We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Orlando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Orlando
Ranked #7 of 334 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were 6 girls heading to Port Canaveral for a cruise, stayed in the hotel one night, but very impressed even for the short time. Rooms were very clean, decorated nicely, ample size..Some got to happy hr, I missed it, but the others said it was nice. We all had breakfast , the room was much bigger than we expected with hot & cold food..lots of choices. Everyone was very friendly & helpful. We met the manager, Robert Allen, who was very personable, was wearing a suit & tie, & even cleaned dishes from the tables. We got to chat ,found out its a family owned business that started in the mid west (being from Buffalo, N.Y. we were not familiar with the name) I grew up in a family business & always try to support that kind of opperation.....i will look to stay with Drury again & again, & do recomend it to anyone. Price was very reasonable for everything they offer, even has an indoor/outdoor pool, workout room & great location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Mindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    429
    58
    14
    8
See reviews for
1,022
502
41
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay at this hotel (15 nights) and although not perfect, it was good enough and I would stay here again.

Pros:
Excellent location opposite Whole Foods Market and next to International Drive.
Free parking.
Good size accommodation with separate living room, bathroom & bedroom - so much better than a single hotel room.
Comfortable beds.
Excellent TV and choice of channels.
Excellent free fast wifi.
Excellent free breakfast buffet, soft drinks & snacks & evening light meals/snacks. We just added our own bits from WholeFoods to make it healthier.
Good sized, clean pool & hot tub.
Small business centre with computers and printer.
Very friendly staff - the manager is very visible and Vicky in catering is a darling!

Cons:
Housekeeping only clean superficially; the beds are made and the bathroom is wiped over but the glass isn't polished, the floor isn't vacuumed and lamps and skirts are left dusty. They also only leave towels, soap etc erratically and even kept taking our do not disturb sign away? The walkways and floors in the dining room always had bits everywhere. This is a great shame as it could be so easily rectified. I've not experienced this in a hotel before and I'm ex cabin crew so well travelled.

The pool isn't heated so its cold out of season and it overlooks the parking lot. Again this could be easily improved with some heating and by screening it off.

The free drinks are all soda and booze - I imagine this suits most people but I'd have liked a healthy option.

Make these small changes Drury Inn and you'd be awesome! Thanks for an overall good experience.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I just returned from a 7 night stay with my family of 7. We had 3 rooms, two were adjoining on the 6th floor. The rooms are spacious, clean, provided a frig., microwave, coffee maker, free internet service (as well as a computer room off of the lobby with printers), ample linens, iron, ironing board, desk and chair. Minimal toiletry items provided. The beds were just average. No dirty bedspreads, plenty of pillows and double sheeted. They having vending machines on each floor and a small store with snacks and misc. items in the lobby. The swimming pools water was not as clear as I feel it should have been. I did see them testing and the chlorine smell was strong indoors. No need to bring towels down, they have plenty of fresh towels in the pool area.
I read numreous complaints about the food before I booked the hotel. These complaints have either been addressed (as in the dry baked potatoes with nothing to put onto them) or were completely wrong. I am a very picky eater and my family and myself found nothing to complain about. They provided butter, sourcream and cheese for the potatoes. The food was hot, tastey, varied and constantly replenished. Breakfast offered fresh waffles, oatmeal, cereal, scrambeled eggs, biscuits, sausage, potatoes, fresh fruits, yogurt, donuts, muffins, breads, juices, coffee and milk. Popcorn and soft drinks were provided most of the day and evening. The evening meal was usually baked potatoes, chicken tenders, pasta, hotdogs, fresh salade, chips for nachos with cheese and salsa. They also provided us with 3 free drinks each night.
The staff was the BEST. Very helpful, always spoke first, smiled, polite, and presented clean and neat. This hotels best asset is their staff and outstanding costumer service. The managers didn't hide in the back but were out helping staff and greeting costumers.
The hotel is very close to Universal Studios and located close to many great eating places and shops off of the main strip. It is near a busy highway on one side and street noise was heard on the other side of the hotel. Parking is free.
My biggest complaint was the odor near the elevator and in the hall of dog urine in the carpet. I didn't smell this in any of the 3 rooms we had however. I love dogs and own 2 myself, I fear however that the hotel will go down quickly if they continue to allow dogs. I didn't hear any dogs barking during our stay and there were several in the hotel.

Room Tip: There is less traffic noise away from the highway side. I wouldn't worry about the fireworks, U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rndiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I just returned from a 3 night stay in Orlando for my husband's birthday. I'm so happy we chose Drury! Our flight arrived almost an hour early (thanks Southwest!), so we got to the hotel early - no problem! The front desk clerk didn't even blink an eye at the early check-in. She gave us all the info on the hotel and sent us off to our room. We booked a standard king, and there was nothing "standard" about this room - very large, beautiful bathroom, comfortable bed, nice linens, plenty of pillows, good size closet, large flat screen tv, microwave and small refrigerator, desk with the plugs on top (no crawling under to plug in your cell phone charger, laptop, etc) plenty of lamps, and overall, very nicely appointed. We were given a room on the 8th floor at the back of the building, so we had a view of the lakes and were able to see the Disney fireworks at night. King rooms have a large, walk-in shower (which I loved!), but if you need a bathtub you should ask specifically when booking. The bathroom had granite counter tops and tile, ample vanity counterspace, very new and modern, great water pressure, soft towels - not the usual small, thin, scratchy ones you find in most moderate priced hotels (and plently are provided), shampoo, conditioner and body wash are in dispensers on the shower wall (no stupid, little bottles to contend with!), blow dryer provided and the lighting was great (you ladies know how important that is!)

Each floor has a soda vending machine and ice maker located near the elevators (no room has the noise from the machines or elevators) and the elevators (3 of them) are very fast - no waiting around (those with kids really appreciate that!). There is also 2 washers and 2 dryers on the 7th floor (again, near the elevators - no noise), which were very convenient after getting soaked on a water ride at Universal! It was great to not have to pack wet clothes to take home. They are coin-op, but very inexpensive ($1.50 for a wash and $1.25 for a dry). The front desk is more than happy to make change.

Included are breakfast and the 5:30 Manager's Kick-back - Breakfast was excellent! Each day there were scrambled eggs, sausage patties, homefries, biscuts and gravy, make your own waffles, hot and cold cereals, toast, bagels, muffins, donuts, fresh fruit and yogurt. There are stations with coffee, hot water for tea, orange and apple juice. The hot items were hot and the cold items were cold and everything was fresh. The staff was very attentive and replaced and refilled items quickly. The tables were cleaned quickly once vacated and the Manager on duty was always visable in the dining area, speaking to guests and even clearing tables as he moved along. The 5:30 Kick-back was also very nice - hot dogs, mac & cheese, chicken tenders, salad and/or carrot and celery sticks with dressing, chilli or soup, or just have some chips, nachos or pretzels with your free cocktail (wine, beer or a choice of margaritas, bloody mary, martini or mai tai). Each adult gets 3 free cocktails per night! The only suggestion I would make (not a complaint, just a suggestion) is to change up the sausage for bacon at breakfast and maybe add a little variety to the food in the evening to keep it interesting. Also, they only offer Bud Light for beer, so maybe add another brand to give a choice. There is popcorn and soda available in the lobby every afternoon to early evening (I found that the soda fountain is always available).

The computer room has 6 computers (unheard of!), the pool facility has a good size, heated indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub (which I found particularly nice after a long day at Universal) ample towel supply and lots of tables and lounge chairs, the gym has 6 or so machines and was very clean.

The hotel is very conveniently located - 5 minutes ride to Univeral Studios, about 15 minutes to Disney. It's located on what is known as "Restaurant Road". There are many dining options all within a 5 minute ride. There is a 7-11 just across the parking lot (very convenient for purchasing beer/wine and snacks to keep in your room), a Wendy's within walking distance and a K-Mart in the next plaza on the same side of the street (forget to pack something - here is your solution). We didn't rent a car, so having these things so close was perfect for us. Taxi rides were no more than $5 or $10 dollars to anyplace we went (you just go to the front desk and they call the taxi for you - no stress!). And, since Drury is a Universal Partner Hotel, they provide a free shuttle to the park. Shuttles leave 3 times each morning and pick up at the park 3 times each afternoon/evening. There is a desk in the lobby to arrange your shuttle (and they were right on time!) If you do rent a car or drive in - parking at the Drury is free and there were plenty of spaces.

We were so happy with Drury! It is so rare to not have any complaints after staying at a moderately priced hotel. Most times, because they are not charging high nightly rates, the service reflects the price - that is not the case with Drury. What an incredible value!!! If you are planning a trip to Universal Studios, don't look any further. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and room on the back of the building so you can see the fireworks at Disney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RIweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

this hotel is awesome for the price and its classy forget holiday inn or the big expensive hotels this bets them the rooms are nice size microwave small fridge and views . close to restaurants and the parks . they have a booth in the lobby to buy tickets to the Disney and other parks a bus to take you to one of the parks . also they have a kick back free breakfast and dinner buffet and you can get a free glass of wine or beer . staff is very sweet and helpful we actually have been staying here for 2 weeks well looking for a home being new to Orlando Florida . even the Kitchen staff is awesome . also Ive stayed at drury in a few states traveling down from North Dakota they
also are very pet friendly and don't charge you a pet fee . and under stand if your dog barks a little

Room Tip: you don't need a tip just stay at Drury there rooms are great have a comfortable chair to sit i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taterpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was friendly. It was less than 10 minutes to Sea World, about 15 to Epcot and sits on a road with a number of restaurant options. I thought the price was great compared to other hotels in the area and includes free wifi, breakfast and afternoon happy hour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are fairly picky and give very few hotels an excellent rating but this one lived up to it's reviews. We have stayed at other Drury Hotels and not all meet these standards. We had a large comfortable nicely decorated room. The staff were all very friendly, especially the manager who checked us in. I also noticed that the manager was walking around the breakfast area asking guests if everything is OK. This is impressive and shows that he really cares. The breakfast was excellent. Beds were comfortable and the room very clean. The only complaint was that one of the drawers was dirty (maid must have missed). The hotel is located close to Disney World and several restaurants. Traffic is rather hectic but manageable. We will recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Use back entrance when driving out to avoid traffic, especially during rush hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rondot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 4,149 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Hampton Inn Orlando/Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Floridays Resort Orlando
#16 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 7,152 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 334 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Orlando

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Orlando
Address: 7301 West Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819-5207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 334 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites Orlando offers a free, scheduled shuttle to Universal Studios Florida™ and Universal’s Islands of Adventure™ - and you can visit the Attraction Ticket desk at the hotel for boarding passes and to purchase tickets! Our hotel near International Drive offers plenty of free extras like free hot breakfast and free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing