We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #203 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Went here for a "get away" to use up the time share before it expired. Check in was okay we arrived a bit early since we read about the lines.

Then on to the next stop, we were offered the full breakfast, until the sales person back peddled when she found out our Significant Others were not traveling with us, then she revoked the free breakfast, since we could not sign up for "another" time share. (I was appalled at this customer service).

When we arrived to our room, the keys did not work. (We were not offered to be "shown" to our room we figured because we were not doing the tour.) It was very hot out and we had to call several numbers to finally get someone to come and help us. The workers around just ignored us. They brought the key computer with them and fixed the issue and the security men were very kind and professional, after realizing I was pregnant even brought our luggage through the doors for us too.
The room was very clean and spacious.
The pools were very nice and clean - it would have been nice to have a few free standing umbrellas. There were only ones attached to the tables. There were multiple pools and one played music and 2 had snack bars. There were a few that said they had snack bars on the map including the one closest to us, but they were not open. The owner bbq just took over one of the pools so be aware when those are so you can avoid them.

Staff was hit and miss, I was cut off several times while driving by the little golf carts at night. Other staff would be very friendly. The lobby staff was hit and miss as well as far as friendliness.

Close location to drive to Disney if you wish. A lot of restaurants around the area, mostly chains.

Check out was a mess, we called for express check out and waited on the phone for over 40 min. We ended up just driving up to the lobby and checked out in less than 3 min.
Nothing to say an amazing place just a good timeshare place that you could take a family that is cheap and close to Disney.

Room Tip: Ask to see a map and avoid the main road, you can usually pick your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westgate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your vacation. We were happy to know your check in when well and our Security Team responded in a professional manner. Our Housekeeping Team works very hard to keep our resort and villas clean and well-maintained. Yes, we are located close to all the popular Central Florida attractions including the Disney parks and Universal Resort Orlando. We do apologize for the delays at check out and will work with our staff so we can prevent this from happening again. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,947 - 2,953 of 5,655 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very nice property. Alot you can do, if you want too! But, it was just good too wake up and know you don't have to do anything! Loved the sunsets over the lake. I Paddle boated but didn't get a chance to fish. Got there and they said wifi was free! I was excited because at the vegas resort you pay. Problem was I didn't take my computer. I guess it was time to relax and chill! One problem is when you say BBQ for the owners, I expect BBQ not sloppy joe over nachos. ALL IN ALL, it was a good week! Oh and another thing, expect to pay at least $48-$50 from the airport.It would have been better to rent a car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COOPDALOOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westgate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We are very happy to know you had a relaxing week while staying at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We offer a variety of amenities and recreational activities for our guests and owners. Our mission is to provide a quality vacation experience regardless of what your agenda is and it sounds like we succeeded. On behalf of the entire team thank you for choosing Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa and we hope you come back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We waited for 1.5 hours to check in while other employees stood around, rooms need updating desperately, you are treated like a second class citizen. People are not very nice, especially if you have a problem. Don't walk, run!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westgate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your review of your vacation with us last November. We apologize if you felt getting into your villa took longer than you had anticipated. Our Front Office team will do everything possible to grant an early check however due to the amount of business levels we may not be able to provide an early check in. Thank you again and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a good stay on our trip in September 2012. The room was clean but needs a lot of updating along the lines of Westgate Palace level. We no issues with checking and out twice but however I think they need to be more accomodating to Owners that wish to stay more than their owner week.

The food and Discounts at Smokehouse were very good. The breafast menu might need some variation also portion sizes should be flexible.

Room Tip: Best time to go is September when the kids are in school if you are a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ansley_Edey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westgate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We thank you for your comments on your visit to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. As an owner your feed back is extremely valuable to us in our efforts to continually improve. We have upgrades to our villas each year and it is always a work in progress to provide the best accommodations in Orlando. We were happy to read you enjoyed the Smoke House Grill restaurant and yes September is a great time to visit. Thank you and we look forward to your future visits to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed there doing an Interval week exchange with my husband in the main room, and my parents and sister in the other room. The villa was huge, the decorations were a little outdated but very clean, comfortable and a lovely lake view.

We requested a lake view and a room on the top floor since I read about the noise about other travelers. When we got to the room the AC was not cooling, we immediately called the front desk and 30 minutes later some man arrived and fixed the situation.

I noticed that this resort doesn't consider an interval exchanger like an owner, this is the first time it happens to me since everywhere I go using our Interval we are considered owners with all the privileges. In this hotel you have to pay for an activity or amenities card in order to enjoy the activities offered inside the hotel. However this didn't bother me since I was out all day; however it did bother me the fact that they don't offer free wifi. How is it possible that a hotel nowadays don't offer this service??

Moreover if you wanted wifi you had to pay a fee and ONLY 1 device could use that connection. There were 5 of us inside the 2 bedroom villa and all of us had either a laptop, ipad or iphone, therefore we decided it was useless to pay this service.

Room Tip: Request a building with a lake view on a top floor. You'll have a great view and a good night sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lorcha1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westgate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your response on you vacation at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. Our team takes great pride in consistently offering an exceptional vacation experience for all of our guests. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your accommodations and that housekeeping met your expectations. We apologize for the confusion with the access to WIFI. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will select us again should your travels bring you back to Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This Resort is located in a good area. Close to lots of amenities and easy access to major roads. We did not take the timeshare presentation. I like the fact that we had a washer and dryer right in the unit. Clean and a very friendly staff. It was a timeshare exchange and I would go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westgate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for sharing your review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa. Our resort is definitely located in a “good area.” We are located close to the shopping outlets, theme parks and restaurants. Our villas are fully furnished and well equipped to provide our guests all the comforts of home. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we are pleased that you would stay with us again. We look forward to exceeding your expectations again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I own a 4-bedroom villa and reserved another 2 bedroom for a long anticipated family retreat to accomodate nine of us. Daughter, husband and two young kids took the red eye from the west coast but couldn't check in until after 4 pm. What's with all the mystery in getting an assigned room in advance? I booked 9 months ahead and still had to wait in that long line for them to check us in although I called ahead. We finally settled in the old building and didn't have hot water, but flying roaches wanted to live with us. What am I paying maintenance fees for? After complaints we repacked and were moved to a newer building. Neither building had more than a 10% occupancy rate for the end of Sept- Oct 6 so we could have started out there.
In the end we had a great time and would like to visit Vegas. No, we don't always want to vacation in Orlando. However, we are always told there is nothing available. I am soooooo sorry I made this purchase!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westgate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

As an owner we value your comments, so thank you for your feed back about your vacation to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We will do everything possible to allow our owners to check in early but there are a limited amount of four bedroom villas and if you requested to be close to one another this can cause delays. If you felt we did not attempt to honor your request please accept our apologies. We were very happy to know your family had a great Orlando vacation and we were able to make it special. Thank you again and we look forward to having you vacation with us in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
10.0 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#84 of 340 in Orlando
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#30 of 340 in Orlando
5,763 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosen Centre Hotel
Rosen Centre Hotel
#143 of 340 in Orlando
2,966 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#65 of 340 in Orlando
4,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Address: 9500 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#52 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $86 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful lakefront Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa lies near world-class theme parks (complimentary shuttle service is available). Onsite amenities include seven outdoor heated pools and hot tubs, lakeside marina, Drafts Sports Bar & Grill and world-class Serenity Spa by Westgate. Enjoy your favorite cocktail at one of three poolside bars. Choose from a variety of accommodations ranging from studios to spacious four-bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing