We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #206 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband I and the kids stayed over spring break and we fell in love. I work for vacation travel clubs and we stay at different resorts all around the us, but this by far was one of our favorite! The staff was extremely nice the grounds very well kept, activities, amenities .. Late check out !! I will definitely be telling owners about this property and returning soon myself !!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimsvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your “amazing” review of your vacation at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We were extremely pleased to read you and your family enjoyed yourselves while vacationing with us. Our team members take great pride in maintaining the property and providing great service to our guests. Your comments will be shared with our team so they are aware of your feedback. Thank you for choosing Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We hope to have you stay with us again the next time you visit Orlando, Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,614)
There are newer reviews for Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,644 - 2,650 of 5,614 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Westgate Lake Resorts in Florida. We had reserved a studio with a kitchenette and a patio. When we arrived there, they were completely full, so we only got a regular room with 2 double beds and no patio. The "kitchenette" was nothing more than a kitchen cabinet with dishes and silverware, and a toaster and microwave.

Our room and the neighboring room shared a washer/dryer in the common foyer. The neighbor ran the washer from 1 a.m. - 6 a.m. the first night we were there. The front desk said they couldn't do anything.

Because of the volume of the tourists, hot water was a perpetual problem. On more than one occasion we had to shower in cold water.

Parking was a nightmare. This "resort" is like a mini-town. Guests staying here are not assigned parking spots near their rooms. If we didn't get in before 6:30 p.m. there was no parking.

The hotel boasts 7 pools and poolside bars. On the day we chose to go to the pool, the bars were closed ... no clear reason why!

If you are looking for a place to stay so that you can easily get in and out and visit around Orlando, this place is a little cumbersome.

They do have shuttles running to Universal and other attractions, but they have to be reserved in advance, which makes it quite useless. I expected that they would have shuttles running every 15 mins to half hour.

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your visit to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa this past March. We offer a variety of villa types, from studios to four bedroom villas. The studio you reserved does not have a full kitchen. However, all our other villas do have this option for the preparation of full meals. We are a large destination resort and we offer many activities and a great location to all the theme parks, dining in the area and shopping. We are sorry you did not enjoy your four night visit, we are a large resort and perhaps our resort is not what you were seeking. We apologize if we did not meet your expectations. However, our goal is to provide a great vacation experience with good value. Once again, thank you for sharing your visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully kept property! I rented a studio for two nights. It was spotless, jacuzzi tub, nice king size bed with a view of the lake on the lanai. The staff very accommodating. Pool was clean. It's close to everything!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westgate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Allow us to thank you for visiting Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa and sharing your vacation with us. It is very important for us to know how our guests feel when staying with us. We were pleased to read you found the resort beautifully maintained and you enjoyed your studio and the amenities of the villa. Especially important to us is the fact you found the team members accommodating to your needs. On behalf of the entire Westgate Lakes Team thank you for choosing Westgate Lakes for your vacation destination!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Our room was decorated in 1970. Dishwasher broken and fixed on last day. Asked for more items never received. Took for ever to check in. Not clean. Took 30 min to fill the tub and then the jets sprayed every where.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenniferSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to our resort. We apologize if we did not exceed your expectations-this is by no means out standard of service. Your comments will be reviewed by our management team to address your concerns. We appreciate the follow up and thank you for staying at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

When I booked this hotel, I had high expectations, bought Universal tickets and that included complementary free shuttles to Universal Parks, but YOU HAVE TO MAKE RESERVATIONS in advance, 24 to 48 hours prior your trip, or you will be "out of luck", nobody told us in the beginning when I purchased tickets or when I picked them up at the front desk, so when we asked to talk to a Manager, nobody was available and "VIP customer service employees" did not care at all, really bad customer service!
Also, I had to ask for towels, since we were in a room for 4, but they only had towels for 2!
Other than that, was fine, beds were comfortable a room was decent condition.

Room Tip: make sure you make reservations when taking hotel shuttles to Universal Studios
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeria2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We thank you for your feedback on your visit to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. Because of the schedule to different locations, we request our guests to make reservations in advance in an effort to transport everyone to the location they choose. Our shuttle offers transportation to Disney Resorts, Universal Resort Orlando, SeaWorld and shopping outlets and has designated times for each location. We very much care about our guests and the experience they have when staying with us and, if anyone was not friendly, please accept our apologies. Thank you for selecting Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We hope you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My room was dark (no lamps) smelly, came with it's very own plunger & located at the foot of a stairwell where garbage & bins of DIRTY linen were stored. It was disgusting to say the least & certainly nothing resembling a "Resort". Parking was problematic which was odd considering one of the advertised benefits was shuttle service to the theme parks. I had a rental & it was frequently difficult finding parking. The check-in process was unbelievably inefficient with employees standing everywhere doing nothing. I would never consider staying here again, let alone purchasing into this aging, poorly run, so-called "Resort".

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bubba255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Positive or negative, the comments we receive from our guests are very important to us. Once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked via HW and thought we got a deal!
We are a family of four with two teenagers and requested a room for 4 adults with a kitchenette. Arriving Thursday of the Easter Weekend

We had stayed here ten years ago and even with mixed reviews, thought this would be a good stay as the location is decent and looked forward to a balcony.
We had read the reviews and were prepared to escape the time share web.

Checking in, was as most reviewers described, A zoo,! I would compare it to a the trade floor at a stock exchange!
The girl checking us in was smile challenged and should considered a career change.
As we declined the " VIP" breakfast and ticket discounts , I could feel the limited service rapidly decline and we were passed around from counter to counter.?
We were given a room key for the four adult room stay and pointed out the door with our complementary cookies.
No overview of how the resort handled, room cleaning, garbage pick up ,parking, or a decent resort map.

This resort consisted of many large 10 story buildings with multiple rooms and has grown since our original stay. We found our building and open the door to a ground floor 10' X 15' broom closet with a sink. No balcony and the window directly in front of a busy walkway. We had two double beds in very outdated room with a neighbour sharing a common entrance way.
We tried it for one night and it was not pleasant and considered leaving even though we had prepaid, and would not get our money back!

The final straw was the parking, there was a zero parking! All parking spaces were taken and people were parked all over the grass. We hand to park at the Restaurant at the far end of the resort.
Golf carts were zooming around like bees and passing each other heading the same direction. It was safer to cross I4.

Day 2, we left and took the loss, as vacation needs to be a positive experience!

I can see why some people may give a good review if located in the bigger suites, on a higher level floor with a balcony, over looking the lake and a parking spot.

The pools and grounds are well kept but are not functional, or user friendly for the magnitude of the resort.

I can not recommend this place it is unorganized and run by used car salesmen.
The focus is on time shares.
Over crowding at prime time is a big issue!
Hotel style guest take a back seat!
The rooms require updating.

Room Tip: Ensure you are not on the ground floor and you have a balcony facing the lake.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gIB4Gib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent visit. We are sorry you did not enjoy yourself when visiting. Because of Easter, Spring Break and the nice weather, all of Florida was busy. We do offer a variety of room types, from studios to four bedrooms, and a great location. Thank you for sharing your comments and, once again, we are sorry you left early and did not enjoy yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
10.0 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#84 of 340 in Orlando
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#28 of 340 in Orlando
5,701 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#62 of 340 in Orlando
4,062 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avanti International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Address: 9500 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#55 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $78 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing