We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite DVC resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #106 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Our favorite DVC resort”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge many times and in fact it is our favorite resort. Once again we enjoyed the cozy room and balcony, beautiful pool areas and resort spaces, and the friendliness of the cast members. We also dined at Artist Point (reviewed separately). The rooms had been re-designed since our last stay - new bedding, new flooring, new furniture, etc. Everything was very nice and still just as comfortable as ever. They even added a new pull-down child's bed under the TV (like they have at the DVC section of the Grand Floridian) - that doubles as a pop-up table. We don't have kids, but I noticed the extra bed right away - a nice feature for families. Another fantastic stay at our favorite DVC resort - we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MLMpoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    148
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
385
86
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayport, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2014

DVC member, beautiful hotel, villas are a little bit out from main building, but close to bus stop. Boat ride to Magic Kingdom is a big plus! Relax on a lounger and watch the Fireworks from the shore in the evening. Units are beautiful, very comfortable, saw all kinds of wildlife from little outdoor deck, so b aware if your given a 1st floor unit. We will definately stay here again!!,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014

My husband and I have stayed in four of Disney Vacation Club Properties and an additional six other Disney Resorts in regular hotel rooms. It is hard not to compare it with the best. The great things are the relaxing nature environment, the sounds of Copland and the magnificent Seven, the smells of barbeque, the evening movies and electric water pageant parade, the use of their own smaller pool (with 5 underwater 'geysers') and the larger pool with waterfall and slide. It is located so close to the monorail hotels and the magic Kingdom you can take a boat to the Contemporary and the Magic Kingdom. The resort itself is very quiet, only has 5 floors, is decorated perfectly with the Cabin theme and has the fitness center right on the first floor.
Some needs for improvement...it is a bit of a walk for beverage filling at the Wilderness Lodge itself. The bathrooms for the pool are actually not too far away in the Villa building, if you are at the main pool - its a hike for bathrooms either way to either resort. I really like the tile work in our kitchen and bathroom of our room, but in the living sleeping area: the bed is against teh nightstand which is against the sofa which is against the lamp - which is against the wall - all 4 crammed together on one side of the room, and the sofa is bland solid color - no cabin personality - white pillows, white sheets, white duvet and a small nondescript fabric at foot of bed. On the opposite wall s a huge space of blank wall (some rooms have a door there) that unfortuneately the sofa wont fit on. not even a picture. next to it is a wall unit that is a pull out bed that doubles as a table with a supportive arm. Its easy to know it is a pull out bed, because of you put anything on it, the table leans and the bed pops out. Balcony is very shallow and narrow. not too comfy for 2 people.
I think the Villas even went through a recent renovation....here are my suggestions: smaller sofa our of fabric that says"lodge" or "cabin", even angle it and put the floor lamp behind it. Ditch the pull out bed! or put in only a few rooms for the rare occasion someone needs to sleep 5. In the rooms that do not have a door on the blank wall, put a chair with ottoman.
Would not be my first choice to stay again. If the Main lodge had DVC rooms, I would prefer that. But after the Animal Kingdom Lodge villas fantastic rooms and animal views, and I would tolerate the food and beverage out on the boardwalk even to stay at the Boardwalk because of location and overlook the quiet pools, before choosing the Wilderness Villas.

Room Tip: It is a LONG walk to the elevator if you don't take a look at where your room is assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canter2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2014

First stay at the villas and will definitely be back. Accommodations were superb and well appointed. Ask for the top floor for increased balcony privacy. I had a corner 1 bedroom and there were plenty of windows and 2 balconies. As warned the pool at the villas is currently closed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Lovely villas conveniently located to all the major Orlando attractions and shopping. Complimentary Disney shuttles pick up and drop off at all the Disney Parks and Downtown Disney. The attention to detail is amazing all around the resort. The main lobby is an open area with wood carved pillars featuring wild animals and traditional "wilderness" people and animals. The theme is carried out across the property. The large pool area is surrounded by national park features with the best being a replica of the "Old Faithful" geyser that erupts every hour. The attention to detail is a trademark of Disney. The concrete walkways have wild animal prints peppered into the concrete. The major fascination is the employees. In the true spirit do Disney, each and every person I met asked what they could do to make my stay memorable. I highly recommend this property for families and adults.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Villas and enjoy a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

At Disney's wilderness lodge the villas are very nice and comfortable. The beds are very relaxing and the pillows lovely and soft. Being the youngest on my family holiday I am on the pull out sofa bed. This bed is very luxuries and easy to pull out and put away. The kitchen has all the utensils that you need apart from a small vegetable knife and dish cloths. The cast members are are so helpful and lovely and I have no complaints about the customer service. Transport to and from the parks is excellent, as the boat comes regularly and the buses come about every 15-20 minute so you are never waiting long. Overall I love this place and recommend it to anyone who would like to have a lovely, happy and enjoyable holiday to Disney.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We are DVC members and Wilderness is our home resort, we often stay here during our Disney vacations since you can make reservations at your home resort 11 months out, but only 6 months out for the other DVC resorts.

We've stayed at many of the other DVC resorts...Beach Club Villas, Animal Kingdom, Saratoga Springs, but there's just something about Wilderness Lodge that makes it our favorite. The theming is just spectacular. Disney really outdid themselves in making the grand lobby area incredibly beautiful and true to it's character of being a modern version of the Old Faithful lodge in Yellowstone Park. The Villas are right next door, and they're situated in a way that makes them a bit quieter, off the beaten path, which I really like. They have their own smaller pool and hot tub, but it's easy enough to walk over to the main pool if you like. There's a beach area with boat rentals and bike rentals available, and a dock where you can catch a ferry to the magic kingdom.

Food options are a bit limited - you have the Roaring Fork snack area which is the cheaper option, or the Artist Point and Whispering Canyon restaurants for more traditional sit down meals. If you stay in the Villas you have a full kitchen, and we take advantage of that by shopping at Walmart and eating breakfast and usually lunch in our villa, unless we happen to be in a park of course. Eating Disney food day in and day out gets a bit old, as well as expensive so it's nice to be able to prepare some of your own meals.

If you've never stayed at Wilderness, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
2.7 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Villas
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#101 of 339 in Orlando
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
4.3 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
0.1 mi away
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426 (Formerly Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#28 Family Hotel in Orlando
#30 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#39 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recalling the 1860's railroad hotels of the American West, The Villas offer the comforts of home amid the rustic beauty of Disney's Wilderness Lodge. Relax on the white-sand beach, explore trails through lush meadows and delight in the enchanting Silver Creek Springs Pool. Just a breezy boat ride to Magic Kingdom park, The Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrate American craftsmanship and the majesty of the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Disney`s Wilderness Hotel Orlando
Hotel At Disneys Wilderness
Hotel At Disney Wilderness
The Villas At Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing