We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #204 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed at everything from dirt cheap motels to exclusive resorts across the country. We booked this resort on a $79/night deal so value was great. That being said we were ready for mixed results after reading the negative reviews. The place is huge and can be difficult to navigate. We didn't have problems parking, but some of the buildings would have. The room was very dated, but I didn't go for a Southern Living experience. It was clean though and was freshened up each day. The pools were nice and you can choose the one that fits your noise level as some are very loud. The other amenities are nice if you have time to use them. The grounds were sprawling, yet very well kept. We had our own car and with the help of the GPS found it very easy to go to any of the parks via I-4(1 mile away), a local Wal-Mart .25 miles away, gas stations, fast food, and any restaurant you would want. The staff was a mixed bag as well. Some were very eager to help, others were clueless. We did get many wrong answers and no answers. They were covered up due to Spring Break so I did get no answer at all when calling the front desk twice and let it ring about 30-50 times another time. Avoid the timeshare people with a stern not and keep walking. Would I stay there again? Sure - at the bargain price, but I would not pay full price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TyK630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We appreciate your feedback on your vacation and the experience you had. Our goal is to provide a good value along with a great vacation experience. If anyone provided you with wrong information, we apologize and, if you were unable to get through to our Front Desk, we are sorry. We will address this with our management team so they are aware of your comments. Thank you once again, we hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,850
    1,524
    788
    547
    803
See reviews for
2,917
1,074
72
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had the good fortune to get away for the spring break/Easter week by swapping points for the use of the Westgate Lakes Resort. I will admit it is a tough week to go anywhere. My complaints go beyond the popularity of the week though. We arrived late on 3/22/13, which may have worked to our advantage as our studio was no longer available so we were upgraded to a one bedroom, a nice gesture. Fair is fair. Had to wait on a long line for 45 minutes at 12:30 in the morning though to get it. Tried to find parking, as it was located in a nearby building approximately a 1/4-1/2 mile away, and found none. Could have parked at main entrance auxiliary parking, but call me spoiled, I want to want in walking distance to my room. This parking situation would occur every evening that we arrived home after 9 pm, btw. The room was okay, clean enough, if not a little cramped. Saturday morning the maids arrived to clean various rooms, and made enough noise conversing to wake the dead. Having had my ability to sleep disrupted, I sought to get some coffee for my girlfriend and I. The only place to find it was the cafe in the main building's main lobby. No complimentary coffee. Okay...As stated parking was a nightly nightmare. We spent little time in the resort as we did the tourist thing. When it was time to print out our boarding pass to go home, no complimentary computers or printing available. Again, a paid service was available. I never thought I would miss being at a Diamond Resort property, but this experience almost made me wish I was at one of theirs. How about assigning parking spaces to rooms, provide coffee in the lobbies as well a few complimentary computers to do things like print a boarding pass? Would never consider staying there again, never mind buying a timeshare! Buyer beware!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your visit to Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa. We were happy to read we were able to provide a complimentary upgrade to you during your stay. Because of how busy Orlando was in March the Friday night you checked in was extremely busy which created lines causing a delay in the check in process. Our apologies for our housekeepers making noise early in the morning, this should not occur. We do offer Starbucks coffee in our lobby and at our Joe's Market Place, but we are sorry, this is not complimentary. Our VIP Desk or concierge service will assist in the printing of boarding passes at no charge, however, there is a business center where you went for the personal use of a computer or printer. We do apologize for any confusion over this issue. We hope this may clarify some of your issues and we thank you for staying at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The room, such a joke! Dirty, filled with ants, trash all over our of door and common area! Fire lanes blocked all over! Staff could care less that our experience was less than adequate! No one took responsibility or tried to make it more pleasurable ! They want you to come and but timeshare or become a member, that is all. No matter how they sell it! We were locked out of our room 3 times in 1 hour! Sure models were pretty and nice but the rooms that you are not a member of are low income housing at its best ! Just a joke! Thanks David Siegel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jolene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We are sorry for your disappointment when staying with us. We truly care about what our guests experience and want everyone to enjoy themselves when vacationing with us. Your comments will be shared with our team. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This resort was wonderfully unexpected. I did not expect anything near as good as what we experienced. I stayed here with my boyfriend for 8 days and we had a wonderful time. The room was perfect and the balcony was very big and secluded. We enjoyed having our very own jacuzzi in the room! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent vacation to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. To read we exceeded your expectations is special to us. Our goal is to provide a quality vacation experience that exceeds all expectations and it sound like we may have accomplished this. We were very happy to know you enjoyed your accommodations with the balcony and whirl pool tub. In addition, knowing you found our team members friendly and helpful is very important. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having you return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I really don't know what some of these people are talking about.we have traveled all over the world and this was a great place to stay.Staff was very friendly,rooms were immaculate,food was great.we couldn't of ask for a better place.A jacuzzi tub in every room ,come on.some people just shouldn't travel.I've had people tell me they hated Hawaii,,,really! All I can is thanks Westgate and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Our room had a beautiful view of the lake and I would recommend that because every room has a screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your great response on your vacation at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. Our goal is to create a great vacation experience for every one of our guests. Unfortunately, this does not always happen, however, your comments are very gratifying and they will be shared with the Westgate Team so they know how much you enjoyed yourselves. Having traveled as you state, our resort offers all the great things a person looks for in a vacation destination from our wonderful location to great BBQ and all of our amenities. We are happy you enjoyed your vacation and invite you back to stay again when visiting Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Puente, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family and I stayed at this resort for a during the week of March 17, 2013. We had good weather. Check in took about 15 minutes and we were escorted to our villa. Resort is huge and rooms are very spacious and clean. Our room was a two bedroom villa on the third floor section 200. We had a nice balcony overlooking the lake. Most of the attractions are about 4-6 miles away. This resort has kayaking, bike rentals etc. The grounds are very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funandloveable_5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We were pleased to read you enjoyed your vacation at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We wish we could brag about how we made the weather good just for you, however, we cannot take credit for this. We will take credit for providing you a great experience at a good value with lots of things to do and an outstanding location. Thank you, again, for all the positive comments you made. We hope to see you return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South China, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Westgate March 17th-20th 2013. This is a beautiful resort. We stayed in a studio which was small but adequate. The studio is not really set up for preparing meals. The kitchenette is very small and has only a microwave and a dorm room size fridge. If you plan on eating out all meals, that is room is ok. We did take a tour of the actual resort units and they are gorgeous. Anyone who has a Timeshare to trade would be very happy with this trade. A shuttle was available to area attractions. The only drawback for the Disney Shuttle was that the last shuttle of the evening came a little early so we were able to see the Electric light Parade but was afraid of missing the shuttle if we stayed for fireworks so we missed them but over all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. It was a pleasure to have you visit and knowing you found the resort beautiful is important to our team members. We offer a variety of villa types, from a studio to a four bedroom, with loads of space to enjoy yourself. We are sorry the shuttle did not pick you up later-it is an outside service and we try to accommodate all our guests' requirements. Thank you for the feedback-we are glad you had a good experience at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Avanti International Resort
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
10.0 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4,596 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at SeaWorld
4.9 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#87 of 337 in Orlando
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#54 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing