We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios
Ranked #57 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Argyle, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

My family and I booked this hotel because we know the name and the quality that usually goes with that name.
Most of my disappointment has to do with the low grade, 1980s, terrible, decor. This place needs a MAJOR update!
The other part of my disappointment has to do with the cleanliness. I slept with only a sheet, because the coverlet had stains and dried who know what all over it. The pull out couch was absolutely disgusting. To the point I had to layer it with a blanket then 5 additional sheets.
When traveling with 4 kids and you arrive later in the evening, the last thing you want to do is extra work. Or any work for that matter! I didn't know I would have to clean and shake out everything my kids were laying on.
I will never return to this location. The only reason I gave it a 2 is because of its location.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzie2154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the decor and the cleanliness of your room and apologize for this experience. We work hard to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of our guests and apologize for the conditions of your linens. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that if you travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again.

Kind Regards,

Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    491
    118
    46
    20
See reviews for
994
231
21
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here on business. Was greeted by name at check-in, and no problems about changing my room from the I-4 highway side to the more quiet parking lot/pool side. Nice spacious suites, including bedrooms that had quasi-bay windows. Food was better than most Homewoods; for example, breakfast burritos served by a smiling server, and make-your-own-waffles one morning. I had business in Lakeland, so this hotel's location was very convenient since it is on the western side of Orlando and right off I-4.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotamundos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of our Homewood Suites. I am pleased to hear that my Reception staff welcomed you by name and your comments regarding breakfast quality and the "smiling server" are especially appreciated. When your travels bring you back through Orlando we look forward to welcoming you home again.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merritt island, florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

great hotel, good location, awesome suite with full kitchen, and huge bedroom.
there was five of us and we weren't at all crowded. the hotel sent up a gift bag for the birthday girl...nice touch. nice complimentary hot breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyrider49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Homewood Suites to celebrate this milestone! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Fl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My family and I decided to stay here because of the location relative to Universal Studios. We spent the entire day at Universal, then checked in at the hotel around 7:15PM. It was a quick and easy check in. Parking was easy and free of charge. The room was nice, the beds cozy, and the bathroom clean. One issue we did have was the noise outside our door. Our room was located directly in front of the stairs access on the second floor. Many people used the stairs and it was quite noisy. Not just the people talking loudly, but also the door slamming and echoing in the stairway. Luckily, we were all asleep by 10PM and the noises did not keep us awake or wake us up during the night. We'll go back, but will request a room away from the stairs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank GainesvilleTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Homewood Suites for your visit to Orlando. I am sorry to hear about the noise you experienced, though I am happy to hear that Housekeeping took great care of you. We enjoyed having you as our guests and look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent three days in the hotel. The hotel is not super fancy, but the price you pay for is well worth it because of how convenient and family friendly it is.

Pros
- Friendly hotel staff
- Kitchen area, you can stash up on simple foods and cook simple meals.
>Refrigerator, Microwave and Mini stove, pots, pans, utensils.
-The hotel is situated in an extremely convenient location.
>1 minute drive to Wet' n Wild, 5 minutes drive to Universal Studios, 5 minute drive to Orlando Premium Outlet
>Walgreens, 7/11, iHOP, Denny's, Red Lobster are all 1-3 minutes driving time from the hotel
- Complimentary Breakfast and Dinner (with different dinner options every night)

Con
- The air con was blowing directly at one of the beds, so we had to sleep on the other bed.
- No safe in the room
- Dirty stained towels in the kitchen (they have been washed, but the stains on them calls for replacement)
- The door dividing the living room and bedroom could not be closed properly.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone (especially families).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Homewood Suites. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. Your kind remarks regarding my friendly staff are especially appreciated. When your travels bring you back to Orlando, we look forward to serving you again!

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our family stayed at the Homewood Suites for 4 nights in mid-October. Our favorite hotel chain used to be the Hampton Inn but Homewood Suites is ready to take over the top. The cost and breakfast are very similar to Hampton Inn, but the convenience of a suite with the extra room to spread out and the free dinner give Homewood Suites the edge. Plus of the ones we have stayed at, the Homewood Suites just seem a little newer/nicer. Great location for Universal Studios and SeaWorld.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimsHusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit with our family. We know how important family vacations are and we are happy to know that we were able to help make yours even more special. Many of our guests enjoy the convenience of having a suite in which to spread out, and having the refrigerator for drinks and snacks. Families often recognize great savings with breakfast and weekday dinners as well. Thank you for choosing our Homewood Suites for this special time with your family and we do hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Friendly Staff- Clean place- Great Food and Free - Close to everything, restaurants, shopping places, mall and parks - Just the Best Place to Stay for Vacation or Business. Super quiet. And most important thing economic.
100% Recommended.

Room Tip: Wake up between 7-9 and get free breakfast ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Your compliments are genuinely appreciated by my entire team. Thank you for helping me to share your friendly feedback in our daily team meetings. Comments such as yours go a long way in encouraging us to go that extra mile for our guests. We truly enjoyed having you with us and we look forward to serving you again when you return to Orlando.

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Orlando Resort
#18 of 338 in Orlando
4,652 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios
Address: 5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#38 Business Hotel in Orlando
#55 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest To Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Orlando Universal
Suites Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Homewood Universal Suites
Orlando Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing