We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rosen Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$274
$239
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$157
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$345
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribe Royale Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$271
$239
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$470
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$437
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Disney's Pop Century Resort(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$204
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,480)
Filter reviews
2,480 results
Traveler rating
1,071
856
316
123
114
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,071
856
316
123
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspointe orlandoconvention centerinternational drivecafe matissejack's placelite bitepool areaconvenience storeattending a conferencehigh floorrestaurants and barslobby barself parkingclean hoteltwo double bedsnice poolhousekeeping staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,133 - 2,138 of 2,480 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2007

Rosen Plaza Hotel is excellently located, directly opposite Pointe Orlando at South end of International Drive. Literally 6 minutes away from Sea World.
If you wish to stay at a hotel which is NOT full of families and their children, then this is a perfect place to stay.
The area around this part of International Drive, is very very clean and not overrun by other tacky hotels and suvenior shops.
Pointe Orlando is being heavily renovated at present, and not many shops and eating places are open, but I believe that it is due to be completed summer of this year.
Lobby entrance of Rosen Plaza is beautiful, large, airy and a lovely area to lounge in.
Bar area has plenty of comfortable chairs, settee's and they make beautiful Pina Colada's.
Matisse restaurant is very very nice to have breakfast, and is well
worth $12. Plenty of choices...
Next to Matisse is Light Bites (open 24 hours).
Considering the smallness of this area is, the conveniences which are stocked are just right. You can buy a beer and bottle of wine here, and take it out to the pool. Saves having to ask for bar service.....
Star Bucks (by side of entrance to pool) is an massive plus at breakfast time if you are dashing off to the theme parks and only want a warm drink, or just before retiring to bed.
The towels by poolside are excellent, always plenty of them.
Pool is not a large as it looks on their website, but is adequate.
Only disadvantage is the lack of sun parasoles by pool side.
The only ones are located over the tables one level up from the pool.
The room was really really nice, far better than had been anticipated. Easily big enough for anyone. Plenty of towels and toileters.
Air conditing worked perfectly.
Room service was very good each day.
Plenty of wardrobe space, and plenty of hangers.
Ice machine located very close by (this is a must).
Cab's located outside the hotel are very useful to use, and are extremely well groomed. Expecially Mr Singh's Black Lincoln cab.
Jack's Place is also worth visiting - only negative thing about it is it is like being in a Refrigator....
OVERALL, I do think that this is a very good 4* hotel and would recommend anyone staying here.

Stayed: April 2007
4  Thank Orlando Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

After reading some of the reviews, I have to admit I was feeling a little deflated about booking here. I was aware it was a conference hotel, being opposite the orange convention centre gave that one away!! But I wouldn't say we were affected at all. Yes, the Hotel was busy, but we weren't inconvenienced at all. There were plenty of lifts to the rooms, so we never had to wait, and we never had a problem being served in any of the hotel areas. Check in was a breeze, pleasant staff and plenty of them. We had a room on the 10th floor, so the views were pretty good, looking along International drive. The rooms were very good, and clean and fresh and the bathroom was clean and in good repair. There was plenty of parking available if you don't want to use the Valet parking. I would happily stay here again if I came back to International Drive.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank poppyland3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Stayed here 15th April 2007 for 14 nights. I cant understand why this hotel isn’t as well known about as some others, it really is a true gem. We had requested a high floor and were allocated floor 13 room number 1310. This had a great view of the famous Convention Centre and in the distance the new Sea World water park ‘ Aquatica’.

Our room had two double beds, AC, Bath/Shower, WC and separate sink/dressing area. It has an ample size wardrobe and in room safe -free of charge as well as a daily stocked coffee machine. The location is superbly located on ID, 15 mins-Disney Parks and 10 mins - Universal. We had car hire included in our package and parking was free throughout the duration. Valet parking is available at around $5-$9 per day and is parked right at the front of the hotel. If you have opted against a car there is shuttle service provided by the hotel to all the main park at $14-. The I Trolley is a much cheaper option and number 25 stop is located on ID at the front of the hotel.

POOL - Huge with a separate kids area. There is a Jacuzzi which is as hot as a bath and comes complete with a waterfall. There are also complimentary sun beds and towels in abundance.

BAR AREA - Plenty of good comfy seats and TV in general area. Waitress service is very goo or drinks if you don’t want to sit up at h bar itself. Drinks were reasonable for hotel prices coming in at $4- for a Corona and $7.50 for a large red wine.

GYM - The gym is reasonably equipped with running machines and other cardio equipment and free weights. It does get very busier and is not the biggest so I personally found jogging on ID more enjoyable.

FOOD - Couldn’t go wrong really

Café Matisse - is a general restaurant which we only used for breakfast’s $11- plus drinks for ‘AYCE’ buffet which includes a wide choice of fresh fruit and cooked breakfast.

Light Bite - Providing a good variety of snacks, sandwiches drinks etc. I really enjoyed the ‘Everything Bagel’ toasted with cream cheese for breakfast. LB also has a take-away pizza parlour attached to it serving fresh baked piping hot pizza at $2.50 a slice.

To eat away from th hotel there are an abundance of restaurants to chose from, here are a couple of my recommendations. BOSTON LOBSTER FEAST - ‘AYCE’ sea food buffet at $35 per adult ½ for kids

CATTLEMANS - Great cowboy/saloon style steak house, 3 course with wine 2 adults $120
TGI Fridays - Good family atmosphere but service a little rushed
BAHAMA BREEZE - Gorgeous Caribbean food but very popular so make reservations
MNGS Chinese restaurant - Top Notch

If you want a cheap hearty breakfast but slightly greasy ‘Sizzler’ AYCE breakfast buffet is $4.99 pp plus drinks.

There is a great nighclub whose houseband 'Soundtrax' play popular songs 5 nights a week. Women drink free before midnight on Thursdays. It is a upmarket nightclub not the spit and saw dust type.

POINTE ORLANDO Shopping mall is directly opposite the hotel and is still under construction but numerous shops and restaurants are already open. This is going to be a very classy shopping mall when completed. Tommy Bahamas opened here in Dec 06 and we ate here twice. I challenge you to eat ‘Blackbeards Butterscotch’ for dessert.

Yes this hotel is very popular due to it being near the convention centre but it is well managed and never felt crowded. We found this an ideal place to stay and were able to relax and unwind after very hectic days at the theme parks. It is located in the more sophisticated end of ID and everything is still close by. The total package price we paid for two weeks, flights and car hire two adults was £2080.00 which I thought was reasonable. It was booked on our behalf due to us being part of a wedding party so shopping around might prove fruitful. The hotel direct, charges $200 per room per night.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank LardyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

We stayed at the Rosen Plaza from 30th March until 9th April and as a base for exploring the parks of Orlando it was good. The hotel is at the quieter end of International Drive which we preferred and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We only ate in one of the hotel restaurants on one night and the food wasn't wonderful and was quite expensive into the bargain. We ate out at the Capital Grill which looks a bit upmarket but was actually very friendly and served excellent food, Hooters (a favourite of my teenage son for obvious reasons!!!) and Johnny Rockets which served the best malt I have ever tasted, all within walking distance of the hotel. Best meal though was at Cattlemans. I think this is a chain but the shrimp and scallops I had were lovely. Husband also loved his steak. We ate breakfast at the Sizzler just a few minutes walk from the hotel and excellent value at $4.99 a person for an unlimited buffet. Get there early though as it gets very busy. There were a number of conventions at the hotel whilst we were there but to be honest they didn't bother us as we were out all day every day any way. The one day we did spend by the pool was Easter Saturday and it was very peaceful and not at all crowded. Plenty of sunbeds and a lovely warm pool and separate jacuzzi to relax in. We were disturbed a couple of times in the night and I have to say the walls are the thinnest of any hotel I have stayed in but it didn't get to the point where we had to complain. Even though it was in the high 70's and low 80's all the time we were there it did get a bit chilly in the night and so we never really needed the air con on (which amazed me as I an an air con fanatic usually). Service was always polite and prompt and the free shuttle buses are a bonus. Quick overview of the parks; we loved Universal (both parks) and Epcot but found the Magic Kingdom a bit dated, Also, we got a fastpass for Space Mountain the minute we arrived but when we went back at our alloted time it was closed due to malfunction. We were scheduled to leave soon after and so could not take advantage of the fastpass which was a shame. We also went to Seaworld and loved the shows. Son went on Kraken (alone due to the cowardice of the rest of the family) and absolutely loved it - not for the faint hearted though. We did a trip down to Clearwater for the day and it was nice to get away from the queues and the crowds. We also went to Crystal River to swim with manatees but didn't have much luck due to the manatees being shy that day.

All in all a great holiday for the family but one we probably won't repeat - been there done that and looking forward to the tranquility of Barbados next year instead.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mrs_Whitcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2007

It being our first time in Orlando, Florida we had high expectations for it to be fantastic holiday, and of course it was and the hotel was lovely.

It is a very well-kept hotel with very friendly staff who were always willing to help and make our holiday most enjoyable, we were on the 13th floor which may be unlucky for some but wasn't in our case.
We went at a time when the hotel wasn't too busy so we had the pool to ourselves just about everyday after a long day at the parks. No distruptions or noise apart from the odd function, but that didn't bother us. Restaurants and attractions within walking distance, which was perfect.

Loved it so much hoping to go back in October 2007. shall leave a review to see if my views are still the same.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MBailey-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews