We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #205 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent a week a this resort. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were great. We had 2 bedroom suite, it was very nice and spacious.The room was clean and kept clean by a daily housekeeping service. The resort was centrally located by all three major parks; Disney, Universal, and Sea World, all less than 2 miles away and a shuttle service is available. I would recommend this to any family going to the Orlando theme parks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rookiekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our staff strives to be attentive & give great service, and we're delighted to see that you experienced that. We are thrilled you were able to take advantage of our great location and enjoy our room amenities! On behalf of the entire Westgate Team, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,870
    1,530
    795
    551
    811
See reviews for
2,946
1,079
74
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ware
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I am not only a vegetarian but also cannot eat gluten due to Coeliacs disease so I needed a place with a kitchen. This Condo hotel was only 2 miles from Seaworld and about 20 minutes from Disney so it ticked all the right boxes for us as a family. We did like the kids getting popcorn and squash on arrival whilst we waited to get to the reception desk. Once we had checked in at reception we were told to go across the foyer to another desk. When we spoke to the man at this other desk he asked us when we would like to book in for our timeshare talk. Tired and confused we said we were unaware we were expected to go to one. He managed to persuade us ( free breakfast, $75 incentive and a pass to the activities on the site) to go along to the talk at breakfast the next day saying it would only be 90 minutes. The lady who spoke to us was very pleasant but when we repeatedly said no to buying a timeshare she got her supervisor who also tried tried to persuade us. It was 12 noon before we finally got away - 4 hours after we had started. We did let ourselves get bribed into this but it did take half a day of our holiday and I would advise anyone going to this resort to avoid the timeshare talk (unless you want to buy one).
We had hired a 2 bed condo as our kids are 16 and 10 and could not share a sofa bed. The room was big - the furniture a bit tired. The master bedroom bed was really comfy. The kids bedroom was right next to the lift, ice machine, washing machine and dryer room so they had to keep their blind shut for the duration of our stay. Thankfully they were both so tired after days out in the theme parks that only once were other guests noisy enough to wake my daughter up.
The resort does have a limited shuttle service to Disney, Seaworld and Universal which you have to prebook the day before - we only used these twice even though it was about $15 to park at the parks because the timings did not fit with what we wanted to do. The resort is right next to a very busy road but we did not have a problem with noise from that which was good. It had several small pools located across the site (all the same) a mini golf course - $5 unless you do the timeshare talk in which case it is free and a lake - which we didn't use so I don't know how much that cost
The best thing to say about the place really is that it had cooking facilities (limited pots ie no frying pan) and was centrally located for the parks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewelz_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoy our convenient location. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the sales staff. It is definitely not our intention to make you feel pressured in any way from anyone on our staff; however, we do offer the opportunity to all of our guests and owners to take a tour and with that, receive certain incentives, with no obligations. It's our hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence, The Bahamas
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The stay to westgate was pleasant expect for parking and the microwave, The Jacczzi had a loud sound coming so didnt use as much as expected. However the stay as good, shops were nearby. We checked in quickly and had to park a building away from our room

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, but apologize you had some issues with the parking and the microwave. All of our guests’ comments are appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide out guests with the quality vacation experience. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and we hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our check-in was quick, and the bell staff/front desk staff was great, except that they didn't really explain amenities to us, and I had to ask how to register for the shuttle to Disney. I knew that they had a shuttle to Disney (which is actually a shuttle to EPCOT, and then you have to take monorail to Magic Kingdom ... FYI). Anyway, I would have expected them to ask US, "If you're going to one of the parks tomorrow, would you like to reserve a shuttle?" Also, the shuttle schedule is not the greatest ... they make 3 runs in the morning, and 3 runs at night, with the last one being at 10:35 PM, which means you'll have to miss fireworks at Magic Kingdom. Westgate has a contract with a local taxi/limo service, so this is how it works.

Anyway, the room itself was good ... we had a studio room. Clean, modern, and everything worked. The only problem I had was I thought they could have given a couple more towels (2 adults, 2 kids). Housekeeping was great. Smokehouse Grill, the onsite restaurant, was just okay. Food was good, but the amount we got for the amount we paid was not in balance.
Service there was just a little below average.

The shuttle service within the resort itself was NOT good. They have "shuttle stops" in front of each building where you are supposed to be able to wait, and the shuttle (either a big golf cart or a van) will come every 10-15 minutes and take you where you need to go, within the property.
We did this twice, and the shuttle NEVER showed up. We had to flag down Security officers who were in their own carts to take us to the lobby area. Great rating for Security on this, but horrible for the shuttle service!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florida b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our rooms, but apologize you had issues with the shuttle. The issues encountered by you will be shared with management in order to make sure we are providing the best service we can. We Thank you for staying with us and please come back to visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was one of the worst experiences we've ever had in overnight travel. It could convince me to stay home forever! The room pictures on the website are a joke, I would love to know where they took those so I can go and stay there. You're better off staying at La Quinta or the like, it's a better bargain for your dollar.
I wore water shoes in the shower, and slept on a t-shirt over my pillow. We asked them to come change our stained sheets when we got there and they never did. The staff is abrupt and doesn't respond to your requests.
This place is gross!!!!!! Save your money!

Room Tip: find another place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sirena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you experienced issues with the cleanliness of your villa. We have made note of each one of your housekeeping and maintenance concerns and will address them directly with the resort. We do hope that you will visit us again and give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked this resort the same day as our arrival and was concerned after I saw the negative reviews, I was terrified! We arrived at 11pm and there weren't many people in the lobby. We checked in quickly and had to park a building away from our room--but the resort is GINORMOUS! I would assume that parking right by your room would be hit or miss with the amount of buildings and rooms on the resort. The room was decent, nice shower and jacuzzi tub. The tv is outdated and fuzzy and we found two living bugs in our bathroom during our weekend stay. On the plus side, the resort is on a beautiful lake and has pool bars as well. We wouldn't mind going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WK115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and resort amenities. We apologize that you had issues with the TV and the cleanliness of the unit. We are always looking to improve and your feedback is of great help. Please revisit us in the future to see how we are working hard to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valby
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We got this off a salesperson on the highway leading from GE to FL.

We got it cheap, 100$ for 2 nights in a studio room.

The hotel is huge and there are many pool which all seems nice. WIFI is expensive, 10$ per day.

Interior is a bit worn down, but still works - bathrooms are really nice.

Can recommend if given at right price!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertFromDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We strive to make your vacation a memorable one. We are glad you found value in your stay. On behalf of the entire Westgate Team, thank you for staying with us and we hope you come back to visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
10.0 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
0.9 mi away
Avanti International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#18 of 338 in Orlando
4,649 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at SeaWorld
1.8 mi away
Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#53 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing