We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westgate Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westgate Palace Resort
Ranked #165 of 333 Hotels in Orlando
Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Booking in Wastegate was easy thru Universal Website. Price was good and competitive. Checking was very friendly and easy. Staying was pleasant. Location was perfect. The checkout was easy and fast. What else do you need to have a nice vacation?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlStCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments on your visit to Westgate Palace. We are very happy to read we exceeded your expectations and you plan to return. Our goal is to provide great service and outstanding accommodations please accept our apologies regarding the night shift agent. We look forward to having your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    469
    171
    114
    145
See reviews for
1,010
97
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was a little leery about being pressured about timeshare sales pitches but there was only one phone call and no pressure.

Pros: The two bedroom option was plenty of room for a family of 5. Beds were comfortable. Friendly staff. Heated Pool, Quick Room Service. Nice kitchen area. Two bathrooms. Jet bath tub, Washer & Dryer in room.

Cons: WiFi is $9.99 per day or $49.99 for 7 days for only one device at a time. Pull out couch was uncomfortable. Limited shuttle service to Universal Studios only so I recommend renting a car if you plan on going to Disney and Sea World. TV's need updating but they had just ordered hundreds of new flat screens.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments on your visit to Westgate Palace. Our goal is to provide great service and outstanding accommodations. The issues encountered by you will be shared with the management team in order to correct these flaws. Thank you again for rating us fantastic, and we look forward to having your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Westgate stated they were "pet friendly" when the reservation was made...there is a $75 surcharge for the small dog.....and then they add a $80 cleaning fee regardless of condition of room. This was not explained during the phone registration process...nor was it revealed that
they are NOT a hotel but a TIME SHARE complex. Avoid this as your destination since there are deceptive and hidden charges. The rooms are small...depending on the rate you pay....you may be required to attend a 90 minute mandatory time share sales pitch. Staff is robotic...rbg

Room Tip: Stay away from this time share agenda
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We do offer the opportunity to purchase Vacation Ownership, but this is at the discretion of each guest. The $80.00 charged on your account is the operation cost to deep clean the unit after a pet has been inside- this is done as a courtesy to the next guest occupying the unit. We take our guests' comments very seriously and your feedback has been shared with members of our management team to address them. We appreciate you for bringing this to our attention. On behalf of the entire team, thank you for selecting our resort for your Orlando visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Prior to our arrival at the resort, we were uncertain and ready for the shoe to drop, but it never did. We experienced one pleasant surprise after another. For the convenience to the Park, I believe we made the right choice with Westgate Palace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to advise us about your vacation at Westgate Palace. Our goal is to provide a quality vacation experience which exceeds all expectations. It is encouraging to know we accomplished this for you. It was our pleasure to have you visit and provide you with the accommodations and amenities you would expect at a resort of our size and quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here the first week in January with some mixed feelings about this place. Cons: They only have one grill/bar which they claim to have several. The bar outside the pool area was NEVER opened so no mixed drink for me. The pool was cold & after 2pm the sun goes over the building so you sit in shade for the rest of the day. You can buy a beer for $5 or $6, food on average was $8-$9, a little on the expensive side. The elevator makes a horrible beeping noise as it is moving up & down on the floors, annoyance! Housekeeping consist of them making the beds & removing garbage & leaving towels. On the last night before departure as I was sitting on the toilet a COCKROACH was crawling on the bathroom floor, gross! We also never got a wakeup call in the morning as requested. Not a manager in the morning to complain about these things. The frontdesk was not helpful, she could have offered a free breakfast. She was supposed to have a manager call me when we got home, but no manager did! Not a very friendly place, lacking good customer service! Pros: close to Universal and with walking distance to Walgreens. Don't go to ABC store as they are very expensive! Rooms are good for the two bedroom, bathroom & with a kitchen....a little run down but okay!

Room Tip: ask for a view of the lake & wet & wild
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4711lora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Please accept our apologies if we did not meet your expectations during your vacation.We certainly did not get the reputation we have by providing this type of experience for our guests. Your comments have been shared with our management staff in order to address this and avoid it in the future. Thank you for sharing this with us-we hope you will consider us again so we can exceed your expectations in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed during first week of January 2013. We had a room on the 18th floor facing Wet n Wild. For a family of five (16, 13 & 9), it was very nice to have two bedrooms and bathrooms. Bedrooms were small, with second room having two twin beds, but bathrooms were a good size and our room was very clean. Queen sleeper sofa in living area. We did not explore or use any amenities offered - spending all of our time at Universal. Great location to Universal, but I would not have wanted to walk it. We rented a car. They do offer shuttle services that require a days advance notice, but we did not want to be tied to a schedule. Parking at universal was quick and easy, costing $15, and you could come and go all day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Txeagle777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your visit and your check in was fast and easy. As you discovered, our resort is in the perfect location to Universal Studios. Our partnership with Universal allows our guests to enjoy the parks while we provide the accommodations. We hope to have you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Me and my family stayed here from 19th December till 2nd of January. We had 2, 2 bedroom apartments which were spacious and clean. It was ideal that you had laundry facilities inside your apartment as it meant no laundry to do when you got home. I also found that cooking breakfast on a morning did save us quite a bit of money and we always had snacks and cereal which saved us as well. We Will definitely be going back to Westgate Palace, in fact we are looking to going back 2014.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Westgate Palace.
Many families prefer a self catering property as it saves a lot of money on food.
We are looking forward to exceeding your expectations on your 2014 vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#22 of 333 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,256 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Palace Resort

Property: Westgate Palace Resort
Address: 6145 Carrier Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8254
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#46 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#126 Business Hotel in Orlando
#165 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Palace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish, Two-Towers Vacation Resort in the Heart of Orlando Westgate Palace Resort is an amazing two-tower, lakeside Orlando, Florida, hotel that lies just off world-famous International Drive and within walking distance of Wet 'n Wild(R) Water Park and more than 200 specialty shops and family-friendly restaurants. Guests enjoy spacious accommodations that feature all the comforts of a fully furnished home and a multitude of onsite amenities, including a heated outdoor pool, hot tub, Pool Bar and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Westgate Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Palace Hotel Orlando
Westgate Palace Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing