We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK and close to Universal Orlando and International Drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd
Ranked #155 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We decided to stay here as we wanted to spend a day at Universal. The hotel was OK, the staff excellent. We ate there on the first evening in the bar/restaurant and the food was excellent. Location was very good as close to almost everything. Free self parking easy, valet parking absurdly expensive, so not used.

We stayed in an "Executive" room and it was roomy, and pleasant, but the bathroom was really very, very small and not really up to the description of "executive". We used the Lounge for complimentary breakfast which was good, but the room itself was very tired.

Reasonable value, so hard to complain too much.

One pet peeve, the hotel foyer had in it a sales person trying to sell tickets and time share type things. I find this very intrusive and not something you want to deal with when you have got off of a transatlantic flight!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 2,262 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the Crowne Plaza. I was a bit worried about the noise factor as it is right in the middle of the International Drive/Universal Boulevard area. No need though as it is very quiet, but very close to everything. A typical Orlando 4*, but with 5 star staff. Everyone we met, from the reception to the Executive lounge (very ordinary, only free beer in the evening with a few hors d"oeuvres) were amazing. Our luggage was lost on our Air France flight, and they did everything they could to help. Top rate, and great value for money. Would go again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEITH TRAVEL AGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Location - Outstanding... Convenient to all the Universal attractions.
Hotel - Outstanding... Comfy and Clean
Staff - On Point! Professional & Thoughtful... Looked for ways to make a great experience better by offering helpful suggestions.
Bottom Line... I will make a point of coming back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorpTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed 2 nights over thanksgiving in an executive room. The staff is service minded and accommodating. We felt really taken care of. The hotel is newly refurbished giving it a feeling of brand new. The rooms are large and spacious in bright colours. The offer fast wifi. It is close to all big theme parks in orlando as well as the florida mall. They offer ticket sales and complimentary shuttle service to Universal Orlando. The hotel has both restaurant and bar. Which both are nice with great staff. We were lucky to visit the Elements Bar when Jennifer was working, she was great.
This hotel is a real good one and by far better than some Intercontinental hotels. I highly recommend this hotel for a Orlando visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Executive room and get breakfast and cocktail hour in the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were a honeymoon couple who stayed in this hotel in November 2012. We booked through hotline and paid 70 euro per night for 6 nights which represented good value to me. This did not include breakfast which was pricey at 17 dollars each (it tasted nice though). The service in the hotel was excellent, all staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. If they could help you in any way they did their best. Two examples include when we needed a phone charger and a second time was when we requested advise on places we were planning on going. Both problems were dealt with efficiently. The room we were in contained a very comfortable King size bed, a large flat screen TV, coffee making facilities, safety deposit box, a nice bathroom. It was clean throughout. The swimming pool area is nice and there is a hot tub/jacuzzi attached to the swimming pool which is refreshing. The location of the hotel is the wet and wild side of international drive. You are not on international drive itslef but about a ten minute walk from it. This is a good thing because there is no noise at night time and this side of international drive is a bit tacky in places. The hotel is well located. For breakfast we walked to a place called perkins which is a typical american roadside joint situated about 8 minutes walk away (you have endless places to choose from). It has very nice food and is well worth a visit. Only order 1 breakfast and a side for two people - portions are very large and tasty. The price of breakfast was cheaper than the hotel breakfast but not by a huge amount. The hotel is a big hotel with lots of rooms, it stands out from others beside it because it is so big. The food served in the hotel is good if a little expensive. Drinks are overpriced too. This is the main drawback, though there is a happy hour when bottles of beer cost half price (3 dollars). If you can stick to the happy hour you will be fine 4 - 7pm I think. Internet is free is the business centre which is always a plus. Overall we had a great 6 night stay - this hotel does what is says on the tin and you look forward to coming back to it after a day in the theme parks - it is close to universal - buses run free at 7:35am, 8 35am and 9 35am: 10 - 15 mins drive. If you stay here you will not need a car due to I- trolly being close by. You also feel safe and secure in it. It has an ATM machine which charges high commission. Worth a visit. We had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve11737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Due to the sudden death of my wife's brother in Ireland, we had to shorten our stay from 4 to 2 days, following a cruise. The staff @ the hotel were brilliant to us, affording us the use of all facilities to re-arrange flights and make contact with family, friends and our travel agent. The courtesy of all the staff was so much appreciated and helped us deal with our loss in the comfort of a top class hotel. We intend returning to Orlando in the not too distant future, and would not look beyond this hotel. It is ideally situated just off International Drive, with short taxi rides to all the attractions. Very happy to recommend...they were friendly, caring and professional in every way. Owen

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

First impression of the room wasn't great, it was just ok. It's getting on a little in age possibly and is not a luxury hotel at all but after being here for 8 nights I would not hesitate in recommeding this hotel.
The location is perfect to get to Universal (which is fantastic) and even Disney, both with free shuttle buses provided by the hotel. All staff were so helpful and friendly to deal with and always there for any questions on getting around the area and different things to see and do. We had an executive room which included continental breakfast daily which was really good with plenty of selections. The breakfast staff in particular were so welcoming and always going out of their way for anything we needed. You can do laundry yourself at a cost of $2 per load and there is plenty of places to get groceries and diner within 5 minutes walk. The rooms are kept super clean and bath products are good quality.
Overall I think the staff make this property and I would definelty stay again because of this. Hotel itself is good, and it has everything you would need to spend a holiday checking out all the theme parks.

Room Tip: Very easy Place to stay to do all the theme parks with ease.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Codygizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
The Point Hotel & Suites
#20 of 341 in Orlando
4,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 341 in Orlando
5,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd

Address: 7800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#123 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $118 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing