We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a slight issue with ants, but otherwise fine”
Review of Rosen Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rosen Plaza Hotel
Ranked #74 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a slight issue with ants, but otherwise fine”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is the 3rd Rosen property I have visited, the others being the Rosen Center and the Rosen ShingleCreek. i stayed for 2 nights for business.

Hotel location: located across the street from the Pointe Orlando shopping center and the Orange County Convention Center, it is very conveniently located from Convention Center related meetings and only 20-25 minutes from MCO airport. Sea World is roughly a 5-10 drive away, but some of the Disney parks are probably 30+ minutes away.

Check-in: staff was polite and efficient.

The room itself: I had a standard room on the 10th floor that overlooked the front drive. Road and traffic noise, however, was not an issue. Though the hotel is older than say, the ShingleCreek, the room looked like it was recently renovated, including digital temperature control for the room, updated tile floor and granite countertop in the bathroom, and flat screen TV. Beds were a little too soft for my taste. The only issues were the air conditioner being a bit loud and some ants that found themselves a cozy den in the room's desk (see photo of one of these denizens). I'm guessing one of the prior guests made quite a mess eating or drinking at the desk.

Conference facilities and staff: we had no technical difficulties with our business meetings. Everyone greatly appreciated the use of Orlando-appropriate background music (think of mouse ears) for the Q&A parts of our meeting. Meeting meals had a large assortment of heathy and premium options (eg Odwalla juices).

Check-out:efficient. No issues with mystery charges.

Summary: a fine enough hotel for business meetings, especially those at the Convention Center. One the down side, It is not at the level of luxury as the ShingleCreek and is not all that close to Disney if you need to take a taxi to the parks. Would I stay here for business again? Yes. Would I stay here for vacation? Only if I received a phenomenal room rate; otherwise, probably not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlcnst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    810
    310
    121
    108
See reviews for
625
508
70
678
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A great hotel - very comfortable and clean with friendly staff. Well positioned for all the major attractions and easy access to great restaurants at Pointe Orlando. Great for families and businesses likewise. The facilities for corporate events are fantastic. Even though there are regular exhibitions held at the hotel, it does not impose on families having their holiday. Lovely swimming pool although didn't have enough time to use it as so busy with visiting the attractions. Deli counter well supplied. Can't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor for added peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayeJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Rosen Plaza. We stayed during a very busy time (Spring Break) and the hotel itself was very nice but it was very packed.
The location, although on International Drive, was not in the busy part of Int. Drive. It is extremely close to the Convention Center.
The hotel has quite a few restaurants ranging from formal to casual. They even have a small convenience store in case you need some last minute items.
The rooms were standard and they were clean.
The only issue we had at this hotel was the parking. Self parking at the hotel is $15 but because we had booked online, we only had to pay $5. The issue was that there was little to no parking when we got back from the parks at night. You have to drive all the way around to the back parking lot and try to find a space. If you are a couple or a group of all adults, its not a big deal, you'll just have to walk a bit BUT when you have 2 sleeping children to carry all the way to the room, it is not CONVENIENT!!
Other than that, we would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maisy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

After reading reviews I was unsure if I had booked the right hotel for our family holiday this easter, last year we stayed at the Double Tree Seaworld, which I was very impressed with. On arrival our room wasn't ready which I thought on no great start, this was sorted within 10 mins of being at the desk and the reason was I had requested two rooms together with pool view, which is what we were given and a $20 dollar voucher for the shop for waiting. First impressions with the entrance was good, first impression with the rooms were a little dated, but the rooms had everything you needed and the beds were very comfortable, a couple of changes I personally would like to see and compairing to the Double Tree, is proper hairdryers and quierter air contioning units, the rooms at night are two warm to sleep without it on but too noisy when kicks in, so you are forever turning it on and off. I preferred the location of this hotel to the Double Tree as you could walk to local restuarants which was really nice after a huge dinner. Also it is central for driving to Disney, Universal and malls, you are in the middle of International Drive. I can now see why the reviews are not great at this hotel beacuse most of the clients are Amercian flight crew and visiting the convention centre, propbably wanting a little more luxury. But for a family holiday to Disney it is perfect. The shop on site is handy but expensive, we drove to publix and brought our shopping back. The fridges in all rooms are full size. I felt very safe at the hotel and would return and recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for pool veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We checked into the rosen plaza in a matter of minutes on 28/3, reception staff were efficient but unfriendly. Our first impression is that Hotel is very impressive and has a huge amounts of rooms, we were in room 723. On arrival it was fine, as we expected for the price we had paid. it ws clean and air con was on, room was compact, bed was huge and had no problems with the room. Bathroom was clean and tidy, plenty of towels were available. Only issue was that there was 2 sheets on the bed and no duvet/blanket. I had to ring down to reception for blankets to be brought as the room got very chilly at nightime.
As the week passed we dealt with the attractions desk (scott) he was helpful if a little strange, and had take away from the coffee bar, (very rude individual served us). The 24 hour shop on site was useful but expensive. All in all the stay at the hotel was fine and what we expected for somewhere to lay our heads after long days. Yes there were a few stains on the towels but they were actually washed into them and one or two marks on the sheets. The service ladies and gents were very helpful and very friendly. I found that the front line staff at this hotel were rude and abrupt but the staff in the background were very nice. Maybe some customer service training wouldnt go astray. Would stay again though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creamybeamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at the Rosen Plaza this past weekend for a weekend long Moose Convention. This is a great hotel, especially for conventions. They have lodging, meeting and ballrooms on site with plenty of parking. On site there is a buffet restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner; a quick bite restaurant which cooks some breakfast, lunch, and dinner, along with 24 hour service for snacks, sandwiches, toiletries, etc. Jack's serves dinner and the food is very good. There is a lobby bar and a sports bar which has live entertainment and dancing on the weekends. WIthin walking distance are several other restaurants. This hotel is also convenient to the Orlando attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

excellent location, close to many restaurants and close proximity to disney, universal and sea world parks.situated on international drive with a shopping mall at either end it's a shoppers paradise and a gourmets delight

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laineyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Centre Hotel
#146 of 339 in Orlando
2,899 reviews
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#27 of 339 in Orlando
5,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosen Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosen Plaza Hotel

Property: Rosen Plaza Hotel
Address: 9700 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8114
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#86 Family Hotel in Orlando
#96 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosen Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among Orlando's finest meeting, convention and vacation hotels, Rosen Plaza Hotel is famous for its high standard of excellence. Impressive Orlando meeting space, impeccable in-house staff and grand accommodations assure a seamless meeting experience for groups ranging from 10 to 2,800. With the Orange County Convention Center right next door, it is smart and simple to make Rosen Plaza Hotel your headquarters for Orlando meetings. Our hotel features a variety of savvy meeting rooms and breakout spaces on-site. It's time to wind down, you're only minutes away from Orlando's world-famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelPower, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Rosen Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rosen Plaza
Rosen Plaza Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing