We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated. Tired. Smelly. I don't think so.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosen Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosen Plaza Hotel
Ranked #86 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dated. Tired. Smelly. I don't think so.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed one night. Purchased through priceline. Has the feel of a 2* hotel, maybe a notch above an Econo Lodge. Stale, musty smell in room. This is definitely not a 3.5 star hotel. The air conditioner in my brother's room didn't work. My business advice? Offer rooms as a 2.5 star hotel and people wouldn't be so disappointed and underwhelmed.

Room Tip: Probably not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imandy0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwd62, Public Relations Manager at Rosen Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hi imandy0517,

We are sad to hear about your disappointment with Rosen Plaza. We will pass on your comments to management, and they will be taken into consideration. We want Rosen Plaza to be a comfortable and elegant home away from home for our guests. We hope you will give us a chance to greatly exceed your expectations. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make up for this disappointing experience. Happy holidays!

Sincerely,

Ally Castaneda
Public Relations
Rosen Plaza
(407) 996-9700
assistant@deatrickpr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    787
    302
    121
    105
See reviews for
598
493
69
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed 11 nights at this hotel and was happy with everything. The rooms are large and well equipped. There is a great pool area with plenty of loungers and tables - only downside is that people can smoke by the pool which isn't pleasant and spoils it if you are unfortunate enough to be near someone who decides to light up. We ate at the Cafe Matisse on several occasions and enjoyed the food. Great location on International Drive. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwd62, Public Relations Manager at Rosen Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hi Ann442,

Thank you for taking the time to review multiple Rosen TripAdvisor profiles! We know this information will help prospective guests in planning their Orlando holidays. We are so glad that you enjoyed Cafe Matisse. Did you get a chance to dine at Jack's Place? If not, make sure to stop by there on your next visit. You can even get a caricature done! Once again, happy holidays!

Sincerely,

Ally Castaneda
Public Relations
Rosen Plaza
(407) 996-9700
assistant@deatrickpr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were advised that there was overbooking at our Rosen Inn at Pointe Orlando Hotel so we were being ugraded to their nearest sister hotel, Rosen Plaza. A bit sceptical we drove 2 blocks and were amazed and delighted to book in to this delight of an hotel. This is a recently opened hotel and everything was in pristine condition. The room was huge and immaculate. The bathroom was spacious with wonderful toiletries. The outside pool was large and I'm sorry I didn't have time to enjoy it. However, I did enjoy sitting by it having breakfast from the coffee shop in the hotel lobby. The breakfast served in the hotel restaurant was also excellent. A super surprise after an initial disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill-Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwd62, Public Relations Manager at Rosen Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hi Jill-Jack,

We are thrilled to exceed your expectations at Rosen Plaza! Thank you for your great review! We hope next time you join us you can experience the pool and all of the Florida sunshine. If you didn't get a chance to dine in Jack's Place or Cafe Matisse, those should also be on the top of your list for your next holiday! We hope you had a Merry Christmas! Enjoy your New Year's celebrations too!

Sincerely,

Ally Castaneda
Public Relations
Rosen Plaza
(407) 996-9700
assistant@deatrickpr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Its sad because this hotel could be up there with the best.
Pros
Big room
Nice view
Has a fridge
Beds aren't too bad
There's a club which is nice
The property is pretty from the outside
The reception area is also pretty
Cons
Stains on the rugs
Infestation of ants
Rude staff
I reported the infestation and was told they would take care of the problem in the am in which they never did. They offered to switch me to another room, but to pack and unpack was such an inconvience.
Some of the staff smiled while the rest looked like they hated their jobs. I reported the ant problem to their manager Frank Garcia (which I can not believe is a manager) and he was beyond rude. He had nothing positive to say to me and didn't want to hear what was going on. He completely tried to brush me off in such a rude manner. I contacted a higher power(whom was very understanding) and was compensated for one night. If they wouldve just fixed the problem like they said they were I wouldve been happier.
I would have to say the rosen plazas biggest flaw would have to be its employees. They need to fire and rehire people that truly care about their place of employment.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S4896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwd62, Public Relations Manager at Rosen Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hi S4896,

We are happy to hear that you appreciate the beauty and amenities of Rosen Plaza as much as we do. We desire for you to feel the same way about our staff and the services provided. We are glad that you were put in touch with the correct management to be compensated for the inconvenience. Thank you for also bringing it to our attention via your review. We want to make sure that any problems guests may encounter are resolved not only for their sake, but for the sake of future guests as well.

We hope you had a merry Christmas, and that you enjoy a blessed and happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Ally Castaneda
Public Relations
Rosen Plaza
(407) 996-9700
assistant@deatrickpr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Rosen Plaza continues to offer excellent value for money. The rooms are spacious and well maintained. The service facilities within the hotel have an excellent reputation but I did not use any of them this visit because the hotel is so well situated on International Blvd that you just need to step outside the door and you have a vast selection of restaurants and assorted stores.
Being connected to the West Concourse of the Orange County Conference Center but is a 15 minute walk from the South Concourse.
Again, excellent value.

Room Tip: I usually get a room on a middle floor eg 7. READ THIS: Do not get confused with the other Rosens i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwd62, Public Relations Manager at Rosen Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi W B,

Thank you for taking the time to review Rosen Plaza. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do love our location on International Drive. We hope that you will give Jack's Place and Cafe Matisse a chance on your next visit. We guarantee you will be satisfied with your meal. Happy holidays!

Sincerely,

Ally Castaneda
Public Relations
Rosen Plaza
(407) 996-9700
assistant@deatrickpr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I have just stayed at this hotel for the 4th time. We had a lovely stay here yet again. Staff were friendly and everything was just as lovely. We love the pool area here, the sun loungers are comfy and it is a real sun trap. It is also within walking distance of some nice restaurants. We requested a room on a high floor which they accommodated. The only gripe I have is that there was a horrible food stain on one of our curtains and despite telling two of the housemaids and ringing housekeeping to tell them it was left there for the entirety of our stay.

The breakfast buffet was not as extensive as I remember from last year but the food they do serve is nice.

It gets particularly busy over Thanksgiving weekend but calms down again afterwards. There were some cheerleading groups staying over the Thanksgiving weekend and they were quite noisy at night on their way to their rooms but once they had checked out it was nice and peaceful again.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, it's clean, well maintained, in a good location and nothing is too much trouble. We would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't have a connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George30_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwd62, Public Relations Manager at Rosen Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi George30_11,

We love our loyal guests! Is this visit a part of your Thanksgiving tradition?

We apologize for the lack of response in the housekeeping department. As you know, this is not the norm. Management will be notified about this matter.

We can't wait for your next visit. Enjoy the holidays!

Sincerely,

Ally Castaneda
Public Relations
Rosen Plaza
(407) 996-9700
assistant@deatrickpr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at the Rosen Plaza hotell during a conference, and must say that this hotel met my expectatons.

Pro:
- good breakfast buffet (not incl apors 15 USD)
- godd-sized rooms, large twin-beds, bathtub etc..
- free wifi (yep, even i 2013 some hotels does not have it..)
- silent rooms
- a variety of restaurant is close by, just a 3 min walk from the hotel

Cons:
- A/C in rooms are effective, but are "roaring" like Katy Perry ;-)
- some maintenance-work need to be done to keep it fresh both in rooms and lobby
- Fitness-center is great, but is too small when 5 people are trying to work out
- why play Kenny G load in the lobby?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napoleon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwd62, Public Relations Manager at Rosen Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi Napolean72,

We are so glad that you had a great overall experience at Rosen Plaza. We will take your suggestions into account and do our best to make your next stay even more enjoyable. We hope you have a great holiday season!

Sincerely,

Ally Castaneda
Public Relations
Rosen Plaza
(407) 996-9700
assistant@deatrickpr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Centre Hotel
#140 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#27 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosen Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosen Plaza Hotel

Property: Rosen Plaza Hotel
Address: 9700 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8114
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Family Hotel in Orlando
#86 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#96 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosen Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among Orlando's finest meeting, convention and vacation hotels, Rosen Plaza Hotel is famous for its high standard of excellence. Impressive Orlando meeting space, impeccable in-house staff and grand accommodations assure a seamless meeting experience for groups ranging from 10 to 2,800. With the Orange County Convention Center right next door, it is smart and simple to make Rosen Plaza Hotel your headquarters for Orlando meetings. Our hotel features a variety of savvy meeting rooms and breakout spaces on-site. It's time to wind down, you're only minutes away from Orlando's world-famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosen Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rosen Plaza
Rosen Plaza Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing