We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice For Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #205 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Fort Lauderdale, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Choice For Families”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

As Florida residents, we take advantage of the discount tickets offered by the Disney parks and visit Orlando a few times a year. We have stayed in a few different hotels but, as a rule, now only stay at Westgate properties. For about the same price as a hotel, if not a little cheaper, we get a few extras at Westgate that make traveling with our kids so much easier. My husband and I spent a long weekend at Lakes Resort and Spa with our four-year-old daughter and seven-month-old son. We booked a studio, which is the smallest room available on the property, and were more than comfortable. The room offered a California-king-size bed for my husband and I and a love-seat-sofabed for our daughter. Our son slept in his pack-and-play. There is plenty of storage for clothes, etc...with a curio-cabinet closet and a number of drawers. A huge whirlpool tub was somewhat oddly placed out in the open between the bed and the bathroom, but my daughter had a blast in it and called it her "pool." The shower was equally large and actually had decent water pressure...a rare find in Orlando hotels. For me, the best part of the room is its kitchenette. It comes fully-stocked with utensils, cups, plates, bowls, etc...and a microwave and refrigerator...lifesavers for feeding the kids. Wal-Mart is less than a mile away, so we stopped by there on our way in and stocked up on some quick meals to prepare in the room, saving a bundle on food expenses. (Kitchenette even came with dishwashing liquid, a sponge and paper towels.) Our room was literally a few steps from the pool and had an enormous screened-in patio. We'd get home from a day at the park, throw on our suits and take a quick dip (water was so refreshing!) My only complaint is the nighttime parking...OMG, it is awful! We literally had to park two buildings away one night. It would behoove Westgate to have assigned parking. Other than that, this place makes traveling with children a breeze. It's not the fanciest place in Orlando, but it's nice and is just a few minutes from all of the Disney parks. Besides, who needs fancy when your kids will make a mess of it anyway? :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahFL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westgate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for your response about your family getaway to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. It was a pleasure to read how your family enjoyed themselves and took advantage of all the amenities the resort has to offer. Because we have seven pools all our villas are walking distance to each pool or there is transportation available if you wish to go to a certain location. We were happy you found the “Studio unit” which is actually larger than the standard hotel room, well equipped with everything you needed for a comfortable stay. As you stated we are close to all the amusement parks and shopping which is an added benefit when visiting Orlando.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will select Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa each time you visit from South Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,870
    1,532
    795
    552
    811
See reviews for
2,949
1,079
74
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,059)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I did a Hotwire search for hotels in Orlando by clicking on an area on an Orlando map, picking hotels which are 3 or more stars and then getting the hotel without knowing what hotel I would get. I got the room for $48+$11resort fee = $59 a night. Since I have never stayed at a Westgate I was not sure what type of hotel I got for $48 a night. I was EXTREMELY surprised when I arrived to find what I would rate as a 4+ star place. When I checked in the people were really friendly. The Welcome package with information on local attractions and the box of cookies put a smile on my face. When I got to the room I was thrilled to have a little kitchen (small frig, toaster, microwave, real glass dishes and real silverware) since my business trip was a week long. Less then a mile away there was a Walmart which came in handy since I had an in room kitchen. Going to the conference that I was attending I would pass SeaWorld which was only about 2 miles away (4 minutes) from Westgate. I found, by accident, Universal Studios which was about 4 miles away (8 minutes) from the Westgate.
Since returning yesterday from the trip. I am already planning on taking my wife and daughter on vacation to Orlando and I defiantly plan to stay at the Westgate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanmanaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westgate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
It was a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa this past April. We feel we are one of the best values in all of Orlando and provide the level of service of most 4 star hotels. Regardless if you are traveling for business or pleasure we offer spacious accommodations, amenities and the convince of all the attractions, dinning, and recreation Orlando has to offer. As you found out we are only a short distance to the Orlando Convention Center as well. This makes us the perfect place when attending a conference or trade show. On behalf of the entire Westgate Team thank you for you feedback and we look forward to your next visit to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa.

If we can assist in your future vacation plans please call us at 407-345-0000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

It was simply the best, from the time my husband and i entered. We were greeted by Adam, and the host sat us to our table, there was no wait. Soon we were greeted by maggie,who took great care of us. we felt right at home, after lookin over the menu we ask for a sample of the brisket due to my husband high blood,he cant have too much salt ,after tasting the brisket we knew, we had died and gone straight to haven,oh boy it was the best brisket we ever had. My complements to the cheff he said they cook their brisket for 16 to 18 hours a day and never serve left overs, always cooked fresh everday. thank you westgate smokehouse grill, for the,Best Dorn Brisket my husband and i ever ate,and ate and ate. thank you, Adam and Maggie Job well done, and my hats off to the cheff and i dont even wear a hat..In His Love Herbert and Kenetha Mincey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenethamincey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westgate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa and particularly our Smokehouse Grill restaurant. We are very happy you enjoyed your dinner at the Smokehouse and you found the beef brisket the “best” you ever had. We take great pride in our food and service at the Smokehouse Grill and strive to be the number one BBQ restaurant in the Orlando area. Your comments will be shared with our food and beverage staff so they are aware of your positive feed back. Thank you again and we look forward to your future visits to Westgate Lakes Resort.

If you are in the Orlando area please come back to the Smokehouse Grill we are open to the public for breakfast and lunch daily!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I have stayed at this location many times in the past and I am glad to report it is still a fine place to stay. If you are doing Disney resorts, parks etc or just in the area for business it is a wonderful
option for you. Much more affordable and just as much to do. Located about three minutes from Sea World parks and ten minutes from Universal Studios and international drive the entertainment and dining options are endless. The rooms are suites as this is a time share resort that rents the available rooms out to the public. Multiple pools and a lakeside setting make it really easy to cool off in the Florida sun.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mildred O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westgate Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We are happy to read that you have stayed with us “many times in the past” and still consider our resort a “fine place to stay.” We are located close to all the attractions and amusement parks Central Florida has to offer. We are also a Universal Partner Hotel®. We thank you for choosing Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa for your Orlando vacations!
We look forward to your future visits and exceeding your expectations once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I had to visit due to a trade show and decided to take the family, with it being our first time doing the Disney thing we were overwhelmed with choices of where to stay. We knew an owner and he assured us that this was the place to be near and do everything. He couldn't have been more right. I can't comment on other places but there couldn't be one much better. The staff was professional. The accomodations terrific, we had a double room and it is like 2 apartments which worked out for the older kids. The grounds and pool areas large and well kept. Although seating can be a problem on busy weeks. And the location is second to none for access to all the parks and restaurants. We love loved it and wish we had more than the week. I would recommend it to anyone. This was a very large 3 bedroom 3 bathroom set-up and it was only 1k for the week in prime time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Wesgate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. You are correct; our resort is a “great place, affordable and well located”. We are near all the Central Florida attractions and shopping outlets making us a great place for an Orlando family vacation. Thank you for your kind words about your staff. They work very hard to ensure that all guests are enjoying their vacation. We are happy that your “accommodations were terrific” and that you would recommend our resort to anyone.
Thank you again and please come back to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa during your next Orlando vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had been fixed week, fixed apartment owners since 2003, generally using alternate years to visit Florida. Whereas the majority of our visits have been first rate our most recent vacation had us amongst the short stay rental properties where we did not feel the benefit of being an owner. To resolve this problem we have become 'floating week' owners and have up-graded to a four bedroom villa. Whether we are able to select the villa and location of our choice with this upgrade is yet to be proven. Please Westgate give four bedroom apartment owners a clear listing of which blocks would be available, especially the newer apartments. We have always found the apartments to be clean and well stocked with bedding/towels/basic kitchen supplies etc. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. We have loaned our apartment out to friends twice and they have all had good experiences. It is within easy reach of the Disney parks, places to eat and the shopping malls. Would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in Florida.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westgate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for your response about your recent visit to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. As a Westgate owner your comments are very important to us and we appreciate the feed back. We believe by upgrading from a “Fixed Week” to a “Floating Week” you will find it will give you much greater flexibility when scheduling your vacation and more options. We take great pride in maintaining our resort and we are happy you find your villa always clean and well taken care of, in addition to the staff being friendly and efficient. You travel a long distance and we are happy you always have a good experience while visiting us.
It is always a pleasure to hear from our owners so thank you again, and thank you for recommending Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were in Orlando for a Trade Show and needed space to do work and relax. The property was outstanding. Very clean, lovely staff, really nicely stocked. The only "bummer" is that we were there for only one night. We would absolutely stay at this property again and will recommend it to friends/family coming into town for either conventions or the great Disney/Orlando Adventure.

Room Tip: We asked for Lake View Villa to avoid pool noise and were really happy with it. The view was so pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BassetHoundMama007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, The Westagate Lakes Team at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa while attending your business conference. We believe whether our guests visit for business or pleasure we are the perfect place to stay. It was nice you found the resort was clean and the staff was accommodating.
We are sorry you could not stay longer you will just have to come back and visit us longer the next time you come to the Orlando area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
10.0 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
0.9 mi away
Avanti International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#18 of 338 in Orlando
4,656 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at SeaWorld
1.8 mi away
Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#53 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing