We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience - we will stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd
Ranked #142 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I booked this hotel as a quick stop off after landing in Orlando and leaving to travel South. Booked exec floor and arrived on a Saturday. Good check in - a bit disappointed no drinks in exec lounge on a Saturday - but no major problem. Room lovely and bed comfy - with aromatherapy massage pack! Gym fine. Large pool but quite cold. Breakfast in exec lounge OK but a bit limited. Not worth extra for exec - but hotel nice. If they offer exec then they need to up thier game.

Room Tip: Don't bother with exec
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen_2H20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for your very valuable comments. I am happy that you enjoyed your experience and plan to stay again. I will certainly look into the offerings on our Executive Level. Your critique is appreciated. Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,224)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 2,224 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Claudine was absolutely AWESOME! The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. Perfect location. I was able to walk to international drive within minutes. The room are nice and clean. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dionne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for sharing with our Trip Advisor readers. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us at the Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Your very kind comments of our staff are very much appreciated and will be shared with the team. The location, as you mentioned, is very convenient to International Drive and with the new "Eye" coming soon there will be much more to enjoy just a short walk from our front door. Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I booked our room on Priceline and was enticed by the "Free Wi-Fi" offered with the package. My husband is a part-time ministry student and had homework due the weekend we stayed. Upon check-out, I found we were charged $12.95 for Wi-Fi (even though we used our own AT&T login to connect AND had the Free Wi-Fi in our package). I asked the front desk clerk about this and he said to "take it up with Priceline. The free W-Fi is only for the lobby area." This was never specified anywhere. I figured it was not worth the hassle over $13. Our room was adequate--beds and linens clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookworm466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for your reply. I can certainly understand why you would be upset over the confusion you encountered with the internet services. I do apologize sincerely that the team member you encountered was less than helpful. If you would be so kind as to contact me directly I will be happy to assist you. Thanks again for sharing to we can continue to improve on our service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Booked into the exec floor, room was nice.
The exec floor lounge leaves a little to be desired. Staff are good but what is on offer is poor when compared with other hotel. That is draft beer is the only beverage that is included in the booking price along snack food that lacks imagination.
This is also repeated in the breakfast offering.
It was obvious that they have many regular customers but I ask why, it can't be what is offered it must be the staff.
This is again reflected in the quality of the staff in the bar and concierge, they were all excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfm1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Your comments are certainly appreciated. I will personally look into a more appropriate rotation of appetizers and food selections for the Executive Level lounge. While the Crowne Plaza standard for the Executive Level is to have alcoholic beverages for purchase we do provide draft beer on a complilmentary basis. We are in the planning stages of an upgrade to this lounge so improvements in the seating areas are also coming soon. Thank you so much for your critique.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The rooms are nice but crowne does not offer anything special . with all the other hotels offering a free breakfast free parking free internet and some offering evening refreshments like drury inn whos staff is really outstanding and all extras are free so I would never book a crowne but might get it on a priceline bid and I am always sad pool just barely warm hot tub small ,,, can do alot better for onces money
!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrskathyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your candid review. Our goal is to be the hotel that you love. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. There are several packages that do include some of the extras that you made mention of and may be appealing to you. Of course, Priceline reservations will not include what you may be looking for. I do appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed in this hotel, every time I go to Florida, 4 times, the staff treat you like family and so helpful, especially being disabled, they do their upmost to make your stay special, Rooms are massive, Hospitality is second to none, will help you with anything. The food is first class, great gym and pool, with bar. Wouldn't stay at any other hotel on international drive.
Very easy to get to all the parks from there and all the shopping malls are only a short distance away, also the Hotel has it own private car service.
Worth a visit if you are going to Florida.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are much better, good view of International drive, air con easy to operate a...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickmaltby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience. It warms my heart to know you keep coming back to the Crowne Plaza Universal because you feel so comfortable with the hotel and the staff. Hearing such great comments from our repeat guests means a great deal to all of us and I thank you for continuing to call us your home away from home. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great location right down the street from Universal Studios!! Beautiful hotel great staff and easy free shuttle to the parks! All tickets to park for purchase in lobby. Great selection of shopping and restaurants in the area. Great vacation to get away!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChadTaraSchleihauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Universal to spend your special occasion. Happy Anniversary! We appreciate your comments and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit. Please come back again soon. Would love to have you back for every anniversary celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#18 of 340 in Orlando
4,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 340 in Orlando
5,209 reviews
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd

Address: 7800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#124 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $100 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing