We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quality establishment at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd
Ranked #135 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A quality establishment at a good price”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here last night for a bachelorette party. The room was reasonably priced, and it was quiet, clean, and neat. This is not a super fancy hotel, but it is clean and good for families or groups. The fitness center is large and has a nice mix of good equipment, the hotel convenience store is well-stocked, there is a game room with arcade games and ping pong, and a nice big pool area complete with hot tub. The concierge service was quick to arrange transport from the hotel to Howl at the Moon. All in all, no complaints, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank As_The_Crow_Flies_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    724
    274
    94
    61
See reviews for
665
629
68
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ponchatoula
Level Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We love the Crown Plaza and this one exceeded my expectactions. We had a small problem with a refrigerator in our room. Fixed it in no time flat and kept checking to make sure everything was ok. Seemed custormer satisfaction was their goal. From the GM to the restaurant serveres to everyone in between, hotel staff could not do enough for us. from recommending attractions, to giving directions they went out of their way to accomodate us.

Room Tip: get on the 15th floor if you can. Our priority club upgrade didn;t charge us but it was worth the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights from 10-14 March 2013. I arrived early afternoon and the check-in was quick and efficient.
My room was on the 6th floor (Note:- the hotel has15 floors). As a priority club member, I was given access to the Executive lounge on the 15 floor. This was ideal as you can grab complimentary breakfast in the morning and drinks etc from 5pm in the evening. The lounge also has televisons and a computer if you need to access the web or do some work.
The hotel is bright and airy with light coloured carpets on all floors. My room was a good size overlooking the swimming pool to the rear of the building. The swimming pool has a bar and I found the pool and pool side area to be clean.The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were soft and this helped me enjoy a good nights sleep. I had no complaints about the room being made up each day as this happened when I was out.

The staff are friendly and helpful. As regards the location, it is situated on Universal and only a 5 minute walk to International Drive. You can catch the I-Drive trolley buses either on Universal or on International Drive.

In conclusion, I enjoyed a comfortable stay at the hotel and had no complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a high floor and one not located near vending machines or elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I was here with my husband on our honeymoon! The service was very good, from the bar staff to the reception all said hello with a smile!

The room we got was very spacious and had a great view of the pool and universal studios could even be seen it was that close. The bed was very comfortable and was tidied everyday, soaps restocked, bed made, new towels etc

Location was very good, univsersal and wet n wild very close by also close to plenty of restaurants and florida mall.

Pool and jacuzzi were lovely and open until 11pm! We had dinner one night and the food was tasty and well priced!

Overall would definately recommend this hotel to anyone, families, couples...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vfmcaneneny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for four days in April, the second stay in two years and on both occasions we've found the hotel to have a very warm and friendly feel. The rooms are comfortable without being opulent, the pool area is relaxed with good entertainment on specific days. We found the exec lounge to be a worthwhile benefit, although the evening benefits, (drinks and canapes), are only available Sunday - Thursday so plan carefully when booking.

During the week the hotel has a very business feel to it, which in my opinion serves well as a tourist destination as business travellers don't fight for pool loungers and bar stools ! Another great stay and wouldn't hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice hotel but in no way was it a 4.7 out of 5 star. It was clean. The staff were very nice. The rooms were not that great. The bathrooms do not even have a vent so they steam up quickly and stay that way. The first few days the room was not cleaned that well and they did not replenish the supplies, like Toliet paper! Then there were parking issues. If you come back after 9pm there were NO parking spots at all. Had to do valet parking which they charge for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lplaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stripoli, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you found the hotel to be clean and the staff to be nice and friendly. I am sorry our Housekeeping staff did not stock your room as well as you would have liked during your stay. We will certainly do a retraining on this issue.

We do offer complimentary self parking and do charge for valet parking like most hotels in Orlando. During some busy times, the parking lot may fill up in self parking. In these cases, we always offer complimentary valet parking. I am sure this was the case in this situation.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you will visit us again when your future travels bring you back to Orlando. Please contact me directly at stripoli@cporlando.com if I can assist you with any future reservations.

Sincerely,

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was conveniently close to universal. The room was very big and spacious with a lovely big window with a nice view. However the house keeping was not what it should have been. Sheets were only changed once in the 10 days stay. From what we could tell house keeping came in changed the towels moved a few personal belongings around on the table to make it look like they had cleaned without having actually done so and the glass marks on the side left from the night before. For the money though it was not value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laynieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stripoli, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the large room and great view. Being a 16 story, high rise hotel, there are great views of Universal, Downtown Orlando, the convention area and world famous International Drive. I am glad you enjoyed it.

I am sorry you did not feel as though your room was properly serviced. That is not normal, I can assure you. I will look into this further.

Thank you and please let me know if I can be of service in the future.

Sincerely,

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Orlando
#49 of 337 in Orlando
5,037 reviews
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd

Property: Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd
Address: 7800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#124 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing