We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the rooms were really spacious and the free breakfast was great!”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #129 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this Comfort Suites directly across from Universal Studios parking garage, so it was really convenient to access Universal Studios. There are lots of good restaurants around the area also. The rooms were very clean and spacious and we had 2 queen beds and a pullout sofa in each of our 2 rooms, which was very handy! The free breakfast included in your room breakfast was plentiful with lots of great choices! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for a room with queen beds and a pull out sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

DebbieB, We appreciate the fantastic review of your recent stay with us. I'm so happy to hear we met your expectations and hope you will consider us again when your travels bring you back to sunny Orlando Florida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 658 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

I'd just stayed two nights at an on-site hotel - which is a different caliber of experience but with associated cost. But that said - one can't get much closer to the parks and if one adds in the value of the breakfast with hot food and the spaciousness of the rooms and the free wifi - it's perfect as a Value-level hotel.

We checked in at around 5pm on Labor Day Saturday - took about 2 minutes! Our room was perfectly clean as were the hallways and lobby. We did not explore the pool area or business center. Wifi was open and good in our room. Air conditioning was fine as was the water temperature and pressure for showers. Microwave and fridge etc there for us, although we didn't use it. We liked the suite aspects with the couch, desk area and very many outlets for charging our electronic gadgets - many hotels/motels never have enough and one has to unplug something - not here!

Breakfast was ready at 7, well-replenished and with a very good selection.

The drive to Universal was, as others have said, less than 5 minutes. I don't think I would choose to walk or take the shuttle but since I did neither can't comment with details. We have a preferred annual pass with free Universal parking - and in the future, if not going at peak or moderate times, will return to this hotel rather than staying at a resort hotel. It didn't take any longer to drive/park/walk to the parks than it did from the resorts by walking or taking the water taxis.

The attendant at the desk on checkout was courteous and asked about our stay.

While we didn't make reservations through the Universal website (https://www.universalorlando.com/Vacation-Packages/Partner-Value-Hotels.aspx) I understand that sometimes there are benefits (other than Universal Express Passes) that can be achieved booking that way so check it out when making your plans. I will do so in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveh2ofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

loveh2ofl, I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We understand that travelers have many lodging choices in Orlando, so we try to differentiate ourselves by providing top notch service to your guests. If you ever visit Orlando again, please keep us in mind. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is an ideal place to stay with a family when visiting Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure... the location is great. It is a short drive if you have car, or the hotel offers a free shuttle. As people have mentioned, the shuttle pick up is across the street, but that is not a big deal. One thing you may want to consider as you are making plans is how often during the day you will be returning to the hotel room. The shuttle seems to make several runs to the park in the morning, then it won't start picking people up from the parks until the evening, If you have little ones who need a break or a nap around mid-day, this shuttle schedule may not work for you.

Another thing to keep in mind is that the shuttle fills up quickly. So try to make a reservation as soon as you check in to the hotel. If you arrive later in the evening, and plan to visit the parks the following morning, the shuttle may be booked up before you have an opportunity to make a reservation,

I did notice people walking to the parks from the hotel (and the other nearby hotels), but it is a long walk. Not sure I'd recommend it, at least not in the summer heat.

The hotel room was great. We actually wound up switching rooms midway through our stay because our wifi access was a little too weak in our initial room (we were at the end of the building), and both rooms were very spacious. The second room we were assigned even had two showers, which was perfect for our family with two kids. (I think it was a wheelchair accessible room.)

The room was clean, the beds were comfy, and everything seemed relatively updated and modern. There was a fridge and a microwave which came in handy.

The staff was wonderful and kind, even during the busiest times.

The breakfast was what you would expect, and the breakfast area did get quite crowded. But we always found a place to sit and it is a great way to fill up before heading out for a day of fun.

There are some fast food places and a couple of sit down restaurants nearby. Those came in handy as well.

In all, I'd recommend this hotel. It's a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

travelOne, Thank you for the thorough review of your stay with us! I was happy to see you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Suites, please keep us in mind if you travel to Orlando in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and were entirely satisfied. Clean, comfortable, very helpful staff and good service throughout (pool, business centre, laundry room etc) - perfect for universal (a two minute drive). Breakfast good - more choice and better quality than expected. Didn't try the bus service - did drive to sea world and the vineland mall (both straightforwad 20 mins or so drive). Very good value. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricWhiteside7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Eric, Thank you for the nice review of our hotel. We are in a great location across from Universal Studios and many restaurants and shopping. Please keep us in mind when you visit Orlando again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a typical Comfort Inn quality hotel with no surprises. The fitness center is really nice and has more exercise machines than other Comfort Inns I've visited. The business center is also very private and nice. Breakfast were the usual Comfort Inn items like scramble eggs, sausages, waffle, and other cold items. We were given a room for the disabled so it was huge. The room is tidy but still doesn't feel too clean. It just may be me. This is a no frill hotel. The location is definitely worth mentioning. It is within walking distance to the park entrance. It took me roughly 30 minutes each way. There is also a Walgreen and many restaurants within a short 5-10 minute walking distance.

We found a restaurant nearby called Border Grill that serves authentic Mexican food at a very reasonable price. It's definitely worth a try if you like Mexican food,

So, if you are going to Universal Studios, stay here and you won't be disappointed as long as you don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HipHipHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I'm sorry you did not feel the suite was clean up to your standards. We take great pride in the overall cleanliness of our hotel, because that is what the traveling public expects and deserves. If you ever stay with us or any other Choice property in the future, please contact guest services to rectify the issue right away. Otherwise, it appeared you had a good time visiting Orlando, so we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our Orlando trip to take advantage of the early admission into both Universal Orlando Theme Parks. The king size room we occupied was fine. Amenities included: small refrigerator/freezer, microwave, coffee maker and cable TV. Comfort Suites offers inclusive daily hot breakfast, a workout room and outdoor pool. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Check-in and out was easy and quick. Comfort Suites is just one block east of International Drive. Wet n Wild, The Fun Spot and Universal Parks are only five minute drives away. Tip - Book your Comfort Suite stay through Universalorlando.com and you obtain not only tickets for both Universal Parks but you also receive early admission to both parks for the length of your Comfort Suites stay. This feature allowed us to ride the popular Harry Potter ride and the new Transformers Ride without any wait time. Admission to IA is usually 9AM but we were admitted at 8AM and at US, we were admitted at 7AM instead of 8AM. For early risers like my family, this is a great feature we just could not pass on. Great stay; Great nine day vacation. Ps. Give The Fun Spot (FunSpotAttractions.com) a try. It's a great amusement park with two new rollercoasters, four or five go-car tracks and other rides. The food is reasonably priced and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: One way in and out of the hotel. Good for safety purposes. We stayed on the third floor. Area was re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kennyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Kenny, We appreciate you sharing your experience. We work hard everyday, to ensure our guests enjoy their stay at the Comfort Suites. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Let me preface this by saying, the General Manager Eric K. was very apologetic about the situation and began an internal investigation. However, that does not change the fact that one of the maids took cash from our room and left a mess instead of cleaning. The hotel is in a very good location for Universal and not far from Disney and other Orlando attractions. The hotel next to them offer buses to Universal and if you dont call for bus passes more than 24 hours in advance then you must try the first come first serve line at 7:15am. We had 5 people and fit in the double bed suite comfortably. The couch bed was fairly comfortable and the actual beds were nice. The room was equipped with a pull out desk and small flat screen along with other end tables and coffee tables. The room is lit mainly by lamps. And our main lamp didnt work when we first got there but it was quickly replaced. The hotel was quiet despite a bus load of teens on a convention. The breakfast was good, waffles, sausage, eggs, bagels, muffins, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, oatmeal, etc. A lot to choose from. The pool was pathetic, it was 4ft deep everywhere and very small. The business center and fitness center were small but effective. Now to the maids, we did not expect a lot of actual cleaning because we had 5 people and its very hard to work around all of our junk. The beds were maid and towels and toiletries replaced, until one day we just got the worst. He/She didnt replace the toiletries, took cash we had in the room (it was hidden but apparently not well), and (here is the kicker) put one of our t-shirts in the toilet with THEIR urine. Got to love it! I dont care how mad you are at the amount of junk in the room, or how "hard" we make your job you absolutely dont steal and you definitely do not pee in the toilet and put a guests shirt in it.

Room Tip: There really is no good view, all rooms seem to be equally quiet but definitely get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hannah, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay. As you know, I discussed the incident with the housekeeper in question, who concurred with your statement that you were in the suite during the time she cleaned it. We checked the logs on our electronic locks and there were no unusual entries, finding only your guest keys and the housekeeper’s were used to enter the room during the time period in question. We still consider this an open matter, and if there is any further detail you can provide that would give us more certainty as to the circumstances that lead to this issue, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I truly want to make this right for you as it is a most unusual situation and undoubtedly a major inconvenience for you. I do not take this complaint lightly, and I hope that despite this issue we can make you feel at ease in choosing Comfort Suites again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Closest to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#119 of 341 in Orlando
483 reviews
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 5617 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Orlando
#88 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#113 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $98 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Hotel Orlando
Comfort Suites Orlando
Orlando Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing