We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cypress Pointe Resort
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Cypress Pointe (not Villas) for the 1st two weeks in August and had a fantastic time. No queue at all for check-in and all reception staff really friendly and polite. I told them that I had e-mailed them asking for a pool view room but we had a view of a car park. Apparently there was none available and if we had changed in a day or so we would have had to pay for housekeeping! It may be better to ring rather than e-mail. Must admit that after the views we had 2 years ago at the Blue Heron, which is just up the road, this was extremely disappointing. Plenty of toiletries provided including shampoo, soap etc and washing up liquid, couple of dishwasher sachets, kitchen roll and at the end of the 1st week we had a phone call to say we were getting complimentary housekeeping the next day, when they changed the bedding and all toiletries and kitchen items. Plenty of towels both for in house and for by the pool. Had to do an inventory of which there were a few things missing. When I took it back to reception they said they would sort it but we never did get the missing items. At least we didn't have to pay for them. Got 2 phone calls to attend their welcome meeting but having read previous reviews about them being "the dreaded time share chat", we didn't bother going and they never pestered after that. There are tennis courts, gym, playground, indoor games room and outdoor table tennis if you fancy doing anything and we also saw a notice advertising films to see, which we never bothered with. We only went to the volcano pool which was lovely but not enough sunbeds. Never went to the supermarket (always went to Walmart which is 5 minutes away) or cafe on site so can't comment. The location is excellent- right next to the 1-4 which makes it 10 minutes from Sea World and 20 minutes from Universal. The entrance to Disney is 2 minutes away. Shame they don't do free transport which most hotels are doing now, because we begrudge every penny we have to spend on parking at the parks (15$ now at Universal). Very handy for restaurants, all within walking distance and 5 minutes away from Premium outlet which is still brilliant! The price of trainers alone make it worth going to!! All in all we had a fantastic holiday but taking everything into account I would prefer to go to Blue Heron Beach Resort because of the fantastic views and they do free transport to most parks. Hope this helps and if you want to know any more don't hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CharlieWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
There are newer reviews for Cypress Pointe Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at CP for 2 nights in August 2012 on a timeshare short stay. We had the 3 bedroom condo as we were traveling with 3 teens who like their own space. My wife and I took the master, one kid in each of the other brs and one on the pull out.

Check in was quick and friendly. After you check in, they recommend you go to the concierge to get a welcome packet. Well, you get the packet along with the obligatory timeshare presentation hard sell. They offered up some discounted tix plus 100$ for the 90 minute thang. We demurred as we only had a couple days there.

Room was very very nice - two entrances if you want to have the master separate from the other part, but an adjoining door to exit and enter from within. I imagine you can rent the single master as a unit by itself but no kitchen.

The master had a nice large tub with curtains around in in the middle of the room, plus the flat screen and its own shower and lav. Furniture was up to date and nice. This room had a small, screened in balcony. The rest of the unit was 2 brs, one with a jacuzzi tub, a lr and a kitchen. There was a large table to eat at and the kitchen had a big fridge and full oven and microwave, all relatively new. The icemaker didn't work, but there was a machine on the property. This section also had a screened in balcony with a ceiling fan. Really nice rooms.

Location: very good location off of route 4 and near international drive, disney etc - minutes away. You could also walk to some restaurants - mexican and giordanos, who makes a real good chicago style stuffed pizza.

Property: Very nice common areas and pools. The main pool has a volcano spouting water and a red light on the top so it looks like a, well, a volcano...The game room is very good with many newer video games, pool table and air hockey. There is a ping pong table just outside of the game room under some shade - nice newish table and plenty of balls for purchase for 25 cents. The pool had 2 cabana style setups which worked well for us as we had family visit while we were there and when we got caught in the inevitable FLA thunderstorm, our stuff was safe and dry. THere is also a nice little slide for the kids and a playground. In addition there is a cafe with coffee, pastries, light sandwiches and beers right off of the pool.

Overall - I would stay here in a heartbeat. We wish we had more time to stay and do all of the Orlando stuff, but we were just passing through. I would book a week here in the future. Loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank etonthelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have stayed in 3bdrm unit, and 1 bdrm unit in this resort for about 5 occasions already. Its about time I give praise where it is due. The recent 3bdrm stay in April 2012 still impresses with their presentation. The dining room table was set with complete dinner settings, including wine glasses and fancy folded napkins. The floral arrangements looked like they were freshly washed or spritz, so nice. The linens and towels clean and smell fresh. Room and bathroom very clean. the 3bdrm is a lock-out set up, so, the other 1bdrm has an option of being entered from outside or the indoor connecting door. The kitchen is spacious and complete, also has a welcome package, coffee, tea and extra toilet amenities. Checkin and checkout was hassle free. There is a concierge or a welcome person who will try to sell a timeshare presentation and would leave messages in your room phone. But not pushy and will stop if you disregard. Location is great. Near a major highway , but accessible by local roads to malls and restaurants without going to a highway. Near Disney, outlets and other attractions. There is a major supermarket thats walking distance, if you want to walk. There is a small general store operated by the Cypress Pointe next door that has pretty much everything you forget to pack, reasonably priced as well. The balconies are screened which is a plus if you go during Florida's humid season. Parking is free and not limited to number of cars a family brings. The pool has been recently remodeled and cleaned and the playground has been updated. Professional and helpful staff. Nice to everyone and to children. Always a pleasant stay, in fact already booked for October again this year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank racoontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The rooms were immaculate and well laid out with everything you could possible need. The exterior needs some work doing to it. Parking is free which is a bonus and it is only a few minutes away from all of the main parks. I would recommend the resort for families that are going to use the parks in the day and just need a place to stay. I would return but it is clear that some work needs to be done.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms if possible.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our family have been going to this resort for a few years ,we always recommend to friends and they always come back happy.Rooms are nice ,pools are clean and a good size,the grounds are excellent.My missus and her mother are very choosey and spend hours on this site so you wont be disappionted.ideal for kids,familes or young couples.
Some great restraunts near by Olive garden to die for.
Idealy you need your own car staying here,walmart close by,all the parks easy to get to and the malls are fab.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bradyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was a good hotel. Although is felt like an apartment complex. The grounds are nice and well kept. The rooms were a little dated. The amenities were great they seemed to have everything you could want, tennis courts, basketball courts, weight room, children’s playground and a neat pool. It was a perfect family atmosphere for children of all ages. The staff was fine except for the timeshare push.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SABoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Having looked at reviews before staying here i must admit i thought it would be crap. Upon arrival at my room i found it fresh. Huge and well presented. I agree with some who said parking was a big issue as i was on a motorcycle and had problems. If anyone is staying here and want to rent a big boys motorcycle you can not go wrong with eaglerider in orlando

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.0 mi away
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
2.3 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#84 of 340 in Orlando
3,167 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lake Buena Vista
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Pointe Resort

Address: 8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836-6437 (Formerly Sunterra)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range: $70 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Pointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cypress Pointe Resort is a timeshare resort managed by Vacation Resorts International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cypress Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Pointe Hotel Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Hotel
Cypress Point Resort
Cypress Pointe Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Resort
Cypress Pointe Grand Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing