We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“High Pressure Sale” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #198 of 333 Hotels in Orlando
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
264 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“High Pressure Sale”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Do not, I repeat, do not sign up for the hour and half presentation (that lasted more like 2 and half an hour presentation. The first person was very nice, at the end we told him we were not interested, he then had his manager come over to approve our free stuff, he was bearable, felt like we were at a car lot. After he approved us and left, our presenter went to get a copy of our paper work and came back with, a person wearing a black suit, black shirt open, chewing gum. My wife thought he looked like he was there to break our fingers. He was totally into himself and could not believe we had no interest in buying a time share. High Pressure, we final told him we were leaving. The place is nice over 2,000 units.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank havingfuntraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your time spent at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. It sounds like you may have sat in on a time share presentation but did not have the opportunity to actually stay with us. We offer the opportunity to purchase time share-however, this is at the discretion of our guests. Please consider making a reservation and stay with us so you have the chance to experience how great our resort truly is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,746
    1,430
    723
    509
    738
See reviews for
2,733
987
67
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have no idea where all of these negative reviews are coming from. My experience at the Westgate was completely amazing. I did not book the room directly through Westgate or Hotwire etc.. I got a package deal from Universal Studios for four people in a one bedroom villa. I was very skeptical after reading reviews on here, but was blown away by my vacation. Okay if you get there right at 4 pm (check in time) of course it will be busy! Our party arrived around 2 p.m. and were registered within 10 minutes. The room was gorgeous, clean; as was the property. Was never bothered with time share phone calls or bullied into taking a tour. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are so happy that your "experience was completely amazing." We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will stay with us again during your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent 8 days in a three bedrooms condo from March 28 - April 5 th.. We are not owners just regular guests .
Our request to have a room close to the activity center with a view on the lake was granted : very convenient for our kids.
The resort is huge and we got lost a few times at first to locate our room!!!!
Location : best ever! Adjacent to a beautiful lake, 5 minutes from Sea World & Universal, close to north int drive and all the stores & restaurants. We didn't intend to visit disneyworld, so we much prefer to be on that part of Orlando. Traveling with my mother in law, we needed a 3 bedrooms and not a cramped room in universal studios.

We loved the receptionist ( A Romanian girl, sorry forgot her name : efficient, nice and charming!)

the unit was perfect : a common entrance with then a separate entry for our 2 bedrooms and a separate door for the studio . Leaving everyone lots of space.
the decoration is a bit old : old tv in the rooms, kitchen could be renovated, the decor is simple , if you are looking for fancy this is not the place. The finitions not so great : could use some fixing everywhere as well.
The bathrooms were nice : huge jacuzzi , huge walk in showers.
We had a view on the matina and could see gators swimming ... hmm is it really safe to paddle board ?

We used the pool : nice size and a jaccuzi . Big issue : seats are reserved at 7.00 am , and are left unused or a few hours . Pool can be dirty as well , with papers on the floor and dirt in the jacuzzi .

Some noise in the room due to the air conditioning and the machinery

We loved the resort for the price . We will be back.
Other resorts like Hilton grand vacation or Marriott villages are more classy with nicer decorations and services , but were very expensive for spring break and no 3 bedrooms available.housekeeping great as well.

Salon and spa amazing, all the hotel staff very nice and polite .


pro : location, price, convenience, condo size, lake and many pools
con : lack of renovation, pools grounds not always clean

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westshoreBelleair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. It's so nice to know that you enjoyed our ideal location by the theme parks, shopping and dining, our spacious villas and our many amenities. We are a family oriented resort and are glad that you and your family were able to make some cherished memories here. We hope to have the chance to provide you with many more special vacations in the years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The resort was quite nice. The staff was overall very friendly. There were several pool locations to have fun. Super convenient to theme parks, esp. Sea World and places on I-Drive. Walmart just a few lights up the road. There are also shops nearby as well as the Premium Outlets. Downtown Disney is just moments away as well as several restaurants located off of Palm Pwy. or Apopka Vineland Rd. Rooms were clean and all the creature comforts were provided. Parking is a huge problem returning late night or on rainy days. It can also be frustrating to look for a parking space only to find housekeeping or maintenance golf cart parked in a space that could be used by a guest. We were never offered a tour. There is miniature golf, fishing, paddle boats, tennis and basketball available on site. We enjoyed the convenience of the Deli, Smokehouse and Joe's Marketplace. We travel to Orlando each year in April for our family vacation. As a group of 9, we were comfortable in our 3 bedroom. This is a great vacation destination.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor or above. The bottom floor open you up to the noise of people com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about the Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa. We are please to read that you had a "WOW" experience. We would like to thank you for choosing the Westagate Lakes Resort and Spa for your vacation destination and we look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Although this hotel was offered after previous reservation cancelled this could not have been bettered. A large complex of 7 pools, restaurants, shops the staff were courteous and helpful. Onsite transportation provided if needed. BUT location for all attractions, shops, eateries and roads couldn't have been more perfect. Would we visit again, you betcha at a minutes notice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varaderoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience with us about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. It was great to read how we met all your expectations and you would return in the future. We were pleased to know you discovered all the amenities we have to offer along with our perfect location to all the attractions, restaurants, and shopping Orlando has to offer. It was a pleasure to have you visit and we look forward to having you return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were never approached about a timeshare. The resort was huge and a little older, but our room was very clean, ready early, and had a great view of the lake. All employees we encountered were nice, but some seemed clueless about directions to places. The activities were not included. We didn't use the shuttle service, but Disney and Universal were very close and we had no problem navigating. Parking was a real problem if you returned late at night and tickets were being given out one morning. This seems hard to believe, but we noticed a lack of restaurants close to the resort - that's really the only complaint I had. Overall, a great vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We were pleased to read you experienced a great vacation at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. In addition it was good to know you enjoyed your accommodations and found them clean as you would expect. We were happy the employees were helpful and we will address additional training on providing directions. We have a great location to all the theme parks along with shopping. With regards to restaurants, with in a five minute drive in all directions there are a vast amount of places to dine, from fast food to upscale restaurants not to mention our own Smokehouse Grill restaurant located on the resort. It was a pleasure to have you visit we hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

April 2013 Vacation. After Upstairs villa running washer / dryer at 2am - 4am and playing basketball and throw the keys the 2nd night, we were ready to leave. Last night a big dog was barking all night and P#$@ing off all around. Security even rang our bell seeing if it was our dog (we had no pets). Free shuttle was nice, along with Smokehouse grille - BIG portions of good food. Pools were dirty. Staff was friendly and abundant.

Room Tip: 1st floor is bad. (Noise) Don't go where pets are if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us from early April. If you were woken at an early morning hour please accept our apologies. Our Security Team monitors any noise issues and will address this if they hear of any disturbances. We were pleased to know you enjoyed our Smokehouse Grill restaurant and found our staff friendly and helpful. Thank you again for sharing your comments we hope you will consider Westgate Lakes in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
10.0 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Avanti International Resort
2.2 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#21 of 333 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
2.4 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#51 of 333 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819-8007
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#50 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing