We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd
Ranked #161 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Rooms very clean , staff friendly, concierge great, and the security guy was very helpful too.

Margarita on the rocks from the bar was possibly the worst one I've ever had . Bar guys.. Get a better mix! Lol

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeTee3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudineJBinz, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear DeeTee3333,

Thank you for selecting Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal for your stay in Orlando. I am glad that you found the rooms clean and the staff friendly great and helpful. As someone who also enjoy's her Margarita's, I have forwarded the comments about the mix to our Outlets Manager because great drinks out by our pool is a must have for our guests! Hopefully you will find improvement the next time you stay with us!

Yours in Hospitality,

Claudine Binz
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 2,277 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Towards the end of October 2012, my 2 teenage grandchildren and I made our 3rd trip back to Orlando, this time specifically to enjoy Universal Studio's Halloween Horror Event. It was also the 2nd year in a row that we stayed at the Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal hotel, having thoroughly enjoyed our visit there the summer of 2011. And once again, we were not disappointed. Immediately upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by the smiles of many of the employees we had met the previous year. It truly made these Canadians feel very welcome and that we had indeed returned to visit family, of sorts. My grandson, who had not been with us in 2011, had heard from myself and my granddaughter just how much we enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza. Now that he was there in person, he could quickly see why. And it starts at the top. From Scott Tripoli, the manager, to the front desk, the concierge, the doormen, the restaurant staff, etc., we once again give them all a High-5, and thank them for continuing to make our visits so enjoyable. And while we didn't have the opportunity this time to ride to Universal on the complimentary shuttle bus service with Terry as our driver, we did have the chance to say hello to him in our hotel lobby one morning, and his warm reception at seeing us once again, continued to enhance our visit. Hurricane Sandy fortunately didn't dampen our days, and our weekend at Universal was terrific. And while I initially hesitated purchasing the Express Line tickets for Halloween Horror Night, I am so glad I made that choice and would encourage anyone visiting on a short-timeframe, do consider doing so also. Last but not least, on our first night in Orlando, we introduced my grandson to dinner at Cafe Tu Tu Tango ... a great spot we first tried out last year at the recommendation of the hotel concierge. He loved it so much, he requested we have dinner there on our final night in Orlando. And so we did. Overall, I can't say enough good things about our short escape to Orlando, and all the parties who made our visit so memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaprico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudineJBinz, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear kaprico,

WOW! What a great review from our friendly Neighbors to the North! We are excited and blown away about this wonderful review! Scott truly is a wonderful General Manager who inspires all of us to do our best and the First Class service is the result of that inspiration. But it is also because of guests like you that we strive to be the best we can be. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to your Orlando home this year.

See you soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Claudine Binz
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I pretty much agree with the others. Great location, upscale neighborhood. Nice to have free parking. Would have liked free wi-fi.
One negative, our room was huge, but only had one queen size bed. There was also a sleep sofa. It never occurred to us to ask for a king or two beds.
We requested a quiet zone, and believe it or not, they have one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudineJBinz, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Dutchgirl57,

Thank you for this great review of our property. We are honored that you found us classy and quiet. Great news for all of our Priority Club (soon to be renamed to IHG Rewards) Members will get complimentary wi-fi effective July 1, 2013. We heard our guests and we have responded. All Crowne Plaza hotels have a Quiet Zone that is effective Sunday through Thursday nights and are glad that we were able to accommodate you with this request. The room that you stayed in is our Queen Studio room and is one of my favorite rooms. Another room that may exceed your expectations is our King Deluxe room. Maybe you can try that room on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours in hospitality,

Claudine Binz
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a family visit. Thus, we wanted to be near to downtown Orlando (i.e. it was not a vacation at the theme parks, which are obviously nearby). However, it was by far cheaper than similar "high end" hotels nearer to downtown and, only being about 5-6 miles away, it was a great value. It would also be a very comfortable place to stay for theme parks as well, since it was near to all of the amenities, but a few blocks from all of the traffic. Our room was clean, bright and modern, albeit a bit smaller than rooms in the same chain elsewhere.
There were a couple of minor annoyances with the room: 1) the heat/AC vent in our room was about 3 or 4 feet away from the head of the bed, with the air directed at the bed, and it was very noisy when it came on (the weather was moderate when we were there, so it didn't come on too frequently, but it would have been worse if it had been hot and the AC had been coming on all night); and 2) the toilet was extremely noisy and took a long time to refill. Nonetheless, we were relatively happy with our stay and these problems may have been unique to our unit.
I should note that when we checked in, we were offered valet parking at $17, which seemed quite high, since there was free parking around the sides and back of the hotel. However, because it was raining, the valet parker offered to park the car for $12 per day. Thus, it appears that this service is somewhat negotiable, but you may want to look at the free parking if the weather is nice.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a while, as soon as you check into the room, you may want to check the AC/hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longtimetravelpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudineJBinz, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear longtimetravelpro,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. I am glad that you found our rooms clean and modern. Being a member of the Green Lodging Association, our toilets keep green practices and water consumption in mind. I hope that you will stay with us again so that we can change your relatively happy into an extremely happy review. Please feel free to contact me before your next stay so that I can make sure your accommodations exceed your expectations on every level. My email is cbinz@cporlando.com.

We look forward to your next stay.

Yours in Hospitality,

Claudine Binz
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. Ideally located close to Universal studios and international drive, yet quiet. Staff are very accommodating and cheerful and the food is first class. We chose this hotel without any recommendations and were delighted with all aspects of it. Absolutely highly recommended for anyone looking for a relaxing stay in a convenient location to visit all the local attractions.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnieholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudineJBinz, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Johnnieholiday,

We are delighted that you found Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Superb and our staff accommodating and cheerful! We strive to provide first class amenities and are glad that you found our food just that.

We look forward to you returning soon, and thank you for the great review!

Yours in Hospitality,

Claudine Binz
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here when we arrived in Orlando and before we left for home. Excellent hotel and well situated. Room was a good size and comfortable and clean. Plenty of parking compared to some other hotels in the area. Only problem is you had to come to the front of the hotel to get if you happened to be parked at the back or sides. Unfortunately the temperature dropped before we left and the main areas of the hotel we very cold and uncomfortable especially when we were having a meal. Food was good as was the breakfast but a little over priced.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janrobone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudineJBinz, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Janrobone,

I am glad that you found the Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal to be an excellent hotel. I am also am pleased that you found your room to be a good size, comfortable and clean. I am sorry that the temperature dropped during your stay and you found the main area's of the hotel to be a little cold. The problem with being in a tropical destination is that when our hotel was built, they did so without putting central heat in the main spaces. There are not too many days that we feel the impact from this and are trying to come up with some creative ways to make these area's warm and toasty. You will have to stay with us again next year and I am sure you will see a difference.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Claudine
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just booked a trip for April 2013, not because of the price or the photos, but because of the excellent service provided by Scott T. We visit Orlando alot and our kids were dissapointed with the last hotel stay. My son picked out the Crowne Plaza based on the pictures. I did some research and emailed the General Manager with my questions. He took the time to answer each question, offering additional advice and guidance. Our kids are very excited about the upcoming visit! My son is still talking about the upper level view overlooking the pool and Universal. We are going to Seaworld again for his birthday. It also sounds like Claudine offers superior service--we look forward to meeting both of them. Thanks again Scott!!! See you soon!

Room Tip: Sounds like the double Queen rooms on the upper levels are best for families!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank ourtwokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudineJBinz, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear ourtwokids,

Thank you for your review of your booking experience at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Scott and I are pleased that your son picked us out of all of the options you had in Orlando. We take pride in offering any assistance needed in booking our property. We are also glad that you chose us to celebrate such a great moment in your family's life. I am sure this will be a birthday to remember and we cannot wait until you arrive.

Sincerely,

Claudine
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
The Point Hotel & Suites
#19 of 340 in Orlando
4,940 reviews
Hilton Orlando
#56 of 340 in Orlando
5,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd

Address: 7800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#123 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $136 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing