We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room with an Unfortunate View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Beach Club Villas
Ranked #101 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Room with an Unfortunate View”
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Just returned from 5 nights in a dedicated one-bedroom at Beach Club Villas. We are Disney Vacation Club members and have enjoyed previous stays at this resort. This time was an exception and we will not be returning to Beach Club Villas.

We checked in on a Tuesday with our only request not to have a Pool View, our past experience with Pool views were not good so guess what we got. A third floor pool view with no other options. To make matters worse it was 4 pm (check in time) and it was not even ready. Make sure you check in early - I assume this was our first mistake.

The room was clean though the tub did need a wipe down before using and we overlooked the BCV pool which was open until 11 pm, no big deal, should not be a problem. Well, every single night people were in the pool way past 11 pm, yelling, screaming, out of our 5 nights it was bad enough to have to call security 3 times, I've never had to do that. Others were also calling when we spoke to a front desk manager. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest avoiding this hotel. If you can sleep through anything you'll be fine. I think the time of year also did not help, Extra Magic Hours with parks open until 12 am or 2 am - so people want to go to the park and then swim, this was our second mistake (had to go at this time due to grad school).

Also, the room was abused - three out of four burners on the stove did not work until we disconnected and reconnected them. The fridge was leaning forward, the jacuzzi would decide to shut off on its own, a wheel broke in the dishwasher, a drawer was badly broken in the bedroom, and the ceiling fan made noises I did not think a ceiling fan was capable of making.

On a good note the sleeper sofa, I was told, was unbelievably comfortable. Air conditioning kept the place very comfortable and water pressure was good. Enjoyed the easy walk to Epcot and the Beach and Yacht Club Pool (which we overlooked during our stay in the Yacht Club earlier in the week and we never heard anything).

I spoke with a Disney Vacation Club person and he said this is a small resort and extremely popular (you can walk to Epcot and Hollywood Studios) it takes some serious abuse. Personally I don't think it is a very well constructed (insulated) building but that's just an opinion.

  • Liked — Resort Location
  • Disliked — Room Quality, Room Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank chitownMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    206
    95
    39
    11
See reviews for
564
89
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We are Disney Vacation Club members, but this was our first stay at the Beach Club Villas. We had a two-bedroom villa and found the villa to be spacious and well designed for our group. We liked it much better than the two-bedroom (really two connecting rooms) villa we had at the Boardwalk Villas a couple of years ago. My wife and I had the master bedroom, daughter and her husband in the second bedroom, and son on the sofa sleeper (his choice, could have had the second queen sized bed in the second bedroom). I can agree somewhat with reviews that comment on the aging condition of the villas, but (at least for our villa) renovation is probably a couple of years off. We are Epcot people and finished up there every night of our stay. The Beach Club Villas are perfectly located if you love Epcot. The fitness center was excellent and the kids made heavy use of the hot tub and sauna. As DVC members our stay was probably the equivalent of $400/night which I consider a bargain for the location alone. We would have needed two standard hotel rooms anywhere else and we did make use of the kitchen for breakfast. I would certainly recommend the Beach Club Villas to anyone visiting WDW.

  • Liked — Location, location, location.
  • Disliked — Bus travel time to Animal Kingdom and Magic Kingdom.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank trhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANSAS
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

We booked a 1 bedroom Villa at the Beach Club for 4 nights.Upon check-in, we were informed that we were being upgraded to a 2 bedroom unit at no charge...How cool! This thing was HUGE! We have never stayed in any accomodation with the amenities like this one has . The King bed and whirlpool tub were very nice and the other 2 rooms were clean and spotless.We were in an end unit by a service road but, we never heard any traffic noise at all.Walking distance to Epcot was about 8 minutes.The grounds were clean and well kept.The staff were so kind and polite at all times, no matter where you were you could always count on a smile and "good morning".We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BGDUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We love Disney hotels and now that we have 2 children we love to stay at the vacation villas. There is plenty of room for my husband & I to have a big private bedroom, my son on the sofa bed, and the pack n play with my daughter in the roomy bathtub area. We have stayed at Wildnerness Lodge Villas and the Boardwalk Villas.

The Beach Club was great due to location. There was never a long walk to the lobby or the bus stop. The pool was amazing, heated in the winter. The restaurant buffet is always top notch. The marketplace was pretty good although they could really use a better egg sandwich. The disney mug system is great. The rooms are always neat and clean.

Also a neat find were all of the turtles that live in the bay that we fed every morning over the little bridge by our room. There were a lot of little sitting rooms and neat places to discover. They also had movies on the beach at night.

You can not beat being able to walk to Epcot and the Boardwalk area at night.

A few downsides - we were on the first floor by the pool and that affords little privacy. Ask for a top floor. When we checked in, no remotes worked and a few light bulbs were out but the serviceman took care of everything right away. Also, its a busy hotel so the lobby was always packed. Finally, the bus system does to Boardwalk, Dolphin and Swan first so the bus ride always seemed 10 minutes longer than it could have been!

The door to the second bedroom had no lock in it. Since my adult sister was staying in that room she needed a lock. They actually installed a lock for us when we asked on the first night.

All in all, a great stay. Boardwalk villas are much bigger, but there is no marketplace and the location is not as great. The Wilderness Lodge size was about the same.

  • Liked — Location to the theme parks, restaurant, pool
  • Disliked — the villas were a tad smaller than the other DIsney villas, the first floor had privacy issues
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Melanie252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

Just returned from our Disney vacation :-( and have nothing but good things to say about the Beach Club Villas.
We arrived early and our room wasn’t ready so my family and I headed off to EPCOT....5 minute walk. I was told that I would receive a phone call when the room was ready...we didn’t...which is a tad annoying but it wasn’t that big of a deal.
Our room was 366 and had a beautiful view of the pool area plus an extended deck. Master bedroom had plenty of space and bathroom included a Jacuzzi, standing shower, two sink areas, and enclosed toilet. Living room was spacious and had a very comfortable pull out bed. There even is plenty of space for the "pack and play" for the little one. Most importantly....the KITCHEN. A huge plus. With a quick stop at the grocery store before our arrival, we had all the necessities. Breakfast was quick and cheap and never interfered with our early departures to the parks. Snacks and waters were readily available, at a huge discount compared to Mickey’s prices.
The whole hotel has a beach, Jersey shore theme. The pool is sweet. It just goes on and on and on. It’s no Typhoon Lagoon, but for a hotel pool...it’s like having your own water park at your doorstep.
There are a few places to eat. Marketplace...just for little stuff, quick sandwich (also a souvenir store); Hurricane Hannah’s which is in the pool area (never went to), Cape May Buffet (never went to but always plenty of people), and Beaches and Cream (tight fit but good food).
If there is one gripe about the place, it’s the walk. There really isn’t (if there was it wasn’t posted) a direct shot to EPCOT. You have to walk down a bunch of hallways, elevators, and go back to Beach Club lobby to get on your way to EPCOT. It’s not that big of a deal but trust me, you feel it after long days of park hopping.
All in all, wonderful stay. Can’t wait for our return!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shorebound910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

We stayed at the Beach Club Villas in a 1 Bedroom unit for 3 nights over the Christmas holidays. The hotel was very nicely decorated for the holidays. Having a check in separate from the Beach Club hotel property was a big plus as it was nice to have the Disney touch of service for the smaller property on its own. The pools were well heated and at a comfortable temperature for the time of year. The room was clean and comfortable - the king bed was a pleasure to sleep in and the new sleeper sofa was rated 'great' by our two boys. Stormalong Bay was great - lots of other kids for our kids to play with . The buses to the Magic Kingdom were very efficient and punctual (we drove to the other parks). The entire stay was a positive experience.

  • Liked — Nice spacious rooms within walking distance of Epcot and the Boardwalk and a nice hike to Hollywood Studios
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason Koulouras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

Our family of 7 stayed at a so called two bedroom suite December 19-21 2007 which was really 2 separate room numbers with 2 separate phone numbers and two separate sets of keys. The beds were very uncomfortable and the service from the front desk , bell service and concierge was rude. It is highly overpriced for the Orlando area. I would never stay there again. I go to Orlando several times a year and this property does not even begin to be in the class of the Gaylord Palms and Marriott properties but costs twice as much.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — beds and service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarlanaKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#64 of 337 in Orlando
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Beach Club Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Beach Club Villas

Property: Disney's Beach Club Villas
Address: 1800 Epcot Resorts Blvd, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8443
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#38 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#77 Family Hotel in Orlando
#97 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Beach Club Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisure, elegance and romance converge at this charming New England-style Resort hotel. Delight in stately Studios and multi-bedroom Villas, enjoy exquisite dining and explore the pools, lagoons and whirlpool spas of Stormalong Bay. Sharing many amenities with its sisters, Disney's Yacht & Beach Club Resorts, Disney's Beach Club Villas is walking distance to Epcot and a convenient boat ride to Disney's Hollywood Studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Vacatia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Beach Club Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Beach Club Villas Hotel Orlando
Disneys Beach Hotel
Disney Beach Club Villas
Disney Beach Hotel
Disneys Beach Club Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing