We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #19 of 333 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the end of May. I cannot praise the staff and the hotel enough. We traveled with our 4 year old daughter who was treat like a princess, given her own bracelet for free ice cream throughout her stay and her own Ritz Robe and slippers. The pool area and bar were fantastic and Breakfast was superb. Disney was a 10 min drive away and it was great to have the contrast from the hustle. The joining Marriott has a great lazy river for children. We will be back. The only downside is this hotel has spoiled us for future holidays!

Room Tip: We had a pool view which was lovley
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandrontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,535
    427
    142
    69
    30
See reviews for
722
508
57
608
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a classy Ritz-Carlton. Arrive and four staff members open the set of double doors for you into the grand lobby. The service is as smooth and professional as you would expect and wish. Rooms are plushly comfortabe, a chaise longue for reclining, a balcony with a view over the golf course or the Lake. Marble bathrooms and Asprey toiletries.
The hotel connects with the adjacent J W Marriott through the conference center area which is vast - acres of carpet in the break-out space. You could easily enjoy a substantial stroll without leaving the buildings. But you should - the grounds are beautifully landscaped into wetlands, with a profusion of wildlife, ibix, herons of various hues, rabbits and rumors of alligators.
The hotel enjoys a quiet, grown up feel - 'no blue jeans' says the dress code, but designer denim seems OK. Internet is $9.95 and shirts are only $7 to be laundered.
Note for Europeans: There is no way a pedestrian could access this hotel! You really need a car; self-park or valet-park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz during the Memorial Day weekend 2 weeks ago. We thought the hotel would be full of guests since it was a long holiday weekend. But it actually felt very comfortable and organized when checking in, at the valet, pool, restaurants etc. They even had a whole weekend of activities planned for the children such as scavenger hunts, sports, and arts/and crafts.
We had an early flight from NYC and arrived around 1pm and thought that we would not be able to check in til 4pm(check in time) but they saw that we have a toddler and immediately let us check in with out me asking. Sent a crib up with a bunch of goodies for the toddler including baby toiletries,outlet safety plugs, and a tub spout protector. These little attention to details make me want to go back to the Ritz again because they show that they care.
The room was immaculate and bedding and pillows were all down and comfortable.
We also enjoyed their sister hotel's pool/lazy river. It's just a 5 min walk over and we had a blast with our 2.5 yr old son. Staying at an upscale hotel like the Ritz made our first trip to Disney with our son even more memorable!
If you have the budget, i think staying at this hotel it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jersychen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ritz Carlton Grande Lakes. We arrived late after a long, tiring day at SeaWorld and got a very nice friendly welcome. We got two spacious and bright adjoining rooms with a balcony that overlooked the lakes.

The hotel is very accommodating to our children, ages 1 and 3. The staff is extremely friendly and would leave personalized messages for us and gifts for our boys.

This is a classy property with the lobby and rooms tastefully decorated. It is clean and it smells good. Very nice hotel - all you would expect from a Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJH2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at this property during a four day busienss meeting. Although the lcoation is a bit off the tourist map, it is a fantastic hotel with first class amenities. The fact that it shares facilites with the JW Marriott is even better. Ritz guesrts can use the lazy river pool next door. The staff was very attentive and the room was very clean and luxurious. We had a group rate that was crazy low and I would stay at this hotel during the off or shoulder seson without any concern over cost.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good. Some have golf views but candidly I could care less. i fyou are there fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I will begin with the downside, Hotel is isolated, 25 minutes drive to theme parks and shopping malls. This is a minor problem( no problem at all if you are here for golf!) as the Hotel itself is magnificent. My husband and myself travel extensively throughout the world and I believe the staff here are the most helpful, courteous, and well trained I have ever had the pleasure to experience. Special note should be given to the house keepers I had the pleasure to meet several of them as I was in my room when they came to turn down. They were so friendly, cheerful and eager to please and gave me extra chocolates Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over Memorial weekend (5/24-5/27) for our anniversary. This is the fourth year in a row we have stayed here for Memorial weekend. Usually we stay on the Club floor which is great with the non-stop food and drinks. This year we opted to take a room on the 4th floor with a lake view so that we could catch the fireworks from our terrace. Plus my wife is pregnant, and we didn't think it was worth staying in the club if she couldn't take advantage of the open bar. Overall, the stay was fine with a few hiccups. In general, I would say that the hotel felt a bit "tired" and was not as crisp as my usual experience. I still feel that the hotel is the best in Orlando, but for the $2600 tab I paid upon checkout, I expected a bit more.

So on to the stay. Upon check-in, valet took the keys to my car and somehow didn't assign my name or room number to the vehicle. The next day, I called down to have the car ready so that my wife and I could go shopping. I was told the car would be ready. When I got down there, the car was no where in sight. I showed a valet person my car ticket, and they told me that the ticket was assigned to a "hot" car since they didn't know who the car belonged to. However they did park the car nearby so it didn't take long to get my vehicle. Still it was a little disconcerting that they didn't know who owned the car. Also, during check-in, my wife and I were given 2 keys that didn't work, so I had to return to the front desk for new keys. They did, however, know that it was our anniversary and were very nice about congratulating us and giving us champagne.

Our room was a decent size, with a comfortable terrace, and comfortable bed. There were only two issues. The shower was almost awkwardly small. I did not feel comfortable using the towel to dry off in the shower. Also, our toilet had a mind of its own. The handle had to be held down for a long time to ensure a complete flush, and even that didn't work half the time. We called housekeeping/engineering twice, who informed us that the toilet was fixed. But it was never sufficiently fixed and we continued to prefer using the bathrooms in the public areas.

For two of the evenings, we had dinner at Norman's which is probably our favorite restaurant in Orlando. As usual, the food was fantastic and the service was great. Our 3rd evening, we had dinner the Vineyard Grille and was pleasantly suprised with how good the food was. Our server, I think his name is Muneer, was EXCELLENT and remembered my wife and I coming in there last year. He really made our dinner there memorable.

My wife and I also used the spa a couple times. FYI, the spa and gym at the Ritz Carlton/JW complex is top notch. Even if you aren't in to the "spa thing", a $30 day pass can be purchased which allows you to use the facilities for the day - steam shower, sauna, jacuzzi, spa pool, and gym. I got her a massage catered to pregnant women, and she really enjoyed it.

Overall, this hotel has a special place in our heart since we got married here four years ago. We will still probably come here for our 5th anniversary. However, I hope they fix a few things before our next visit. Maybe the stay would have been better had we chosen the Club level room again?

Room Tip: The hotel has a great fireworks display several times a year. Make sure you get a lake view room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chungl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#34 of 333 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,778 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 333 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#28 of 333 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4012 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#4 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#9 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#9 Green Hotel in Orlando
#15 Business Hotel in Orlando
#18 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 500-acre nature inspired luxury resort is located 10 miles from Walt Disney World; 10 miles from Airport and 7 miles from Universal Orlando. Guests can enjoy on-site eco-tours, kayaking, fishing, tennis courts, championship golf course, award-winning spa with adult-only pool and dining by James Beard award-winning chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Ritz Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing