We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveler rating
377
158
34
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
377
158
34
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhispering canyonbedroom villaroaring forkartist pointmagic kingdomdvc membersvillas poolmain wildernessterritory loungethe busfull kitchencopper creekthe main hotelcovered walkwaybay lakemain lobbyboat ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 587 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We are DVC members and experienced another great stay at Wilderness Lodge Villas. The main lodge is great. We ate at both the Whispering Canyon Cafe and Artist Point, which bioth have wonderful food. Roaring Forks is also good for a quick service meal and we never found it t be too crowded. We had a two bedroom which is very adequate for our extended family of six.

We had requested, because of my wife's knees, a room close to transportaion and we had a great two room near the elevator where walking was minimal.
The only problem was the coffeemaker broke, but it was quickly replaced with a new one.
Wilderness Lodge is especially conveinent for families with small children who like to visit Magic Kingdom often. The bus service to the other parks is also adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our family stayed in the DVC Wilderness Lodge Villas in July 2012. We had a two-bedroom villa on the fourth floor. We love Disney and staying at the Lodge was a nice break from the parks. The surroundings are beautiful and it feels like you are staying in the Rockies. We even saw deer, bunnies, a armadillo and a turtle. We also enjoyed the movie on the beach and the light show on Bay Lake. Make sure you buy the refillable mugs ~ the kids loved the hot chocolate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom24kidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Wilderness Lodge is breathtaking. One step in and you will forget that you are at Disney World with its chaos, humidity and screaming kids.

I love Disney Resorts and their ability to transport you to another place---a place far far away from Fastpass lines, Restaurant waits and the persistent humidity.

Stepping into the Wilderness Lodge, you feel like you are really in Yosemite, or perhaps summer camp from days past. It's a wonderful respite away from the standard hotel experience.

The Villas themselves are located just a short walk away from the main building. Although the villas here are a bit smaller than say, at Animal Kingdom Lodge, the convenience to Magic Kingdom is worth it.

Walk to the main building and get a boat and float over the lagoon to a great day at MK!

TIP--The boats at the dock go to both MK & the Contemporary. Make sure you get on the right boat! If you catch the larger boat, you do not have to pack up your stroller. This makes it super convenient!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilpooh108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have been members of DVC for a few years now and this was our first stay in Villas at Wilderness Lodge.

Judging by last years reviews there was a lot of renovation going on. But we're glad it has all finished and the resort is now all updated.
Walking into the lobby was like walking into a completely different world, it was totally stunning!!!!
Our room was a studio apartment and we had only one negative comment. The bathroom was so small!!!

The rest of the stay was very positive.
The villas are a very short and pleasant walk from the main reception and the pool was nice and relaxing.
I have read some reports that the boat dock to the magic kingdom is a long walk but it took us no more than 2 minutes to walk there from the villas, I can only assume it takes a long time for the more mega rotund person to walk at a snails pace while stuffing a cupcake down there gullet. And besides the walk would do them good.
The gym was very spacious with lots of machines to use and open 24/7 to villa guests.

Make sure you visit the Whispering Canyon Cafe as it serves a wicked all you care to drink milkshake and some nice simple eats. Don't forget to ask for ketchup if you want some entertainment. The staff here are very funny and make it worth dining here. We saw that one of the tables had a very loud and entertaining waitress who when asked for a straw from a kid on this table threw a load at him while screaming "fire in the hole!!!!!" This made me giggle. It's all a show for entertainment for the kids but its funny to watch.

We also ate at Artist Point one night after 9pm and the restaurant was very empty by then and very quiet so found it quite uneasy to talk aloud, the food is very different here and I found it difficult to order as I'm a very fussy eater, if you like fine dining then this is you're place.

The transport to MK was easy and there were plenty of busses and boats, never had to wait more than 10 minutes to go to any of the parks or downtown Disney.

Like other reviews stated it can be very easy to spend a lot of money here; yet only if you really want to, you don't have to dine at the expensive places or buy mountains of gifts and such.

What we would like to see in the future is an expansion of the Disney Resort monorail to include all the hotels around seven seas lagoon, Animal Kingdom Lodge and some of the value resorts.

All in all a great time had at the Wilderness Lodge Villas

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank PrinceofSpades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My family has stayed at Old Key West, Saratoga Springs, and most recently at the Beach Club Villas, but this was the first time at the VWL. (My husband and I did stay at the WL resort during our honeymoon 10 years ago). Overall, our entire party enjoyed our stay. The atmosphere of the public areas (particularly the villas side and walkways) was lovely, and the quiet pool by the villas was great. I love the flickering lanterns and the Western movie music. While the main WL resort rooms are being re-done now, the villas rooms are not, and their age shows. Not in anyway that hindered our stay, but it will be nice when their turn for refurb comes. While I would stay here again, but husband said that he wants to return to the Beach Club Villas next time for the convenience of walking to Epcot and the better pool area. The one other thing I missed was that the BCV are very convenient to the Marketplace/counter service, while the counter service at the VWL is on the other side of the lodge. Also, please note that the bus service was pretty bad at times, but that seems to be the case at many Disney resorts, so I'm not sure if that would be a deal breaker for me.

Room Tip: Request to be on the lake side, close to the atrium/main lodge.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank noahandallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews