We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #203 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and I exchanged our timeshare into this resort. I am not sure if people who are not timeshare owners get different accommodations, I did hear something to this effect.
After I exchanged, I saw some REALLY great reviews and some REALLY awful reviews here. So I called the property and told them that I was nervous about the reviews, and they put us into a renovated room.
Positives: This place is absolutely gorgeous! It is right on a lake, the units have patios or balconies, and there is so much to do. We took time to rent bikes, play mini golf, go paddleboating, and visited the activities center for crafts with the 10 year old we borrowed for Disney (he went home with lots of GREAT memories!). There are 7 pools on property, some with bars (depends on time of year whether bars are open or not). We had 2 minor issues when we had to call housekeeping and they were very fast. The hotel staff was always very helpful and curteous. There are shuttles to Disney, Universal, and Sea World that save you daily parking fees ($15 at Disney, $22 at Universal). A Disney rep is right on property and there are people to help you with park tickets. If you do the timeshare tour, you can get discount Disney and Universal tickets, plus a card to use all the amenities on the resort grounds for free. There are a restaurant and a convenience store onsite. Of course the store is pricey and they only have name brand items, but when both my hubby and I were too sick to go out we were grateful that we only had to pay $5 extra to have the store deliver meds. There is even a Starbucks in the main building! The unit itself was a very nice size and had all the amenities you expect from a timeshare. The kitchen really helped us save money as we packed lunches and snacks in a backpack when we went to the parks and ate in the unit at night. We had a very comfortable stay and the location was very convenient. Oh, and this is a pet-friendly resort. (We had intended to bring the dog but changed our minds when we invited the 10yo to go to Disney with us- it would have cost us over $200 for the pet fee at the resort, then when we went to the theme parks we would have had to board her outside the Disney gate for $35/day.)
Negatives: One of our biggest peeves was that a place this size does not recycle! It killed me to throw out so much in the trash. We also were not thrilled with the internet fees. They are $9.99 per day, but if you get a week, they charge you $39.99 (also a 3 day option). That is quite high- I think most places charge $2 per day if they charge at all. AND- you can only use one device at a time! That is ridiculous! You can't use the internet in the bedrooms as there is extra fireproofing, and the signal is spotty in the rest of the unit. We also did find a roach on the first day, so I called and they sent someone out to spray immediately. Found one the next day. Then at the end of the 2nd week we spotted another. I saw reviews on here with bugs. It's actually quite easy to see that the roaches can get under the door rather easily as there isn't a seal between the door and the doorjam. The small towels drove me crazy- both bath and beach towels. For a resort this size, I was surprised at the limited selection of TV channels. While it was GREAT to have the shuttles available, they sometimes were not the most convenient. There were 3 to each park in the morning and 3 from each park at night. The ones to Universal were great. But the first one out of Disney (the stop is actually at Epcot, you have to transfer to go to any of the other parks) was 7:30pm- and Animal Kingdom closed at 5pm. Perhaps when it is busier there are more shuttle choices. We did make it work, which saved us $15 per day, just not the most convenient. And I had a huge issue with the timeshare tour- that was supposed to last 90 minutes but lasted 3 hours! We were led to believe that people who exchanged didn't get a full tour, but that was not the case- we were just being shown the property at 90 minutes!
Overall, we were satisfied with this resort. We would stay here again, but we'd do a few things differently if we come back.

Room Tip: It was rather noisey near the main pool. Then that one was being cleaned so the other pool was noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ratluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. Thank you for letting us know what we are exceling in and some areas that need work. The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority. We hope you will stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to not just meet but exceed your expectations.

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,309 - 2,315 of 5,763 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

We exchanged to this resort for two weeks between January 11, 2014 and February 1, 2014. We had a 3 bedroom unit both times to accommodate 10 family members going on a cruise and to visit the theme parks. We stayed at the resort prior to and after the cruise. We stayed in buildings 400 and 1000 both of which have not been renovated yet and while clean really need updating. Our unit in 400 had a broken hide a bed and we had to struggle to accommodate everyone in our party. Staff at the resort were all friendly and helpful. It is well located for those visiting the parks. We have stayed here before and probably will again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigMikenSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. We strive to provide an exceptional vacation experience that exceeds guest’s expectations and we apologize that we fell short. We will certainly share your review with our staff, as we are always looking for areas to improve. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Definitely a dated resort, but it is fairly nice...staff is very friendly and if the weather is nice you are never far from a pool or hot tub or bar...my room was, as I stated, 1980s looking, but overall well maintained...keep in mind this is a RESORT...meaning your room will probably not be near the front of the property...you will need to take a free shuttle or call for a golf cart...a minor inconvenience...the free shuttles to the parks is also a plus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmalley2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We’re so glad that our staff was friendly and you enjoyed our well maintained resort. As you mentioned, we are a big property and we do accommodate our guests by providing transportation within our resort. Thank you for choosing with stay with us and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We traded a timeshare to stay here and everything was great. Clean, up to date unit well supplied All staff was pleasant. No pressure to take a tour.Another plus is it is pet friendly. We were very pleased over all Only compliant you have to pay for wifi which is surprising Stayed the last week in Jan

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYtraveler056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed our rooms and our staff was pleasant. We love to hear when our guests have a great experience with us. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Visiting westgate without a rental car means a lot of cabs. There is a reataurant on site and the food is good but if you want variety and something a bit lighter, you have a 4-5km walk up the road - not really a bad thing, just something to be aware of.

There are several pools to choose from and various theme nights. It is easy to relax here. If you like to swim in the lake, remember you are in Florida and there are gators. The biggest I saw was about 6 feet.

Walking through the resort you realize it is quite big. They offer activities either group or solo. Shopping, Universal and Seaworld are all close by via cab or shuttle.

Dont be fooled by the advertising of its own grocery store/market. It is 400sq ft store with junk food and the very basics to get you through the day.

All in all I enjoyed my stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

We value and appreciate all our guests and owners. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, we are a big property and we work hard to make sure our guests receives a quality vacation experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our pools and location. Free shuttle service is provided to theme parks and we advise our guests to reserve prior. Thank you for choosing Westgate Resorts and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We received an upgrade at check in, the check in staff was professional and very polite.
We got an apartment at building 700, very large 2 bedrooms, living room, complete kitchen and balcony with in house washer and dryer but the decor was too outdated for me...one bedroom had 2 queen beds and the master a king with a big jacuzzi. Everything was clean and comfortable.
The resort is nice, the place is huge with tennis courts, marina, mini golf, bbq spaces and pools all over the resort. It is a good place for families with teenagers lot of activities for older kids but not for younger ones.
It is a busy place with lot of noise, people, cars and golf carts moving around, not a relaxed space.

Room Tip: ask for a room/apartment on the remodeled buildings, old ones have 80's decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mah10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you so much for providing your feedback. We are so happy to hear that our staff was professional and very polite. As you mentioned, we are a big property and we do have plenty of resort amenities for our guests and owners to enjoy. We take all of our guest’s comments into consideration as we are always looking for way to improve. Thank you for choosing Westgate Resorts and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We booked this hotel for a short vacation. We have an 8 month old w us. We woke up in the middle of the night w bugs all over the counter. Then went into the bathroom and found more!! When we called to complain they said they would exterminate the room but of course we couldn't be in the room for hours due to the fumes. I told them we weren't comfortable w that because of our 8 month old. No compensation, no money off room - nothing! I would never recommend this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank kkenny43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

We value and appreciate your feedback. We understand you had some issues during your stay. We are located in Florida and issues like this may occur due to warm weather. However, we want you to know that our maintenance staff do run through pest control maintenance throughout all of our units. We also would like to advise you that we do not use toxic chemicals when treating a room. Rest assured, we care about our guest’s health and safety and we take all precautions to avoid anything from harming anyone. We hope you allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future!

Sincerely,
Idalise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
10 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 341 in Orlando
3,388 reviews
1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avanti International Resort
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#31 of 341 in Orlando
6,002 reviews
2.1 mi away
Westgate Palace Resort
Westgate Palace Resort
#180 of 341 in Orlando
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Address: 9500 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#54 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $108 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful lakefront Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa lies near world-class theme parks (complimentary shuttle service is available). Onsite amenities include seven outdoor heated pools and hot tubs, lakeside marina, Drafts Sports Bar & Grill and world-class Serenity Spa by Westgate. Enjoy your favorite cocktail at one of three poolside bars. Choose from a variety of accommodations ranging from studios to spacious four-bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing