We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a super hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Ranked #91 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Still a super hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

As stated  in my review as of April 2010 this hotel is a super hotel with a super location, and we and our frinds are always staying at this hotel.
The staff is great, helpful and always willing to do the extra little thing to accomodate the guests.
For example Shenandra: Get this lady a raise - a big one! When a gentleman had a stroke in the breakfas area, she responded fast and with a calmness that calmed the situation and helped the gentleman. Fantastic and Comfort Suites should award her for this fantastic help.
And also Nancy in the breakfast area - great work every day - always with a smile.

If I have to mention some minor flaws (they're not that big - but never the less) it should be:
The music played by the pool - pheww it's fusion jazz that annoys more than anything. Why not put on some kind of radiostation with parts music, talk,  news etc ?
The breakfast area is quite small and we have gotten used to this, but especially in the week end/summer it can get crowded.
There's only one toaster = long lines ! Please add another toaster.
And finally: The knives in the breakfast area. If you leave the butter and creamcheese in the fridge ( which you should ) then please get some more usable knives ! It's impossible to spread the butter/cheese as the knives are close to unusable
(I said it was minor flaws ).
But we'll book this hotel again - count on it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bastian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
bastian87, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. We thank you for being a repeat guest and for recognizing my staff. Shalando, who is my Executive Housekeeper, was awarded for her actions in relation to the gentleman who was having a seizure. She, along with my entire staff, work very hard each day making sure our guests are comfortable and happy. We have since changed the music selection at the pool area to something more upbeat. I will certainly note your comments regarding the breakfast as we will look into what we can improve upon in this area. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    230
    60
    17
    16
See reviews for
371
122
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Went there with the family because we wanted to spend time at Universal Studio. We choose this hotel because of the location and price. Hotel is close enought to Universal Studio that you can walk to go there. My wife found out that 5 min from there (other side of I-4 on International Dr.), she could go shop a bit to the Orlando Premium Outlets. Definitely a plus. Hotel was clean and quiet (what a surprise for an hotel in that area). Only thing that bother me a bit was the outside whirlpool. The water was so hot that we could get in. Too bad because after a couple days walking all day long at Universal Studio, I would have liked jumping in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Mario D, Thank you for the nice review of our hotel. I apologize for the hot tub, we have since checked the temperature and made some slight adjustments. We hope you visit us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room had 2 queen beds, pullout couch, mini-fridge & microwave. Clean which is the most important feature for us. Spacious. This was a 1 of 6 hotels we stayed in as part of our 2 week vacation in Florida. I say this was the best 'room' we stayed in. Decor is basic, so maybe not the best looking hotel. Eating breakfast at 9am means you may not get a seat but anytime before that seems to be good. Hot items like eggs & sausages, waffles, along with the standard breakfast items. Liked the ample supply of fresh fruits. There was never a shortage of anything. Not sure how the eggs are made but suspect it comes from a carton. Wireless in the room was slow.

It was hot hot hot, plus knowing we were going to be at Universal the whole day, we decided to drive and pay for the parking at Universal. I would estimate the walk to be at least 15 min.

I would recommend this to family and friends, but think it will be another decade before I make it back to Orlando, given that my kids are older now.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAFanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
TAFanToronto, We appreciate the kind review of your stay with us. We do our very best to make sure all our guests leave with a smile on their face! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at comfort suites for two weeks in August the reason we picked this hotel it so we could walk to universal and save on the parking fee's, we used the shuttle for seaword and aquatica, location ok near a wendy's mc'donalds burger king also five mins walk to orlando ale house and walgreens for supplys drinks etc. We were only the fourth floor room large clean and good air con not a lot of storage though for a family staying two weeks only a small wardrobe a three draws, but we had iron & board fridge hairdryer which was great,there was two queen beds but five little pillows my husband hated these small pillows and could'nt wait to get back to a normal size at home the hotel also has a guest laundry on the third floor i used this twice only $1.50 for a large wash and $1.50 for a dryer was great not to come home will piles of dirty washing. The breakfast was good plenty of choice but the breakfast area is too small during our stay guest's were stood in the hall eating they need to entend this as it currently only seats about thirty people and fills up very quickly. We used the pool most afternoon during out stay clean and fresh pool towels provided by the hotel and added bonus. my only complaint was our room was one of the last to be cleaned between 4 and 5 each day, i know someone has to be last but we were out early and with the florida weather got back about three had a swim then wanted to relax in our room but it had never been cleaned so we had to hang about waiting for the maid to get to our room dont know if the hotel could ask each guest when the want there room cleaned and then the family in the last review wouldnt have been woken. overall would highly recommed and would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAYFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Jayfamily, We appreciate the thorough review of your stay with us. I'm very happy you and your family enjoyed your time in Orlando. I do apologize for the breakfast area as this becomes a challenge during busy times and for your room being cleaned late. Like you said, someone has to be last. We do our best to get the rooms cleaned at a decent time so our guests can relax. We look forward to serving you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We are here on business, but at the front desk they have list of shuttles that go to and from universal. The customer service is outstanding. Check in was very smooth. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Then lady at the front desk called us in the room an hour or so after getting here to make sure everything with our room was ok. Perfect place to stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdavis9222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Abdavis9222, Thank you so much for the outstanding review of your stay with us! We take pride in delivering the best service in town and hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a very clean, nice hotel. We liked the pool area, the business (computer) room and our room. Overall, it was a good experience but I did have to complain to the manager about being woke up early morning on our last day of a 10 day vacation (and the ONLY day we could have slept in). A housekeeper banged on our door twice and announced, "Housekeeping" as my husband jumped out of bed and got half way to the door when they OPENED our door to come in. Our children were also woke up by this so it was frustrating to have missed out on catching up with our sleep. The manager gave us half price discount for one of our night's stay, which should have been a full price discount, but it's whatever. He claimed the housekeeper was a new hire and they can't keep good housekeepers working for them. The breakfast area was packed with no seating and we had to sit out in the hallway at long brown tables. We felt excluded of sorts and in the way (when a housekeeper pushed her cart past us twice and kept bumping into our chairs).

Room Tip: I believe any room you get here will be a nice one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
The Messer Family, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I remember the conversation we had and again I'm truly sorry for my room attendant waking you up on your last day. I have since discussed this issue with my housekeeping staff to ensure we are knocking on doors at appropriate times. The housekeeper in questions was fairly new and was re-trained on this issue. I'm very lucky to have a great housekeeping staff at my hotel as I very rarely get complaints due to cleanliness and guest service. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gueret
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent 6 nights in this hotel that we chose first for its closeness to Universal (you could walk there if there was a sidewalk all the way and no freeway to cross).
The staff was very nice and welcoming, the rooms were huge (a real suite) with 2 comfortable double beds and a couch, there was also a fridge, a micro wave and a small dining table.
Breakfast was great with delicious fresh waffles every morning (you made them yourself) but it was kind of crowded even though we were there in late october.
The swimming pool was too cold (but again it was not summer) but the hot tub was nice.
The shuttle was convenient (contrary to what universal says however the shuttle does not operate from the comfort suite but from the hotel nextdoor) but it took 30 min while it is only 2 miles away (not the fault of the hotel though).
I would come back with no hesitation

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Marion D, Thank you very much for the nice review of your stay with us. I'm glad to hear we met your expectations and the family enjoyed themselves. We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Florida Center
Hampton Inn closest to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#109 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area

Property: Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Address: 5617 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Orlando
#88 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#113 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Hotel Orlando
Comfort Suites Orlando
Orlando Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing