We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Villas Keep Getting Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #125 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our third stay at the Villas and it was our
best stay yet.
We take our grand children to WDW when they become five years old. They are just old enough to enjoy most of WDW at that age.
This time we had a boy and a girl from different parents and they got along amazingly well.
I hesitate to extoll all the neat things about this property because too many people will discover it's uniqueness and that will make it more difficult to reserve space going forward.
There's no other place on WDW that affords more quiet and privacy yet is within ten minutes of the MK.
The space in the one and two bedrooms is unparalleled as is the size of the bathrooms and adjacent showers, and Jacuzzi rooms.
It is so quiet, you never even hear the AC unit,
and even the housekeeping staff is almost invisible.
The pools and hot tubs are located in a wooded natural setting that is very tranquil. The property is located in a small pine forest and many birds and small animals are nearby. All of this in the heart of WDW.
WDW has included free Internet access through a wireless LAN an it's fast and flawless.
We have ordered all our groceries each year from Garden Grocer, they have everything in our room right after we check in.
The full kitchen comes in handy every morning for breakfast and our own custom ground coffee. Also,
the kitchen comes with all appliances and cutlery, silverware and accessories. This is a huge time saver
and cuts down on the food costs.
The Villas is our magical hideout across the lake from the Magic Kingdom.

Room Tip: There aren't any bad rooms here, but we prefer the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 560 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently returned from a seven night stay in a two bedroom villa (fourth floor) two grandparents, two parents and a 3 and 5 year old.

Rooms--Lots of closet and drawer space. The kitchen was well equiped. Washer, dryer, ironing board and even a vacuum were provided. Three flat screen TVs. The layout is unusual in that one of the bathroom doors opens into the living room and provides a straight visual line to the glass enclosed shower. Maid service was excellent. Bed rails were requested and provided to keep the kids from falling out of bed. The only disappointment with the room was with the general condition--knicks and dings on the furniture, walls, etc. General need for refurbishment.

Parking--Free for hotel guests but watch out for the $15 a day valet fee. Parking is close in so you may want to do it yourself.

Restaurants--There is a quick service restaurant (the Twisted Fork) here. Not so "quick" but the food is good. You can purchase or may be provided with mugs which can be refilled here for free but this is the only location where that is possible, so you may find yourself with a 15-20 minute round trip from your room for a refill. The Whispering Canyon Cafe is a table service restaurant which is GREAT for kids. Lots of action and noise. They'll be excited and you won't care how much noise they make. Good food--only drawback is it's the same family style meal every night so you probably won't want to use it often.

Activities--Lots, although we only used the pools and the beach. The main pool is spectaculer--water slide and all--and can be a bit crowded. The smaller pool at the villas draws less of a crowd and is almost private.

Finally--the biggest plus for us was the boat direct to the Magic Kingdom, While busses also leave the Resort for all the Disney locations they tend to be crowded and you wait a bit longer. We spent most of our time in the Magic Kingdom and seldom had to wait more than 15 minutes for the 5-7 minute boat ride. It was great convenience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our first stay in the Wilderness Villas. We have stayed in the hotel before. We simply love the decor and the setting in the woods and beside Bay Lake. The western grand hotel details are gorgeous! We stayed in a studio and enjoyed the extra space the mini-kitchen provided. Our room was comfortable, quiet and looked out over the treetops.

We did have a couple of service issues this visit (which I must add is unusual for Disney resorts.) it took a good 30 minutes to check-in, and we pre-ordered room service one evening, and it arrived 45 minutes late.

All in all, it's a delightful, well-located, Disney-magical place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilovebirdsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom villa with two kids (5 and 8) for 5 nights. We were really surprised at how expensive this place was, but we ended up loving the space we had in the one bedroom villa. No studios were available at time of stay. We used the stove to cook eggs every morning to save some money. Kitchen is very well equipped and has full fridge. Two separate sinks was great, one for kids and one for us. The big tub was good for baths. The beds were very comfy. The villas did not seem full so we enjoyed the quieter atmosphere after parks all day.

Villas are short walk to boats or buses and health club is on main floor of villa lobby. Health club was very nice and very well equipped including yoga mats and ton of free weights and machines. Yes the decor in the villas seems very outdated, but it was clean and offered plenty of towels. There is no mouse keeping with a five night stay but we could have washed towels if we needed to. We found check in a breeze with friendly staff and concierge took care of getting our return magical express reservation taken care of. Boat to magic kingdom was easy access and enjoyable.

We only ate at the quick service roaring forks. Flatbread pizzas were pretty good. Expensive if not on meal plan. The villas pool was just the right size and not crowded like main pool, it also seemed warmer. Grounds were pretty and our kids really enjoyed the stay. The light parade on water goes right by the beach, easy to catch. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I wish there was a 4-1/2 rating button as I really don't think the lack of comfort from the bed warrants the complete loss of a point. The ambience, appearance and decor is without equal throughout both the Villas and the Lodge itself. We simply couldn't sleep right through the night and our backs hurt.
The staff and the restaurants were, as always, superb. The hotel, although not on the MK monorail loop, is very convenient to the MK by cruiser and the Contemporary by launch both of which offer monorail access to the TTC and on to Epcot from there. Roaring Fork, the food court offering at WL, is woefully small for the size of the hotel and the number of folks who want to use it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just returned from a stay at a 2 bedroom villa. Lots of room, quiet, clean. Decor is a little old but fits nicely with the wilderness theme. I would certainly recommend this place.

Minus. The location is close to Magic Kingdom but not on the monorail. You can not walk to the park. You must use bus or ferry. Having stayed at the other 3 resorts on the monorail line, it is a little inconvenient.

Except for this very minor point, you definitely get a wonderful deluxe level resort and save a little on points/money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigpoppaprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have stayed here many times (you can see my other reviews for extensive info on this resort). I want to just share that if you plan on reserving a 2 bedroom villa you need to make sure and request the type of room you would like. There are two types - a dedicated 2 bedroom, and a lock-off. The lock-off is actually a 1 bedroom villa next door to a studio with a door that connects the rooms. This will only feature 2 actual beds plus 2 pull-out sofas. A dedicated 2 bedroom features 3 beds and 1 pull-out. I had actually forgotten about this until we walked in this past weekend and I was surprised with a lock-off. Worked out fine for us, we didn't like it but it was only 3 days. Just make sure you know what you want and specify when you reserve. Otherwise this is absolutely a wonderful resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank palmharbormichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.6 mi away
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
2.7 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Villas
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#95 of 340 in Orlando
818 reviews
3.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
0.1 mi away
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Disney's Contemporary Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426 (Formerly Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#28 Family Hotel in Orlando
#30 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#42 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $406 - $936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recalling the 1860's railroad hotels of the American West, The Villas offer the comforts of home amid the rustic beauty of Disney's Wilderness Lodge. Relax on the white-sand beach, explore trails through lush meadows and delight in the enchanting Silver Creek Springs Pool. Just a breezy boat ride to Magic Kingdom park, The Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrate American craftsmanship and the majesty of the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Disney`s Wilderness Hotel Orlando
Hotel At Disneys Wilderness
Hotel At Disney Wilderness
The Villas At Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing