We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More thrill rides than Disney”

Universal's Islands of Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.99*
and up
Halloween Horror Nights at Universal Orlando Resort®
More Info
$900.00*
and up
VIP Tour of Walt Disney World, Universal Studios Orlando or SeaWorld Parks
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Orlando Helicopter Tour from International Drive Area
Ranked #2 of 428 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Universal's Islands of Adventure features some of the most innovative rides and attractions ever made on seven spectacularly themed islands: The Wizarding World of Harry Potter, Marvel Super Hero Island, Toon Lagoon, Jurassic Park, The Lost Continent, Seuss Landing and Port of Entry.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“More thrill rides than Disney”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

There are two parks at Universal Orlando - Island of Adventures and Universal Studios Florida. We choose the Island of Adventures mainly for the Harry Potter world, but found there was alot of other fun and adrenaline rides to do at Island of Adventures and it was a full day just to cover this one site.

The Harry Potter area and attractions are just brilliant, the Harry Potter ride is one of the best I've done.

They also have some great rollercoaster types ride and water rides - you will certainly get wet (or take a cheap poncho from home). Be aware that a number of rides dont allow any bags/backpacks, etc, and they provide free lockers at the start of these rides (with a time limit that seems to align to the wait time).

We had also been to Disney World - by comparison Island of Adventures provides the thrill and adrenaline rides, wheres Disney provides more of the magic.

I noticed that Universal provide a day hopper pass between their two sites for an extra $35. We found it took a full day just to enjoy all the rides and attractions at island of Adventures, so unless you are short of time and want to see both pass this can be an expensive upgrade with a great benefit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank skimamaaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42,960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32,084
    7,739
    2,142
    586
    409
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun Times at Islands of Adventure”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Lots of fun rides, several great attractions and an awesome Irish Pub called Finnegans! Good food and great drinks!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We bought a 2 day pass and got third day free. The passes are good for both parks - Islands of adventure as well as Universal Studios. You really do not need three days for these parks. one day per park is more than enough. What was nice about having waaaaay too much time is that instead of just running from ride to ride to accomplish as much as possible we were able to stroll around and just take in all the details. The attention to detail and the grandeur of things is very impressive! We just loved looking around. Seriously - eye candy. Dr. Suess world - although definitely for kids - I am almost 40 and I just couldn't stop smiling. What colors! What fun!
Of course Harry Potter worl is the main attraction. DO YOURSELVES A FAVOR AND CHECK OUT THE UNIVERSAL WEBSITE BEFORE YOU GOT TO THE PARKS. THIS IS TRUE FOR DISNEY TOO. They list all the ride closings and let you know when they will reopen. We've been tp harry potter world twice now within two years ad both times the dragon challenge was closed! i thought universal would be willing do do something for us and maybe give us a free entry even for just an hour next year but they said they list all the closings and we should check it out next time.
Eating at the three broomsticks is an absolute MUST. The decor is insane! Its just crazy amazing what they built there! Pictures did not really capture the amazingness (yeah i just made up a word...sue me)
The lines in the morning to get in are insane. we were there totally off season - end of january - and we stood for about 20-30 minutes each day. disney was significantly faster to get into with almost no lines. I dont get why they are not more organized about this...
Just one more quick tip which has nothign to do with universal - if youre looking for great disney stuff and dont want to spend disney world or downtown disney prices - go to walmart. I got amazing things there and had a blast!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 101seasonedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fab day out”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Harry potter ride is amazing , we got to the park early and only had a ten minute wait. Kids loved the wand shop (34 dollars a wand) .. The hulk is a really great coaster and there is also plenty for little ones to do here.. Fab shops there is potential to spend loads here as the merchandise is just wonderful..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikeisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice to get away from Disney”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

When you are on a trip to Disneyworld a nice break from all the isolation of Disney is a day or two to Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure. For the last couple years we have been making this part of our vacation. The parks at Universal are much less crowded than Disney parks and just gives you a break from everything Mickey. This is ideal if you have older kids or no kids at all. The rides are geared for an older crowd than the Disney ideal. The parks at Universal do close a bit earlier in the off season but they are also not as large in size compared to the Disney parks but Totally a fun couple days. I would highly suggest a two day ticket to Universal so that you can enjoy both parks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal's Islands of Adventure also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Universal's Islands of Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing