We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unpleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #204 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
A TripAdvisor Member
Maggie Valley, NC
113
Reviewed March 14, 2004

Our family came to Westgate Resorts through the internet advertisement. They put us at the Leisure Resort. It was a nice place and very clean. The only person there that spoke good English was the lady that gave us our vacation package. We were promised that our tickets would be in our package when he arrived, but that was not so. It took us 1-1/2 hours to get checked in and everything sorted out. We thought everything was final until the next morning when we went to pick up the package at the Westgate Resort Office. This was when everything was screwed up. Everything was a total different story again. We could not understand anybody that you talked to because of their poor English speaking. We were treated very poorly and the people were very ill mannered. When you are told something over the phone then you expect to get you were promised. You go on vacation to relax not to be made a fool of. We half way that got all that straightened out which took another 1-1/2 hours or more. The next morning we took the tour to fulfill our obligation of the vacation package. Everyone treated us great during the tour, but then when we were not interested in buying into the resort, boy did everything change. The representative that was giving us the tour never came back to us and said can I take you back to your car or anything. We were stuck there without a way back to our car which was about a mile away because they took us to the Westgate Resort by golf cart. It is funny that their advertisement says NO OBLIGATION TO BUY, but you are not WELCOME THERE if you do not buy. It think it was very rude how they treat you. I would never go back or I would never advise anyone from my area which is a tourist area also. I have many friends that I put on a list for them, but I have already told them to not accept anything from them. Word of mouth goes a long way. I will sure not recommend it to anyone. They tell you that they have all kinds of things for you, but if you do not buy they have nothing but rudeness. They also state the tour takes 90 minutes. We were there for over 2 hours because they were 25 minutes late before they even started the tour. I am sure if we were late they would have probably charged us for the whole vacation package because we broke the agreement. Your only obligation is 90 minutes!!. Make sure you have your credit card because they want it for everything which is very unnecessary.Beware of this resort if want a nice relaxing vacation with no headaches. You are better off just going to florida and find a motel on your own. They are lots of nicer places than this and just as cheap as their package.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2015

Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,235 - 4,241 of 5,768 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2004

We knew we were buying a week with a 90 minute presentation at the end.
We paid $687 for 8 days and got two free tickets to Universal Orlando (which was the best park we visited). Our arrival was smooth and the reservations were as expected. We went to our room to find it was ground floor next to the elevator. This was fine for us, but not for our 23 year old child and her boyfriend that were staying in the second bedroom next to the elevator. After paying $3 for a gallon of water and $2 for a 2 liter coke we went to settle in to our non working air conditioned room with a soaked master bedroom carpet. Maintenance came an hour later and said the breaker was tripped. He sent housekeeping over to clean the carpets (and put down towels) at 9:00 at night. The air kept tripping all week. There was no latch on the screened porch and we were on the ground floor. All the loover doors kept coming off their tracks and the automatic coffee maker didn't work. The pool area is great and the jacuzzi in our room, the tv, the space is wonderful.
Overall we had a great time. Don't buy a timeshare directly from them unless you research on the internet. We found space for $7000 when they are selling it for $22000. Check all your options. Cheap rates vs. a few inconviences were worth it for us, but might not be worth it to someone else.

6  Thank Leanpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2015

Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, Minnesota
14
Reviewed March 7, 2004

We just returned from a week (march 1 -6) at the Westgate Lakes Resort.
We were very happy with the accomodations, cleanliness and service of this resort. The grounds are beautiful and well mantained. The pools were clean and warm. We were very pleased overall and would stay there again. We did go through the timeshare pitch but did not buy. It was a little high pressured but not bad. We've been to much worse. The location is ideal for either Disney or Universal.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2015

Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Detroit
13
Reviewed March 5, 2004

we recently had a vacation at westgate lakes and thought the place was going to be hell, because of the timeshare pitch and all. Amazingly, the way the staff treated us from the start it totally changed our perspective. My little girl went to a kid's only room where she played video games while we went on tour. The pitch was a bit hard, we wanted to get out of it, but we knew we would enjoy staying at the westgate lakes for a nice price. At the end we didn't buy but we're now thinking about it, and its mainly because of the location and luxury that we get to have and the whole experience was amazing, my wife and I and my little girl would go back again and do some more paddleboats. It was a great place to stay at, just go with an open mind when taking the tour and you'll have a nice time overall.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2015

Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed February 21, 2004

i booked through westgate customer service for westgate town center and invited friends along because i loved the town center they were interested in checking the time share we enjoyed so much last year an hour before we left longisland getting directions we noticed it was not the same sddress as last year.we called they told us try the lakes if you are not happy we can switch you when you arrive.when we arrived they would not switch us to the town center and has us down with a referral we didnot know of.i was interested in the towncenter time share and wanted to stay again to see if i wanted to purchase this year because my neighbors own one at the town center and if we were to vacation we would go to the same place not purchase at a different location.we were charged more than the stay was quoted and got locked out of our room 4 times before they fixed the lock telling me each time it was my fault which it was found to be the whole lock neede to be replced we switche rooms it was morework than a vacation.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2015

Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2004

We stayed at Westgate Lakes from Feb 6-15, in a 3 bedroom villa with 4 adults and 2 kids age 5 and 8. We are not owners nor did we do any time share tour. The place was beautiful, had a great room by the main pool right behind the lobby. Pool area was very clean with plenty of chairs and nice tiki bar, pool towels were hard to come by. Villa was huge and looked just like the pic's on their website. 10 people could stay there comfortably. Everything was clean and in working order, there was no housekeeping, but they did change garbage, replace towels and make beds daily. Real nice balcony that was screened in with everyone fitting there comfortably. The property was immaculate with several pools and hot tubs throughout resort, there was plenty of kids activities to do with a daily schedule. Locatation is prime, 10 minutes to universal, disney and seaworld, 15 minutes from ariport. There is a section of Wesgates that is quite run down..this is the southern end and is seperate from the main area. I asked what went on there and found out that people actually lived there permanently. So anyone with reservations would not be placed at this end, unless you walked there you would never see it. Checkout/in was quick and easy with no problems and the guest services were extremely helpful with all questions we had. Throughout the week it got busier and by the time we left it looked almost full, as spring break started. I could see at full capacity where it might be a bit crowded...also, the pool stays open all night and often people were swimming till midnight, didnt bother us though. We would absolutley come back here again and enjoyed every minute at Wegate Lakes!!

5  Thank Bc3flx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2015

Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Glasgow, Scotland
11
Reviewed February 14, 2004

Stayed with my partner for one week from 5th Feb 2004. Loved it!! Room was huge, had microwave, fridge, fab view over the lake, jacuzzi bath, huge shower (although power-shower it wasn't!). The room was serviced every day, although what the service actually consisted of did vary each day. The gym on site is pretty good ($5 a throw), there are free tennis courts, and lots of pools. Only one restaurant though - the Smokehouse Grill. We ate there twice - it was very good. Absolutely no timeshare pitch. The only downside was Guest Sevices - the 'service' was poor on two occaisions, but we'd deffinately stay there again.
Excellent.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2015

Thank you for sharing your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
10 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 341 in Orlando
3,395 reviews
1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avanti International Resort
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#32 of 341 in Orlando
6,005 reviews
2.1 mi away
Westgate Palace Resort
Westgate Palace Resort
#181 of 341 in Orlando
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Address: 9500 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#54 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $107 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful lakefront Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa lies near world-class theme parks (complimentary shuttle service is available). Onsite amenities include seven outdoor heated pools and hot tubs, lakeside marina, Drafts Sports Bar & Grill and world-class Serenity Spa by Westgate. Enjoy your favorite cocktail at one of three poolside bars. Choose from a variety of accommodations ranging from studios to spacious four-bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing