We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #204 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Seymour, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rude Staff”
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Stayed at Westgate Lakes for two days last weekend in May. Check in process was smooth (it was late night/early morning). Had a question on rates, as an owner, and was advised to talk with owner services the next monring. Owner services treated me as if I had no right to make this question, and was worse than a non-owner guest. During our discussion I had given them items which were lost in that short time - which they then said they'd never had - very argumentative. Was told for our troubles could get a late checkout the next day - gee, thanks. Later that afternoon the toilet broke and maintanance never showed. Housekeeping did bring towels so that WE could clean up the mess. Called maintenance again - still didn't show. We ended up fixing the toilet ourselves. After over an hour, still no maintenance. Housekeeping did eventually bring more towels, but never offered to help clean the mess. As for the late checkout, on a Saturday morning...about 8am that morning housekeeping began banging on our door, asking if we were leaving that day and when. Then, 20 minutes later they were back asking the same question. The property itself was fine, could tell it was an older location that had wear and tear. It was the disrespectful treatment that we received while staying there that made it such a bad experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service/Staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susankate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,879
    1,536
    799
    554
    818
See reviews for
2,968
1,083
74
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,064)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Wow, where do I begin. I was told the Lakes was a five-star resort. However, after three room changes I surrendered to the filth. The rooms were dated and dirty. Didn't mind the dated, but definitely had a problem with the dirt and roaches. After arriving to the room at around 10p, and not to mention exhausted, I immediately left to find the nearest WalMart to purchase a can of Lysol to attempt a massive disinfecting project. The next day I ask for a different room and guess what... they were all filthy. The phone receiver had enough wax accumulation to supply a small candle shop. The shower was dirty, the sheets and bedspread were dirty. In the third room, I didn't notice until the next morning that there were stains on the sheet and bedspread that resembled old blood. I was hooked into one of those timeshare presentation traps and thought $110 for two nights was a good deal. I would have rather spent triple that amount to get a good room. I really loved the Wyndham Bonnet Creek resort. I've made light of my stay at the Lakes and even told a couple of jokes, but I am completely serious about the filth of the room. I was even told they are going to tear down my building and similar buildings because they are no longer up to par. What a way to convince me to buy a timeshare. Let's put them in a substandard room, then show them a mediocre room, and they will take the bait. NOT!!! How about giving excellent service and CLEAN rooms and maybe your resort would be a little more appealing.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank million2one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

This was my second stay at Westgate Resort Orlando and my husband's first. He wasn't enthusiastic but after our stay we have decided to take our family back next year. The pools are clean, the rooms are clean, the atmosphere is wonderful. Every hotel, resort or condo has noisy neighbors or something to complain about, but at Westgate Resort Orlando the only caution we can offer is be ready to deal with the horrible in and out traffic. Golf carts are flying everywhere and I mean flying! Staff, tour guides, salesmen, maintenance men (leaning back pretending to be cool). There were too many near misses to count, every driver of a golf cart was discourteous. The corners are dangerously non-visible to safely negotiate turns. We'll go back and we encourage your visit too - but beware . . . golf carts everywhere!

  • Liked — variety of pools, location to multiple dining choices
  • Disliked — first room was a handicap suite, asked to be changed and staff made it happen
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gints17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your last visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, NJ 0852
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We just returned yesterday from our vacation at the Lakes. We own a timeshare at Westgate Town Center and traded into the Lakes. We were SOOOOOO happy with our stay. We stayed in the 700 building behind the registration building. The check in desk did check us in early (at noon) the room was beautiful! Two bedrooms, a full kitchen, a washer and dryer and beds more comfortable than my home bed. The staff was exceptionally friendly, no bugs, no complaints! The pool was clean and open until 11:00pm every night. I would stay here over and over!

  • Liked — The Pools and close proximity to all the Orlando Parks
  • Disliked — The Golf Carts
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nicoleeltc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

We booked this through expedia as the price was brilliant, the website photos made the resort look great and there was only one really bad review on trip advisor (he one about the roaches! which is surely a one off!). We were not disapointed! If you're looking for somewhere to use as a comfertable based while you are out and about you can't go wrong - if you want luxury and will spend a lot of time in your hotel then look somewhere else as there is no housekeeping (apart from changing bins and new towels each day) this is basically renting an appartment which suited us fine.
The resort is lovely and is nice to take a stroll around during the day (the lake isn't as spectacular as on the webste phots but is very nice).
We booked a one bedroom apartment and upon check in we were given the option of which room we wanted i.e. by the pool, ground floor etc. The decor in the room is slightly dated but was in good condition. The kitchenette was briliant we had enough cutlery, crockery and glasses to keep us going. The fridge is big enough to stock up with water,beer and snacks. There is no kettle though just a coffee maker, this suited me but when my husband wanted a cup of tea we had to get the maker to boil the hot water and use that to make a brew - so bring a travel kettle all you tea lovers!
We never used the pools but there were two a couple of minutes walk away, at this time of year they were not busy but looked really nice.
The deli bar and shop were well stocked but with a Walmart 2 mins down the road by car we didn't use them much! There is a pizza hut express on site who deliver to your door (they deliver wine and beer also!) We didn't try the restaurant but the prices were good and it also does take out.
You will really need to rent a car if you stay here - nowhere is really in walking distance but International drive is a few mins by car and I would expect $10 - $15 dollars in a taxi. Universal resort is 5 - 10 mins in the car, we got a taxi over one night to the Univerasal city walk (where the bars and clubs are) and the fare was only $12 there and $15 back and the westgate reception staff will book you a taxi. Disney resorts took around 10 - 15 mins by car. Seaworl is the closest - 2 - 5 mins away.
A word of warning though when you check in you will be passed over to a representative from "guest services" who will ask you if you have booked your theme park tickets or if you want to see any shows. Basically they will offer you free theme park tickets fro a day or tickets to a show which will save you up to $70 dollars each all you have to do is take a 90 minute tour around the resort. After falling for this type of time share trick in Cancun last year (and wasting nearly a whole morning of last years holiday) we cut they guy off and said no thank you he tried to pursuade us by saying it was just a tour and free tickets at the end. My husband said "if you can promise us that it is just a tour we will do it but I think it will be a 10 min tour then another hour or two of you trying to sell us a time share and we really are not interested in a time share". - that seemed to do the trick! the guys face dropped and he said we could change our minds if we wanted and let us go! We were not bothered buy anyone again! you will see reps from the resort in all the theme parks offering similar deals so beware of them! You may get a dinner show for free but it is a really uncomfortable experience and you end up having to be quite rude to get the sales pitch to end as usually the rep passes you onto at least another one person to try and get you to buy.
Overall would recomend for a couple or group of friends it would be good for families as well as you can rent larger apartments or villas.

  • Liked — comfertable apartment had everything we needed
  • Disliked — missed daily house keeping
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank snaicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

This place was nice, but very outdated. Also, the second room has 2 little beds, so if you're the lucky couple that gets that room, be prepared to sleep across the room from each other. Also, it's very noisy in the back bedroom as well. Since there are more workers than guests, they are always outside working on something loud.
The presentation was presented to us as only being 90 minutes. Not the case at all. We ended up getting there at 7:15, skipped the offered breakfast, and were back to our room by 11:15. REDICULOUS. I would have rathered paid the full price of the hotel than go through that again. They are also very confrontational with you when you say no, which made us very uncomfortable.
Lastly, your room isn't cleaned until you finish your stay, which was odd to me. It was unusual to come back to the room after a long day at Disney, to still have the same dirty towels and unmade beds.

  • Liked — The Kitchen
  • Disliked — How outdated everything was, and how small the beds in the back bedroom was
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SELLSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

My family visited Westgate Lake Resort & Spa for the first time this April. We were very pleased when we arrived. The first thing that I said when we drove up to the propery was "WOW". The staff was friendly and made us feel welcomed. Even though we stayed there for a timeshare presentation, our stay was worth it. Our room was spacious and clean. We had a nice view of the lake. I would love to stay there again but prefer not see another timeshare presentation.

  • Liked — the appearance
  • Disliked — timeshare presentation
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2015
Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
10.0 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
0.9 mi away
Avanti International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 339 in Orlando
4,687 reviews
4.9 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 339 in Orlando
3,119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#54 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing