking the pool; 1400 bldg. near the store. There was ample parking in front of the store... Crossing the street to get to the building was a hassle. We walked the grounds, played at the arcade, paddle boating and of course went swimming. Toilet backed up several times; however the engineers came ASAP... The resort is very busy, but hey... It's vacation- ENJOY IT! Overall I enjoyed my stay. We ate at the Smokehouse Grill & it was great! I hope you're on the list for next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seabreeze007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed so many things about Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa! As you mentioned, we have tons of activities to do on the property. We hope to see you again for many vacation memories to come!

Sincerely,
Lissy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My stay at West gate Lakes was truly awesome! I would recommend this resort to all of my family and friends! The staff was warm and friendly! The amenities were appropriate for all age groups. The rooms were spacious and the kitchen provided ample pots and utensils to accommodate all guests and friends! Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rwhitaker_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We feel honored that you would recommend us. It’s great to hear our staff was warm and friendly. As you mentioned, our rooms are spacious and we have fully equipped kitchens. We look forward to having you back again soon!


Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I was leery about staying here because of the reviews. But it turned out to be a very pleasant stay. I was provided with everything we needed including washing detergent, dishwasher liquid, pots, pans, etc. The property is beautiful and the staff waa attentive. Also, it is close to EVERYTHING! I encourage you to visit the website and research for yourself!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your response. We’re beyond thrilled you enjoyed everything our resort has to offer. We love to make all our guests feel right at home by providing them with everything they may need during their stay. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Lissy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

the beds were clean it was a bit loud but the staff were really nice I stayed in the top floor my mum had a big bath 2 people could get in it with space I would stay here. you can only have one laptop on Wi-Fi at one time or you have to pay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
It is fantastic to hear you had a great experience! We love to make our guests stay a memorable one. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Check in was quick. That was just about the only good thing. We were walked to the concierge AKA reservation clerk for a tour. Promised 90 min tour but I know how that really works so we declined. The room was large but is in desperate need of updating unless you are cool with 1990 decor.

The room was DIRTY!!! Hair in the tub, food on the refrigerator door handle, "stuff" in the wash machine, what appeared to be mold in the shower. I would continue but I'm busy looking over my shoulder for the unsuspected!!!

Parking was the worse. We got to the resort at 10:00 pm and drove around for 15 mins for a parking spot. We called yto ask for assistance and was told we could park in the registration area and a employee would take us to our room. No thank you.

In short, if you want a cheap big room close to Universal Studio then this dump fits the bill. If you want to have a clean room that doesn't require you to spray Lysol and walk around with shoes on to avoid contact with nasty carpet then keep searching the web.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Don't look Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are so sorry that you experienced issues with cleanliness of your room, parking, and for any pressure you may have felt by the sales staff.

Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each room is spotless and ready for our guest’s arrival. We have taken note of this issue and will let the resorts housekeeping manager know.

Unfortunately, with the size of our resort, parking can become an issue and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused. We are currently working on ways to correct the parking situation and appreciate your patience.

We want to thank you again for letting us know about your concerns as we take all of our guests’ comments into consideration.

Sincerely,
Katrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
10.0 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 4,144 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#56 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#29 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 4,391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avanti International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819-8007
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#48 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing