We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #18 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice hotel”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Hotel is located near Seaworld and Aquatica. JW Marriot is next to hotel and you can use their pool. Very nice and elegant hotel. Great place for kids too.
Breakfast is very good and you can eat from buffet or a la carte.
Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eal009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,808
    475
    177
    82
    33
See reviews for
846
586
62
745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The Ritz was all that you would expect them to be. Friendly,clean,beautiful buildings. Restraunts had delicious food. Close to 3 outlet malls. Wonderful shopping at great prices. Downtown Orlando has great restraunts and bars. The Ice Bar was our favorite. Made out of real Ice

Room Tip: Ask for the golf side or pool side views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mandymilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights in April. I was really surprised to see a luxury hotel charging for in room internet access. I had just come from the Mandarin Oriental in New York where I was not charged and regularly stay in Four Seasons where I am not charged. Most motels advertise free Wi Fi. It looked so mean and left me feeling exploited. It was one of those annoying things that spoiled what otherwise should have been a pleasant stay. I complained twice and on the second occasion the charge was removed. These rip off charges really are disgraceful in this day and age. After all the room rate is not exactly cheap.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greatelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed in the club level with 2 adjoining rooms .....fantastic service aesthetics was outstanding spa was great . The concierge was excellent we also had east access to Disney with courtesy car.

Room Tip: Stay in the Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sghoubrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

This stay was incredible--fantastic food, gorgeous views, beautiful interiors. My one complaint is that we had to wait, and wait, and wait for our room. We reserved our room a month in advance, the same time as the others in our party, but we were told upon check in that our room choice was not available, but to wait 10 minutes and we'd be called on our cell. Seventy--70!-- minutes later--while our friends were changed and poolside-- we enquired about our room at the front desk and got blank stares. When we finally got into our room and were ready to change for the pool, we had to call the front desk twice to ask where our bags were. Forty five minutes later, our bags were delivered. It didn't ruin our stay, but not what I would expect from the Ritz-Carlton.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteelCityCampbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
262 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

This place is fabulous. The rooms are spotless, spacious, and inviting. The pools are incredible - bring an inner-tube for the lazy river. It is very close to Sea World.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louisis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We went here for a convention and were treated like it.

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms clean, maid service is excellent.

With that being said, there is really nothing else good I can say about the hotel. Bring your own toiletries, the soaps and shampoos smell like Dawn dishing washing detergent and the toilet paper is gas station quality comfort. Maybe they are eco-friendly, that would at least make up for the lack of fragrance and comfort.

We ordered a king size and ended up with two full sized beds with an upgrade on our view to make up for it. It was a pretty room and clean. The maid was on the ball, every time we left the room if we didn't put a sign on the door, the room was tidied and the toilet paper folded and our bed made with chocolates laid out. She was even nice enough to give me some small bottles of water.

The front desk or "concierge" service, however, is lacking. We had a couples massage booked and I was supposed to meet my boyfriend and asked for directions to the spa and was directed to follow the signs outside and across the courtyard in the rain. I arrived at the spa soaking wet only to find out that I could have gotten there without ever having to go outside. That was very frustrating. I think they see the conference goers as lower class and therefore don't really care about giving good service. At least I hope this is the reason, I would hate to think they treat everyone this way. From some of the other reviews though, I do wonder. Just a side note, the way I was directed went through a room that had buckets on the floor to catch places where the ceiling was leaking, thought that was strange for a high class hotel.

The first night there, we had dinner at the Vineyard Grill which was very busy but nice atmosphere. Out waiter was very nice and friendly but the service was very, very slow. We waited about an hour after ordering our dinner. I got the roasted chicken and baked potato, the potato and green beans were good but the chicken was a little dry, a little disappointing for a $40 meal. The others liked the steaks, I guess I should have gotten the steak.

The first day there, I went looking for a place to eat for lunch and found the front desk to be less than helpful. I ended up going back to my room and eating from the room service menu and after it was all said and done, I spent $25 for a turkey sandwich.

After realizing we were located within walking distance of nothing and feeling trapped and finding and our only options to eat were the very expensive restaurants on site, we opted to rent a car.

When I asked about car rental, I was offered the Hertz rental service on campus and after trying to call twice and getting voicemail, gave up and asked for directions to the computer terminals. I was misdirected again and even told the sign said "Business Center" only to wander around and finally be directed to the correct location which was the "FedEx Office". My boyfriend was in a conference and I didn't bring a laptop so I ended up spending 40 cents a minute to find a MUCH cheaper option for car rental.

We paid $60 for the car service from the airport the first day, which was fine, it was a nice drive and the driver was very friendly. We called for a taxi to take us to the airport to pick up the rental car. I assume that taxi drivers must see this hotel as a cash cow with guests that have nothing better to do with their cash because we were driven 10 miles out of the way and through 2 tolls and would have been way overcharged except we had a gps on our phone and pointed out to the driver that he went way out of his way to get us there. I know others who complained of the same thing.

The gift shop for the Ritz was full of expensive things that only an old lady would love. The gift shops at the Merriot were much more appealing.

We are not poor by any means and I don't mind spending money on nice things but this place was overpriced and overrated. I would much rather we have taken our money and gotten a suite at a hotel near some night life. I don't care how nice it looks, it feels like you are trapped on a compound and if you are staying here for a conference, you are made to feel like a second-class citizen. And as much as you pay for the hotel, there is no free shuttle to or from the airport, there is a $17 per day parking fee, and a $10 internet fee even if you don't use it! If you are here for a conference, take your money to another hotel and get a nice suite and get better customer service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank reallydisapp0inted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#24 of 337 in Orlando
4,205 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 337 in Orlando
7,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4012 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#4 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#9 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#11 Green Hotel in Orlando
#15 Business Hotel in Orlando
#18 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 500-acre nature inspired luxury resort is located 10 miles from Walt Disney World; 10 miles from Airport and 7 miles from Universal Orlando. Guests can enjoy on-site eco-tours, kayaking, fishing, tennis courts, championship golf course, award-winning spa with adult-only pool and dining by James Beard award-winning chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Ritz Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing